We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Lake Superior view”
Review of Angry Trout Cafe

Angry Trout Cafe
Ranked #5 of 34 Restaurants in Grand Marais
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch, Reservations
Description: We are the Angry Trout Café, serving local fresh ingredients. We do not allow animals.
Elk River
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful Lake Superior view”
Reviewed September 30, 2012

Friendly and good service, beautiful scenery! Need I say more. We have always wanted to eat at the Angry Trout but unfortunately they are closed in the winter and that is when we are usually in Grand Marais. We drove up to see the colors along the North Shore and stayed near Lutsen and spent one day in Grand Marais, our favorite little town along the lake. The food and service was great, my husband had the fish chowder and salad and loved it.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Peggy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

832 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    494
    196
    98
    28
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Best Fish Fry!”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

This place has one of the best fish fry's I have ever had, and I live in WI! It is a little expensive ($23) for a fish fry, but you get A LOT of food and the Dill Tartar Sauce is amazing! They also have a variety of choices for fish, instead of the standard cod/haddock that most places have, and the breading is light, not greasy at all. The beer menu is limited to light, medium, and dark, which is a little vague and disappointing, and there is usually a wait if you arrive after 6p (they don't take reservations), but it is definitely worth the wait. As an added bonus it is right on the bay, so the view is great! Highly recommend to anyone who enjoys a good fish fry!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kelsey C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level 6 Contributor
153 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“I Only Wish It Were Open In Winter!”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

This little spot on Lake Superior is a must if you're near Grand Marais, MN. I love the fresh foods, and their emphasis on buying local and protecting the environment as much as possible. My favorite is the salad with lake trout on top, but nothing I've ever had there was a disappointment. My only recommendation is to be sure you have layers of clothing so you're prepared for any temperatures.
There is often a long wait, but as other reviewers have said, sip on something while you sit and watch the ever-changing views of that majestic lake while you wait, and let your "city stress" evaporate. And as my title suggests, get there in summer, because they close in mid-October for the winter. :(

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lvcavs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudbury
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Enjoy fresh caught fish for lunch”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

The Angry Trout offers fresh caught fish, prepared beautifully. Enjoy a bowl of their trout chowder as you gaze out at the lake your lunch was caught in - you can almost imagine you're in Florida! Staff is cordial and service is great. Best of all the food is delicious - you can't beat the taste and flavour of fresh caught fish.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank judy636
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Worth the wait.”
Reviewed September 23, 2012 via mobile

It's. been 6 years since the last time we were in Grand Marais and ate at Angry Trout. It's still the best place to eat in GM. The wait time is long but get a drink and go out on the deck/dock to wait. Food is awesome along with the view of the harbor and lake.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Peaches60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Angry Trout Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Angry Trout Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing