We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Had a nice stay”
Review of The Shoreline Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Shoreline Inn
Ranked #9 of 10 Hotels in Grand Marais
Thunder Bay, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Had a nice stay”
Reviewed April 23, 2013

I was with my boyfriend and son. The three of us had enough room in the room - it was clean, the beds were comfy and the bathroom was sufficient.
When we arrived, there was some confusion as the person taking us in was on the other side of the desk talking with patrons but never acknowledged us so initially we didn't know where the front desk person was. When it was clear to the man that we indeed were there to check in or inquire (why else would 3 people with bags be coming in to the hotel?), he then excused himself from the conversation and "helped us".
Like already mentioned above, the room was fine enough.
We were able to enjoy sitting on the deck with snacks - but all the guests do, and if you have inconsiderate people (as unfortunately we did, there were about 12 people and 8 or 9 of us were reasonable...respecting others' conversations and their space the other few were over the top loud, obnoxious and it was embarrassing). The hotel itself cannot be faulted for their behaviour but it does lack an overall feeling of comfort when you experience that.
We were able to come in and sit on the sofas and converse...the loud people came in too, but thankfully didn't stay.
We were pleased the following day when we asked the front desk man for some suggestions for "things to do"...he was attentive and friendly (the same man from the previous day)...which had me think that he's quite attentive with what he's doing and multi-tasking might not be his thing...which I could overlook since he gave us personal service as he did the people from the previous day.
Overall the stay was 'okay'. I'd go back...first I'd like to check out another hotel, but if needed, I'd stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Behhna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    29
    25
    23
    20
See reviews for
22
52
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2013

This old lady of a hotel has seen better days. The doors don't fit right, the fans in the bathrooms howl and the chairs are busted down, but who sits in the chairs with that view of Lake Superior out the window, and that is why we have stayed here many many times. We had reservations for the bay side and were offered a free upgrade to the lake side. The room was clean and fresh. The winds blew and the ice shifted with the muffled roar of the ice packed waves. As good as it gets with the east facing wall of windows. Small tip to mgr. the bathroom fans are very dirty and need to be cleaned if you clean the blades they will quiet down.

Room Tip: Go for the lake side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Goldfisher132
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iron River, Wisconsin
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2012

And parking. But with on-street parking not an issue that was fine. The check-in staffperson was super friendly. Helpful. Happy to have customers. That was a great start to our day. We arrived early and our room wasn't quite ready. Rather than tell us to come back, he asked if we'd mind waiting a few minutes on the deck while he had staff finish prepping our room. No problem. We sat on the gorgeous patio overlooking lake superior for maybe 10 minutes. And then, in our room. The room was simple. We were on the city side so no spectacular view (nor the price that comes with such a view which was great). Plus we had our dog. The room was spacious. The bed comfortable. The shower hot. It was a little dated but minor... as in no huge flat screen television. But we weren't there to watch tv so we didn't care. Breakfast was fabulous for being free. They add-in free donuts from the World's Greatest Donuts which is nice, too, since we were curious but didn't necessarily need to go to a doughnut shop for breakfast. Believe the hype, though, folks. The doughnuts are delicious! The only things missing were a blow dryer for my hair and when arriving back from dinner late, the parking lot was full as was the street directly in front of the hotel so we ended up on the other side of the street in front of the hotel. Not a big deal and the city didn't care so no problems there. Also, and this is coming from a country girl, but there are some spotlights on the outside of the hotel... one of which shined directly into our window. Even with the curtains shut, our room never god dark. Sunrise comes up right in front of the hotel. Lots of folks enjoyed watching it with fresh coffee, tea, etc. I know we did. By the edge of the patio the wi-fi starts getting weak but that might be a good thing. It forced you to put down the laptop and watch the sunrise--something we should all do a bit more of. Seconds later you can head in and resume the dog days of life but take advantage of the patio while you can. All in all, great experience, especially when you factor in the price to be in downtown Grand Marais during fall peak on Lake Superior.

Room Tip: If you want the view, go for lakeside. Village side is pretty industrial/ugly. But, cheaper. Check w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NorthernWisconsin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salida, Colorado
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2012

The views of Lake Superior from the deck of the Shoreline Inn are unbeatable and the location is excellent. It is just a short walk to Artist's Point or downtown Grand Marais. The staff is very friendly and the rooms are clean. The rooms could use a bit of updating, but everything is very clean. This hotel is a great option for anyone traveling to Grand Marais.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Greg C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
central arkansas
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2012

...............and we think it probably was. Great view overlooking the beach from huge windows on 2 sides of room 207. It was the most restful and relaxing place we stayed on a 13 day motorcycle trip from Arkansas around the North Shore of Lake Superior in Minnesota and Canada. Although not the newest or the most modern it was the most charming accomodations we found. We highly recommend staying there if you should be in the area. The powdered sugur donuts served at the continental breakfast were the absolute best I had the whole trip.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scootertrash1247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Forest, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2012

Our first impression of The Shoreline Inn on South Broadway in Grand Marais brought to mind images of a trashed hotel in Daytona Beach during college days. The steps into the lobby were missing tiles, the lobby was tired and worn. The view was great, but we didn't want to venture into a room because the first impression of the lobby was so bad that we returned to Duluth.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank roseyswan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Grand Marais hotels

Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2012

We sent our newlywed daughter and her husband to the BWCA for a brief mini-moon thanks to a Crowd Cut deal. They were married last Oct (2011) and had not celebrated yet. They had 2 nights and 3 days in the BWCA thanks to Gunflint Outfitters and a half price Crowd Cut for each of them. We made a reservation for them at the Shoreline Inn in Grand Marais for the last night, knowing they would desperately need a hot shower and comfortable bed. The Shoreline Inn went above and beyond providing a comfortable room for them! They entered their room to find a basket with chocolate truffles, a bottle of wine and a gift certificate for dinner. Their room had a king bed and was lakeside. They enjoyed the large deck at the Inn and had a fantastic dinner in Grand Marais. It was really hot the last weekend in July. The staff brought them a window fan to pull the cool lake breeze into their room. They had a memorable visit to Grand Marais thanks to the Shoreline Inn. We will definitely be encouraging others to stay there too!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jbstahl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grand Marais
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Superior Inn & Suites
0.3 mi away
Aspen Lodge
Aspen Lodge
#8 of 10 in Grand Marais
150 reviews
0.1 mi away
East Bay Suites
East Bay Suites
#3 of 10 in Grand Marais
270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.1 mi away
Lutsen Resort on Lake Superior
0.2 mi away
Harbor Inn Restaurant & Motel
Harbor Inn Restaurant & Motel
#6 of 10 in Grand Marais
101 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mangy Moose Motel
Mangy Moose Motel
#1 of 10 in Grand Marais
441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Shoreline Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Shoreline Inn

Property: The Shoreline Inn
Address: 20 S Broadway Ave, Grand Marais, MN 55604-5016
Location: United States > Minnesota > Grand Marais
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 10 Hotels in Grand Marais
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — The Shoreline Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
LOCATION! LOCATION! LOCATION! Artist's Point is at our back door. Quiet, away from U.S. Highway 61. With lake view rooms and sundeck at water's edge, The Shoreline has been first choice for generations of families. Fireside, lake view lobby. This charming village is on Lake Superior's North Shore less than two hours Northeast of Duluth, on scenic Highway 61. Grand Marais is the Hub of activities in Cook County, located at the foot of the Gunflint Trail, the gateway to the famous Boundary Waters Canoe Area, and remote Isle Royale. Just ten minutes to the Gunflint Hills Golf Course or Pincushion cross country center and twenty minutes to Lutsen Mountains Ski Area, Alpine Slide and the Superior National Golf Course.Walk to shops, restaurants, the lighthouse and the Grand Marais recreation center and pool. Free continental breakfast. Rooms with king beds are available, as are family or connecting rooms. Smoke-free environment. Traditional charm. Personal service. A guest once said, "It's like coming home." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Shoreline Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Shoreline Hotel Grand Marais
Shoreline Grand Marais

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing