We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Out of This World”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Gunflint Tavern

Gunflint Tavern
Ranked #15 of 34 Restaurants in Grand Marais
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $28
Cuisines: American, Brew Pub, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Bar scene, Families with children, Local cuisine, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: Full service bar and restaurant, open year-round, Live Music 250 nights a year, rooftop bar overlooking the harbor, Eclectic/Ethnic Menu
Lincoln
Level Contributor
157 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Out of This World”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2012

This is the place to be on a chilly fall or spring day! The menu is eclectic to say the least. Everything from soups (wonderful) to sandwiches, Dungeness Crab, steamed mussels, and the Asian Bowl and Bloody Mary's are to die for, do NOT pass one up served with the snit of your choice (small beer chaser). The Raven Tavern (attached) is a good stop for a drink and the deck above affords a bird's eye view of the going on at Harbor Park. Music in evening in summer and weekends off season- probably for a bit younger group than we have. Service is great, but this place is packed during tourists season, so be patient!

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank NebraskaPineknot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

458 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    205
    145
    53
    31
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Minnesota
Level Contributor
53 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Best fine dining in Grand Marais! !!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2012

This little tavern has it all,atmosphere, great entertainment, and gourmet cooking! !!! We enjoyed eating there three times on our recent vacation to Grand Marais. Every dish was excellent! !!! And the desserts were to die for! !!! Don't make the mistake of walking by, you will not be disappointed!!!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank scampingduo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
64 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Finally, a place with good beer!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2012

This place not only has great beers on tap, but the waitress we had actually knew something about the beer she was serving. This is a bit unusual, although it should be the norm, like a ball player running full out after hitting any kind of ball, because they might just make it to first. We comment on how good the player is, but really, that is how the game should be played. Anyway, we had the Summit Saga IPA and it was delicious, even though it was not on the posted list. Our waitress knew they had it. My wife had the best chicken mole ever. I had the crusted ribs, which were good, but not the best I had ever had. People around us had the mussels and soups, which looked amazing. The desserts looked great, too. Strange that this place did not come up on the Trip Advisor list when I looked for restaurants in this town.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Wind4surf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
“My new favorite place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2012

The service was excellent, the food was delicious and I will be stopping every time I go to Grand Marais!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Duluthfam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ND
Level Contributor
83 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“I had some great mussels here”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2012

Stopped in one night while in Grand Marias and tried this place out at the recommendation of the hotel I stayed at. Nice place with kind of a hipster vibe to it. Good music was playing and there is a pretty big bar to sit at. There was also a rooftop patio that had live music and a side bar that was playing the olympics while I was there. I ordered a stout from the bar and decided on the mussels. It was a 2 lb bowl of them and they showed up in a garlic broth. They were great, I had no problem whacking them out and enjoyed right till the end. There are a lot of good looking choices on the menu but was stuck looking for seafood. The staff was very pleasant and did not have to wait at all for a table. Good place to stop in.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank highmarked
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gunflint Tavern also viewed

 

Been to Gunflint Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing