We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Be sure to eat here!”
Review of Angry Trout Cafe

Angry Trout Cafe
Ranked #7 of 34 Restaurants in Grand Marais
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Description: We are the Angry Trout Café, serving local fresh ingredients. We do not allow animals.
Kansas City, Missouri
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
“Be sure to eat here!”
Reviewed July 24, 2014

This restaurant was recommended by the front desk person at the hotel, so we decided to give it a try. The food was outstanding! The fish is locally caught, and very fresh. You'll also have an opportunity to sample some local wild rice, which is delicious. The atmosphere was great, and most seating has an amazing view of the lake. I also liked the environmentally-friendly attitude of the restaurant. You could see that in most places in Grand Marais. It's a great place to visit!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank Mark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

861 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    507
    205
    101
    29
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Onalaska, Wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Delicious Fish”
Reviewed July 23, 2014

Our first time eating at this restaurant and we were very happy. Its a cool venue with some great views and a friendly staff of young hipsters. They have outdoor seating, but the weather was chilly on our visit so we sat inside. The food was delicious and they served large portions. The menu was diverse and you could tell they really cared about the quality of their ingredients, most of which were organic.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank EJH8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fresh-caught fish on Lake Superior”
Reviewed July 22, 2014

First tip: They don't take reservations, but if you call 15 minutes before you show up, they'll add your name to the wait list. We had a party of six and only waited ten minutes or so on a beautiful summer evening, watching the small children of another guest toss pebbles into the water. People were seated both inside and out on the water, so the place was full but we had a great server. The view is splendid.

Second tip: Take a look at the menu. Everything from the food to the distinctive furniture, from the tiny napkins (good for the environment!) to the crockery is locally sourced. The vegetarian in our group was given a choice of egg noodles or spinach fettucine for her dish, which was thoughtful. Another in our party was delighted to find the occasional craisin in the cole slaw. The food is great, but be aware: Lake Superior herring and whitefish are very mild fish, so order the trout if you want something with a richer flavor.

People here are impatient with the wait, but if you're cool with a leisurely meal, you will be really happy with this place. It's a hippie vibe, kind of relaxing. I make a beeline for this place every time I get to Grand Marais for a few days.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Professor_Gourmand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“What Grand Marais is all about”
Reviewed July 22, 2014

Great food right on the harbor. Locally caught fish plus taste and healthy sides. It is not the only good restaurant in town, but try this first as a bench mark for the rest of your dinning adventures while in town.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank MAX D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Our favorite place in Grand Marais”
Reviewed July 22, 2014

We go here every time we come to the north shore. The food is fantastic. Full disclosure I always get the herring fish and chips, it's too good to even think about trying anything else. The plates I see pass by and the smiles on other customers faces make me think everything else is just as good. If the weathers nice the patio is hard to beat, great views of the lake and town.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jhoppe01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Angry Trout Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Angry Trout Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing