We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great trip into the BWCA”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Grand Marais
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hungry Jack Canoe Outfitters and Cabins
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Very professional, equipment was great quality and in very good condition, food supplied was outstanding. Haven't been into the boundary waters in over 20 years, but Hungry Jack made it easy and a wonderful trip for us and our daughter, who had her first canoe trip.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RokuC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (14)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

11 - 14 of 14 reviews

Reviewed July 23, 2013

David Seaton keeps Hungry Jack very clean and neat. This is the cleanest and best shower facility I have ever seen at any outfitter; the water was actually hot and the area was kept clean even during the day. The bunk houses are a notch better than average. We rented a Bell Northshore (4 person) canoe to round out our gear. David is generally knowledgeable, but didn't know some details about Rose Lake (thus 4 stars rather than 5) which is about 7 miles by paddle & foot from Hungry Jack. David was patient and accommodating to our group of 8 people. I would definitely recommend HJO to anyone.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Canoecat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

In the past when I've gone to the BWCA I've camped the night before in Grand Marais, packed up and then drove in. No more!

Hungry Jack Outfitters was wonderful. First, as an outfitter - Dave and Nancy (and Rosie) were extremely knowledgeable and helpful. Not everyone that comes through the area is a pro, so it was nice they were willing to take the time and explain some good techniques (I'm sure they just want their gear to hold up, but still ... it was nice). And their gear is nice. Nice lightweight Kevlar options if you chose.

But, the part that really separated Hungry Jack with the others was their bunkhouse options. It's nothing too glamorous, but it's clean and it's a great place to get a good night's sleep before a long trek. Plus in the morning, they'll even feed you with muffins and coffee.

I highly recommend using Hungry Jack as your starting point on your next trip to the BWCA. They'll even give you a ride to some of the local lakes so you don't have to worry about losing your car keys.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2013

I have taken multiple trips over many years to the BWCAW using Hungry Jack Outfitters. Simply put, Dave and Nancy are experienced, kind, know what they are doing and treat everyone very well. Add on to this that their on-site facilities are spotless and their outfitting gear is well maintained and top of the line and what you get is a marvelous wilderness experience.

This past year I took my whole family up there including my girls aged 10, 7, and 4 and Dave and Nancy included time to talk to them, make them feel welcome and ensure their trip was a success as well.

I cannot rate Hungry Jack Outfitters highly enough and would (and have) recommend them to anyone that is interested in taking a trip to the BWCAW.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Grand Marais hotels
21.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Superior Inn
Best Western Plus Superior Inn
#2 of 10 in Grand Marais
985 reviews
14.2 mi away
Gunflint Lodge & Outfitters
Gunflint Lodge & Outfitters
#5 of 32 in Grand Marais
262 reviews
21.7 mi away
East Bay Suites
East Bay Suites
#3 of 10 in Grand Marais
283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.7 mi away
Harbor Inn Restaurant & Motel
Harbor Inn Restaurant & Motel
#7 of 10 in Grand Marais
115 reviews
21.6 mi away
Aspen Lodge
Aspen Lodge
#8 of 10 in Grand Marais
158 reviews
21.5 mi away
Aspen Inn
Aspen Inn
#6 of 10 in Grand Marais
70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hungry Jack Canoe Outfitters and Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hungry Jack Canoe Outfitters and Cabins

Address: 318 S Hungry Jack Rd, Grand Marais, MN 55604-2013
Location: United States > Minnesota > Grand Marais
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 32 Specialty Lodging in Grand Marais
Price Range: $18 - $150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hungry Jack Outfitters on the Gunflint Trail near the edge of the Boundary Waters Canoe Area Wilderness (BWCAW) can help you with your canoe trip, cabin stay or day trip adventure. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing