We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Pizza!”

Sven and Ole's Pizza
Ranked #11 of 34 Restaurants in Grand Marais
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, American, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Local cuisine, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Highchairs Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Wheelchair Accessible
La Crosse, Wisconsin, United States
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Good Pizza!”
Reviewed July 3, 2014

Like the billboards say: "You haven't been to Grand Marais til you've been to Sven and Ole's" They was good pizza. They have a couple of pizzas you probably have never thought about eating. It's usually busy so it's sometimes hard to get a table. We like the fact you get pizza by the slice instead of a whole pie.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jaimy13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

592 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    225
    212
    119
    25
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, Minnesota
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Tasty pizza”
Reviewed June 30, 2014

Our meal at this iconic stop in Grand Marais was excellent. The pizza was very tasty and our group thoroughly enjoyed the meal. I would recommend this stop to all who are on the North Shore.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayward, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A must stop. Delicious pizza!”
Reviewed June 29, 2014

One of my favorite Grand Marais stops as a child and as an adult. I can't go to Grand Marais without a least one slice of their pizza. It is usually very busy because the pizza is so great. They have lots of specialty pizza choices. You haven't experienced Grand Marais until you've eaten here.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tranquil T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
40 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great service and pizza”
Reviewed June 28, 2014

My wife and I spent the day hiking through the parks and woods along the gunflint trail and got back to Grand Marais late. We didn't know the town basically closes down at about 9 PM in May. We were in town for 4 nights and wanted to try Sven and Ole's and as it turned out they were the last restaurant open. In fact, they were closing down as we walked in to get a pizza and the good fellow said we would be his last customer for the night as long as we ate it in the bar. Talk about great customer service! The pizza was great as was the service in the bar. The bar tender took good care of us as well as the other stragglers. The decor is dated and the carpet needs to be replaced. However, one can look past that because the place is clean, bright and otherwise well maintained. The pizza holds up to the tradition and we recommend it.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank djrhudson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sioux Falls, South Dakota
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Unimpressed”
Reviewed June 28, 2014

This was a very popular lunch spot in Grand Marais, and based on a few reviews on Trip Advisor, we gave it a go. My girlfriend liked it. It wasn't my favorite. The pizza was very average. I'm of the opinion that a local pizza joint should do something different to set itself apart from your local Pizza Hut lunch buffet, but I didn't get that at Sven and Ole's. The pizza wasn't bad, just wasn't anything special that I'd make a return trip for. I chose the two slice combo with a salad, and it was all very "meh," in my opinion. It's not a bad place to grab a quick slice and go.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Nic H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sven and Ole's Pizza also viewed

 

Been to Sven and Ole's Pizza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing