We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Art House B&B”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Grand Marais
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Art House Bed + Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 9 Grand Marais B&B and Inns
Duluth, Minnesota
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Art House B&B”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2014

Art House B&B is set in an ideal location in Grand Marais MN - just off-highway, easy to find, overlooking the harbor, a short walk to sites of interest, many restaurants within a few blocks. Small but warm and convivial setting - the age of the building itself gives a historic gravitas compensating for the relatively small size. Rooms are correspondingly period-smallish, but altogether sufficient for 2 persons who intend to be out and about, rather than ensconced for days on end. Breakfasts were most excellent -- perhaps even over the top; we would encourage the hosts to cook a tad less generously (!) and focus a specific 8AM seating. Needful-early-risers could do well with a Granola-and-Gone option, if headed out early to NorthHouse Folk School two blocks away or up to walk the rivers in winter (pictured).

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    11
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
8
38
16
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2014

Jay and Rose were wonderful hosts. Their home was eclectic, welcoming and warm. The cooking was delicious and the location superb. A fantastic bed and breakfast for a weekend getaway- I look forward to going back!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mndavis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
46 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2014

We spent two enjoyable evenings at the Art House.
The living room had a wood burning stove and was a great place to curl up with a good glass of wine and a book. The bedrooms were cozy and confortable.
Breakfasts always included yogurt, granola and fruit. In addition there was always a hot entree. Very yummy!!
Jay and Ennis (As Ennis says," Dennis without the D") were great hosts. Jay is very interesting as well as being a great host...and Ennis...well he is a very friendly little boy.
We would love to come back in another season and enjoy the abundance of hiking trails in the area!!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank citycat60640
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2014

Very affordable and a perfect place to take a breather between outdoor adventures along the North Shore. Food was excellent: filling and healthy. Jay and Rose were gracious hosts, and know the area well enough to provide guidance in trails to hike (and snowshoe and XC ski) and sites to see. Also very close to the heart of Grand Marias, so it's easy to walk down to the lake or to restaurants and shops.

Room Tip: The rooms are pretty simple, with the BWCA room being the most private and offering a view of the la...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank wmbakester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duluth, Minnesota
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2014

I rarely rate places that I stay but this one can not be passed up. A group of our friends rented the Art House for NYE. We had such a great time. Jay, Rose and Ennis are absolutely fabulous hosts and the location and beauty of the area is not really even measurable. Go to Grand Marais and stay here!

P.S. There is actually a community fitness center and pool within walking distance. We used the sauna and hot tub!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank elissahans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wisconsin
Level Contributor
92 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2013

Conveniently located, simple, but very comfortable rooms,
GOURMET breakfast -homemade egg bake, juice, granola, muffins,tea, coffee
way more than I could eat :-)
NIce wood stove and comfy couch to lay about on downstairs.
Could see Lake S. from my window

Very friendly and helpful owners!
Highly recommended!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elwoodp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2013

If you've ever wished that you had good friends who: lived right across the street from the folk school in Grand Marais, have a few comfy/clean extra bedrooms, enjoy being perfect hosts, kerp the woodstove going in the cozy livingroom, have local art/craft around for you to discover & be inspired by, and make the best breakfasts in the whole world...well now you do!
Art House feels cozy and alive...a home with open doors. The comfort inspired community; warm & thoughtful conversations lingering over DELICIOUS homemade breakfasts were an unlooked-for highlight of my entire trip. If you're looking for a sterile cookie-cutter luxury resort experience then this isn't the place; but if you like a comfortable, tidy & welcoming home with thoughtful & vibrant hosts then I give Art House my highest recommendation.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank greenvioletamy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Grand Marais hotels
0.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Plus Superior Inn & Suites
0.5 mi away
East Bay Suites
East Bay Suites
#3 of 10 in Grand Marais
4.5 of 5 bubbles 265 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Shoreline Inn
The Shoreline Inn
#9 of 10 in Grand Marais
3.0 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Harbor Inn Restaurant & Motel
Harbor Inn Restaurant & Motel
#6 of 10 in Grand Marais
4.0 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mangy Moose Motel
Mangy Moose Motel
#1 of 10 in Grand Marais
5.0 of 5 bubbles 375 reviews
0.7 mi away
Aspen Inn
Aspen Inn
#8 of 10 in Grand Marais
3.0 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Art House Bed + Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Art House Bed + Breakfast

Property: Art House Bed + Breakfast
Address: 8 7th Ave W, Grand Marais, MN 55604-1340
Location: United States > Minnesota > Grand Marais
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Grand Marais
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A creative space for Artists - Artisans - Everyone! Art House is the perfect place for the solitude seeker or the adventurer. Enjoy a view of the harbor from our deck, good conversation by the wood stove, and get inspired by a rotating selection of local art and craft. We’re 3 blocks from downtown, and 2 blocks from the lake, with easy access to the Gunflint Trail. 3 rooms have lake views. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing