We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Art House Bed + Breakfast
Nearby Hotels
East Bay Suites(Grand Marais)
$180
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Shoreline Inn(Grand Marais)
$109
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Plus Superior Inn(Grand Marais)(Great Value!)
$140
BestWestern.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Spruceglen Inn(Grand Marais)
$89
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Aspen Lodge(Grand Marais)
$109
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Aspen Inn(Grand Marais)
$99
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$125
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mangy Moose Motel(Grand Marais)(Great Value!)
$99
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Feather Nest Inn(Grand Marais)
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (80)
Filter reviews
80 results
Traveler rating
67
11
1
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
67
11
1
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfolk schoolevery morningennisjayhostsstove
Filter
Updating list...
74 - 79 of 80 reviews
Reviewed September 24, 2013

My sister and I were lucky enough to find this place available after a less than happy (stinky) stay at another place in Grand Marais. Although they were just opening and putting finishing touches on some rooms, Jay and Rose and their adorable son Ennis, welcomed us with warmth, beautiful breakfasts made with care, and a cozy room overlooking the lake. We stayed for several nights and felt very comfortable using the kitchen when needed, the beautiful deck, and living area as if we were staying with good friends. The older house has charm and character and is decorated tastefully with nordic artifacts, paintings from local artists, and casual scandinavian touches. Although just opened, the place quickly filled up and we enjoyed dining with the other guests each morning hearing about their adventures. If you're looking for a very friendly, low-key, relaxing, nurturing environment, Art House is a great place to take in all that Grand Marais and it's surrounding parks, trails and lakes have to offer.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Minneapolitan2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

Had a wonderful weekend in Grand Marais! This B&B has only been open a couple of months and they are on a successful path. Jay and Rose offer a homey, comfortable and welcoming environment. They have 4 rooms, all with private bath. 3 Rooms have a view of Lake Superior. All extremely clean and comfortable. Sitting on the deck looking at the lake with a warm or cold beverage was bliss.

Rose prepared a fabulous breakfast each morning. Homemade this and homemade that. We even had some home made sausage and homemade bacon that Jay had made (he teaches classes at North House). Rose will address any dietary needs you have. Breakfast alone was worth the trip!

Art House is a block from the Angry Trout and 2 blocks from the heart of Grand Marais. Park your car and enjoy a truly relaxing and peaceful weekend.

Grand Marais is at the start of the Gunflint Trail which offers remote beauty.

Room Tip: The BWCA and The Lake View rooms have the view! Jay knows the area like the back of his hand... places and the people! Ask him for any leads or advice. Come expecting to be treated as a family member, not a guest.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dave-Jeanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2013

We just had such a wonderful time during our 6-day stay! It was my first time in Grand Marais, but my boyfriend is a repeat visitor. At first, we were so impressed with the affordability--and later we were blown away by the value of all that Jay and Rose offer at the Art House. We enjoyed the hosts and other guests, alike! It had much more of a community feel than B&Bs we've stayed at in the past, and we absolutely loved that vibe. Of course, you can be as present and involved, or as withdrawn as your mood requires...but we made some very nice memories sharing with everyone there.

Afternoons on the deck are perfect, use of the kitchen is convenient, and Rose and Jay are so friendly and hospitable. They even remained calm and were VERY helpful when I made an accidental mess in their kitchen =) They make beautiful and delicious breakfasts and entertain you with stories about their fascinating interests. SO many laughs were had! The location is ideal, and you can see the lake from the property and a few of the rooms. Easy walk to the main street.

We said that it was easily the coolest B&B we've stayed at, and we meant it. Can't wait for our next trip! Thanks again for everything, Jay & Rose!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank cvl314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2013

My wife and I spent 3 nights with Jay and Rose while we were in Minnesota. They were friendly and helpful beyond what anyone should expect. The breakfast was unparalleled. Jay makes some killer home made sausage and bacon. If you are going to Grand Marais, Art House is the place to stay!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jrmurp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2013

Mid September 2013 my wife and I spent 2 nights here. Close to wonderful restaurants. Everything in the town is within walking distance. Owners Jay and Rose told us about local events and made wonderful breakfasts. Homemade scones and muffins were really good! Rooms are comfortable and cozy. If you need anything, just ask and you shall receive. Patio deck is very inviting. Buy or bring a bottle of wine, make a fire and enjoy! In the morning, walk or drive to Worlds Best Donuts and bring a few back to enjoy with your coffee. In the morning you lock your door and keep the key. No one enters so everything is safe. I would stay here again if my travels bring me back! Well done, and good luck!

Room Tip: Any room is nice.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brett R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews