We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Much too crowded!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Grand Marais
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Grand Marais RV Park and Campground
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Much too crowded!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2013

We have stayed at this campground several times and each time we try to upgrade to a larger spot. Main problem....an old campground that isn't capable of larger RVs with slides. When we camp, we don't enjoy hearing our neighbors' TV or radio or having them watch us while in our camper. Today we checked out campgrounds in the Superior National Forest for our next trip up. Now that's camping, not this city csmpground stuff.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank Gmababs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    14
    6
    2
    0
See reviews for
13
16
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bryson City, North Carolina
Level Contributor
230 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 176 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2013

Even if you have a reservation, when checking in, ALWAYS ask if a waterfront site is available. This is a huge municipal campground and marina with many seasonal or long stay campers. However, ONLY about half of the sites are available for reservations, the rest are 'first come, first serve'. I had a reservation about 4 or 5 rows from the water. When checking in, I asked if any "better" sites were available...and voila, I scored a water front site. It was great! Right across the road from the beach and lake.

The sites are adequately spaced...I didn't feel crowded. It was really nice to just walk into town to shop, or sight-see, or eat. The municipal indoor pool is a really nice feature with 'adults only' swim times in the morning. PLUS, those campers >50 only pay $2 a visit. Would definitely book again!.

Room Tip: Also ask if a better site is available!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank itchyfeetx2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
minneapolis
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2013

The check in person was very friendly and helpful, the rest of the staff was very friendly and helpful.
The restrooms and showers were in excellent shape and clean.
The only complaint I have is the large number of VERY smoky campfires that were in the park in an area where a temperature inversion keeps the smoke low to the ground and Very irritating.
I wish they would designate an area of camping where people WANT to pollute their lungs with this thick smoke and put them all together.
If you are a person with lung problems- stay away!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jimminneapolis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, Iowa
Level Contributor
126 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013

We loved our stay in this campground! The location is perfect for enjoying Grand Marais as it is an easy walk into town along the lake. The sites are decent size (we have a travel trailer and were in a site with W/E/S)... the bathroom facilities are very nice and well maintained... you are just a few steps from the shore of Lake Superior from anywhere in the campground!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HawkeyeAlum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnsville, Minnesota
Level Contributor
141 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2013

Earlier reviews do a good job of describing this park. There are a variety of ways to enjoy the water from the park making it real fun to explore. The nearby municipal pool is a big plus but will be closing soon when the new YMCA opens up. Many sites have full hookups. The park attracts a broad range of campers ranging from families in tents to retirees with large Class A rigs. Everyone seems to be welcome here. Nice covered picnic areas and rec hall. Pets welcome, lots of dogs everywhere. Run by the city, they have a great staff who run the office and patrol and maintain the park. Very clean everywhere. WE will return with our RV next year and stay for a couple of weeks as this is one of our favorites destinations. You can make reservations after the 1st of the year for the following camping season.

Room Tip: There are a wide variety of sites to choose from but the park is usually full so hard to pick out ex...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TJFogelberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbury, Minnesota
Level Contributor
154 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2013

My family stays at this campground every year. The primitive lake sites are awesome, the bathrooms are well maintained and cleaned every day. The campground staff are out all day emptying the fire pits, painting the site number posts and making sure that the campground is looking it's best. We love being able to walk into town for all of our needs and the kids love biking around on the roads in the campground. There are great hiking trails nearby, and a beautiful short walk to be on the shore of Lake Superior. This is one of my favorite places to car camp around!

Room Tip: Any site on the lake is excellent for tent camping!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2013

We were able to get an excellent spot right on the shore of Lake Superior. Full service with a fantastic view. The site was non-reservable and we had to let the office know before 11:00am the next morning on whether we would take it for the second night, which we did. The walk to the lighthouse was a bit of a challenge over the rocky breakwater but well worth the exercise. It was nice to sit on a bench on the beach and watch some sailboats travel in and out of the harbour. A nice walk or bike ride into town. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ten-After-Ten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grand Marais
0.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Plus Superior Inn & Suites
0.6 mi away
East Bay Suites
East Bay Suites
#3 of 10 in Grand Marais
4.5 of 5 bubbles 265 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Shoreline Inn
The Shoreline Inn
#9 of 10 in Grand Marais
3.0 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Aspen Lodge
Aspen Lodge
#7 of 10 in Grand Marais
3.0 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
18.7 mi away
Lutsen Resort on Lake Superior
0.4 mi away
Harbor Inn Restaurant & Motel
Harbor Inn Restaurant & Motel
#6 of 10 in Grand Marais
4.0 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Marais RV Park and Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Marais RV Park and Campground

Property: Grand Marais RV Park and Campground
Address: Highway 61 and 8th Avenue West, on the harbor and Lake Superior, Grand Marais, MN 55604
Location: United States > Minnesota > Grand Marais
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 31 Specialty Lodging in Grand Marais
Number of rooms: 300

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing