We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointingly dirty, albeit with a great view”
Review of The Shoreline Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Shoreline Inn
Ranked #9 of 10 Hotels in Grand Marais
Stillwater, Minnesota
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Disappointingly dirty, albeit with a great view”
Reviewed September 30, 2013

We had the "family room", with a great view over the lake, with beautiful sun and moon rises. Unfortunately, the carpeting was old and filthy, and the tub / shower was also dirty, with soap scum and mold on the surrounding tiles. Continental breadkfast was fairly minimal (who needs fruit, anyway). Convenient to downtown and dining options.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    29
    24
    23
    20
See reviews for
22
51
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Eagan, Minnesota
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2013

We stayed here in the spring for 3 days, attending a wedding on the Gunflint. Our room was on first floor facing the Lake. Immediately we noticed that this hotel needed updates, and there was some structural issues due to walls and foundation shifting. T room was clean, bed comfortable, fan in the bathroom noisy. I would easily have given this 5 stars if some of the noticeable updates were fixed, The hotel staff were very friendly, the location is very convenient with "Worlds Best Donuts" next door !

We were not in our room much - but the time we did spend there was very nice, The view of the lake was wonderful. This hotel is nothing "fancy" but great price or location. Walking distance to mostly anything you want to see in Grand Marais.

Room Tip: Very sunny in the morning if you face the lake, If on first floor near the hotel patio, it could be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dmn0660
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
337 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2013

While working in Grand Marais recently I stayed at the Shoreline. While I did not have a room overlooking Superior the one on the town side was reasonably nice. If possible, take one on the Lake side as the sunrises are phenomenal. The hotel was built back in the 50's and seems to have had some renovation over the years. It is time again. I found the staff friendly and helpful and enjoyed the hotels proximity to mid-town. I was unable to sample breakfast in the morning as I was typically gone by the time it was officially opened. I would grab a cup of coffee on the way out, which was always good. My only complaint is that over my ten day stay it did not appear that anyone ever bothered to clean the toilet. Since school was back in I assumed they were working on some sort of science project. Should have a winner.

Room Tip: Anything on the lake side should be remarkable for the views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CheshireTurkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mitchellville, Ia
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2013

We have stayed at the shoreline three different years now. Last year we tried a different property the same owners managed. Although it was newer than the Shoreline, we missed the lakefront. We love haring the Lake Superior waves roll in. The view from the veranda at The Shoreline is the best and the location is close to shops and restaurants, plus is walking distance from Artist's Point.

We had reserved a first floor, Lakefront room and were disappointed to be told on arrival that we were in room 219! Even when showing our confirmation we were told, "sorry, we are full." They did discount our room $10.00 per night, but it was disappointing.

Although,, an aging hotel, staff are friendly and as said before, you can't beat the view and location!

Room Tip: Request lakefront, bay view is a good second choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kriskain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pella, Iowa, United States
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2013

My extended family have been staying at the Shoreline for many years for an end of summer vacation. The rooms are okay and the service has been good, but we stay there for the location and price. At the end of our stay, we would rebook for the next year at a real good rate, which we had been told was a benefit of continuing to come back! This year everything changed! At check-in, interim manager Joan, rudely informed us that our rates were going to have to increase! We showed her a confirmation with our rate on it, but, she said she didn't do business that way. I don't even no what that meant! After some heated conversation we were allowed to stay at our confirmed rate. We had just driven 9 hours to stay for 5 nights and this was not the treatment anyone should get! Later that evening at around 9:30 we were told by Joan to leave the lobby, where our family had gathered to catch up, and take it to our rooms by 10 pm. I have never received that kind of treatment at any hotel!! This kind of behavior by Joan went on for the rest of our stay including: belittling other guests, talking rudely to employees in front of guests, complaining about the cost of breakfast items to guests and locking us out on the lakeside deck without a warning!!! She was rude and should not be in the hospitality business. The rest of the staff were friendly and did an excellent job. We like the town and have always liked the hotel and its location, but unless something changes, we have seen our last stay at the Shoreline! Beware, beware, beware!!

Room Tip: No elevator to the 2nd floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hawkeye1335
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Grand Marais hotels

Waseca, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2013

This hotel is in an excellent location for exploring the city of Grand Marais. The staff was always friendly and greeted us with smiles. The continental breakfast was great and the free wifi was an added bonus. However, when we first walked into the room, the smell of mold and mustiness overwhelmed us. We turned on the light and out of the two ceiling lights (6 fluorescent bulbs) only one of the bulbs worked. There was an extension cord with one plug-in for plugging things in at the head of the beds. What we thought were pink colored chairs had gray and black stains all over them. The room was too small to have a full bed and twin bed. The beds were pushed up flush with the wall on one side and the window on the other side. The mattresses need to make sure to be flipped and turned every once in a while as there was an indent in the twin bed from where everyone sits and made for an uncomfortable nights sleep. There was no air-conditioning and on a hot & humid weekend, it got very muggy in there. There was a gap at the top of the room door of about an inch. We received a discounted wedding block rate of $69/night and I would not expect to pay more than that for a room like this. With as many sold out weekends and the incredible view of Lake Superior that they have, I would hope the hotel would eventually be able to use some of that income to update the rooms with new carpet, chairs that are not stained and air conditioning.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JMN27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2013

I had originally planned to stay at the Shoreline for two nights, but plans changed and I only stayed for one. The hotel allowed me to cancel the second night of my reservation 48 hours in advance, which was acceptable given it was the height of the tourist season in Grand Marais.

The property is in an excellent location, right on the main drag, and overlooking the eastern bay of lake superior. We had a room facing the lake on the first floor which was nice. It was bright during the day, and you got to see the moon high in the sky and the sunrise over the lake from bed.

The deck was a great place to relax, read a book, have a drink and soak up some sun while overlooking Lake Superior.

The hotel staff was very friendly and helpful and made me feel welcome upon arrival and during my stay.

The hotel itself is a little bit old and dated. Their appear to be some structural issue on the interior of the building which have caused some of the doorways to shift. The result of this is there was about an inch wide gap between the door into the room and the door frame. This allowed for sound and light to pass easily into the room.

The rooms themselves are dated, but that wasn't an issue. The bed is relatively comfortable (we had a king), and the linens were clean and fresh.

The room itself was very clean and odour free.

The value of the hotel is good when compared to other newer hotels in the immediate vicinity.. My base rate was $129 per night in the heart of tourism season.

One problem if you are looking to sleep in a little is the seagulls from lake superior have chosen this hotel and a few neighbouring properties to conduct their affairs from. The result is the birds start squawking quite early and go all day until dark. This is something that isn't limited to this hotel, but they certainly seemed to like the shoreline the best.

During our stay, the hot water boiler broke down in the building. This was an unforseeable problem that was likely beyond the control of the property manager. They were kind enough to distribute apology letters early in the morning lettering us know that they were working to fix the problem. Upon check out the manager compensated me with a %20 discount on the room rate for this trouble. I didn't even have to ask, as he just made the offer, which was greatly appreciated.

All in all I had a nice stay at this property and likely will return next time I am in Grand Marais.

Room Tip: Try to get a room facing the lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tomthepro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grand Marais
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Superior Inn & Suites
0.3 mi away
Aspen Lodge
Aspen Lodge
#8 of 10 in Grand Marais
149 reviews
0.1 mi away
East Bay Suites
East Bay Suites
#3 of 10 in Grand Marais
270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.1 mi away
Lutsen Resort on Lake Superior
0.2 mi away
Harbor Inn Restaurant & Motel
Harbor Inn Restaurant & Motel
#6 of 10 in Grand Marais
101 reviews
1.2 mi away
Aspen Inn
Aspen Inn
#7 of 10 in Grand Marais
63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Shoreline Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Shoreline Inn

Property: The Shoreline Inn
Address: 20 S Broadway Ave, Grand Marais, MN 55604-5016
Location: United States > Minnesota > Grand Marais
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 10 Hotels in Grand Marais
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — The Shoreline Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
LOCATION! LOCATION! LOCATION! Artist's Point is at our back door. Quiet, away from U.S. Highway 61. With lake view rooms and sundeck at water's edge, The Shoreline has been first choice for generations of families. Fireside, lake view lobby. This charming village is on Lake Superior's North Shore less than two hours Northeast of Duluth, on scenic Highway 61. Grand Marais is the Hub of activities in Cook County, located at the foot of the Gunflint Trail, the gateway to the famous Boundary Waters Canoe Area, and remote Isle Royale. Just ten minutes to the Gunflint Hills Golf Course or Pincushion cross country center and twenty minutes to Lutsen Mountains Ski Area, Alpine Slide and the Superior National Golf Course.Walk to shops, restaurants, the lighthouse and the Grand Marais recreation center and pool. Free continental breakfast. Rooms with king beds are available, as are family or connecting rooms. Smoke-free environment. Traditional charm. Personal service. A guest once said, "It's like coming home." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your The Shoreline Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Shoreline Hotel Grand Marais
Shoreline Grand Marais

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing