We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Home Away From Home” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Art House Bed + Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Grand Marais
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Art House Bed + Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 9 Grand Marais B&B and Inns
Rochester, Minnesota, United States
1 review
“Home Away From Home”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2013

This was my first experience with a bed and breakfast. I was very impressed. The couple who run it are friendly and professional. The food is wonderful and all made from scratch. It is a very comfortable place to stay, clean and restful. I highly recommend it to anyone. The only drawback would be if you could not climb stairs. They are fairly steep, but doable. All the guest rooms are on the second floor. I am staying there again next August and have already made my reservations. The only other drawback is parking. There is not a lot of it.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Dawn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    11
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
8
37
16
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Red Wing, Minnesota, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2013

Art House Bed & Breakfast is a nice quiet place near the Grand Marais Harbor on Lake Superior. It is one house off the main drag of Highway 61 and close to across the street from the North House Folk School. Two blocks away are three good places to eat, two of them featuring fresh Lake Superior fish. I stayed there 2 nights on my way back from a retreat at Wilderness Canoe Base. Just great to hang out in Grand Marais.
The room was upstairs with a view of the harbor and lighthouse. One night there was a spectacular lightning show over and reflected in the lake. It was awesome!
The breakfast were mostly homemade with fresh fruits and muffins and scones, homemade granola, yogurt and even some great blueberry homemade sausage. Delicious. There is a nice dining room where it was fun to chat with other guests and the hosts.
Really nice place, I will be back again and bring some family and friends and recommend it to others.
thanks for having it there, Jay, Rose, and Ennis.

Room Tip: All the rooms are corner rooms and have their own bathroom. Two face the lake and two face the wood...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Joan O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2013

Not only were Jay & Rose incredibly flexible about our last-minute-change of plans (we arrived on Friday instead of our original plan to arrive on Thursday), they also contacted us ahead of time to make sure our GF friend would be okay with the delicious food they planned on preparing. Upon arriving (we had a little trouble with the directions and no smart phones in the car), we walked into a very comfortable house with places to sit, curl up and read, or gather in the kitchen for conversation. Everything was clean and relaxing. We knew immediately that this is where we were supposed to stay. Throughout our time our hosts were accommodating and enthusiastic to help us plan hikes, explore the food side of Grand Marais, and try out the bonfire pit in the backyard.

The other reason we wouldn't recommend this place, is because we want to keep it all to ourselves.

We plan to go back when the snow piles up along the North Shore due to their proximity to ski trails and the very welcoming wood stove in the front room of the B&B.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Jolene B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Paul, MN
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2013

Friendly hosts, great food, nice room with private shower and bathroom with a good price to boot. You couldn't ask for more in my opinion. It was especially nice to have a fire at night. I enjoyed visiting with the guests and host although I would have loved to meet Rose, especially because I know her mother. It was a lovely place and I would love to return many times.

Room Tip: I think our room was called "harbor view" and it was very nice, quiet, but yes, can see a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank marewinsor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2013

My sister and I were lucky enough to find this place available after a less than happy (stinky) stay at another place in Grand Marais. Although they were just opening and putting finishing touches on some rooms, Jay and Rose and their adorable son Ennis, welcomed us with warmth, beautiful breakfasts made with care, and a cozy room overlooking the lake. We stayed for several nights and felt very comfortable using the kitchen when needed, the beautiful deck, and living area as if we were staying with good friends. The older house has charm and character and is decorated tastefully with nordic artifacts, paintings from local artists, and casual scandinavian touches. Although just opened, the place quickly filled up and we enjoyed dining with the other guests each morning hearing about their adventures. If you're looking for a very friendly, low-key, relaxing, nurturing environment, Art House is a great place to take in all that Grand Marais and it's surrounding parks, trails and lakes have to offer.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Minneapolitan2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013

Had a wonderful weekend in Grand Marais! This B&B has only been open a couple of months and they are on a successful path. Jay and Rose offer a homey, comfortable and welcoming environment. They have 4 rooms, all with private bath. 3 Rooms have a view of Lake Superior. All extremely clean and comfortable. Sitting on the deck looking at the lake with a warm or cold beverage was bliss.

Rose prepared a fabulous breakfast each morning. Homemade this and homemade that. We even had some home made sausage and homemade bacon that Jay had made (he teaches classes at North House). Rose will address any dietary needs you have. Breakfast alone was worth the trip!

Art House is a block from the Angry Trout and 2 blocks from the heart of Grand Marais. Park your car and enjoy a truly relaxing and peaceful weekend.

Grand Marais is at the start of the Gunflint Trail which offers remote beauty.

Room Tip: The BWCA and The Lake View rooms have the view! Jay knows the area like the back of his hand... pla...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave-Jeanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2013

We just had such a wonderful time during our 6-day stay! It was my first time in Grand Marais, but my boyfriend is a repeat visitor. At first, we were so impressed with the affordability--and later we were blown away by the value of all that Jay and Rose offer at the Art House. We enjoyed the hosts and other guests, alike! It had much more of a community feel than B&Bs we've stayed at in the past, and we absolutely loved that vibe. Of course, you can be as present and involved, or as withdrawn as your mood requires...but we made some very nice memories sharing with everyone there.

Afternoons on the deck are perfect, use of the kitchen is convenient, and Rose and Jay are so friendly and hospitable. They even remained calm and were VERY helpful when I made an accidental mess in their kitchen =) They make beautiful and delicious breakfasts and entertain you with stories about their fascinating interests. SO many laughs were had! The location is ideal, and you can see the lake from the property and a few of the rooms. Easy walk to the main street.

We said that it was easily the coolest B&B we've stayed at, and we meant it. Can't wait for our next trip! Thanks again for everything, Jay & Rose!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank cvl314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grand Marais
0.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Plus Superior Inn & Suites
0.5 mi away
East Bay Suites
East Bay Suites
#3 of 11 in Grand Marais
4.5 of 5 bubbles 255 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Shoreline Inn
The Shoreline Inn
#10 of 11 in Grand Marais
3.0 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Mangy Moose Motel
Mangy Moose Motel
#1 of 11 in Grand Marais
5.0 of 5 bubbles 372 reviews
0.3 mi away
Harbor Inn Restaurant & Motel
Harbor Inn Restaurant & Motel
#6 of 11 in Grand Marais
4.0 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
9.3 mi away
Cascade Lodge
Cascade Lodge
#1 of 4 in Lutsen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Art House Bed + Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Art House Bed + Breakfast

Property: Art House Bed + Breakfast
Address: 8 7th Ave W, Grand Marais, MN 55604-1340
Location: United States > Minnesota > Grand Marais
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Grand Marais
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A creative space for Artists - Artisans - Everyone! Art House is the perfect place for the solitude seeker or the adventurer. Enjoy a view of the harbor from our deck, good conversation by the wood stove, and get inspired by a rotating selection of local art and craft. We’re 3 blocks from downtown, and 2 blocks from the lake, with easy access to the Gunflint Trail. 3 rooms have lake views. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing