We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Poplar Creek Guesthouse B&B
Nearby Hotels
East Bay Suites(Grand Marais)
$180
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$136
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
$125
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Plus Superior Inn(Grand Marais)(Great Value!)
$140
BestWestern.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Spruceglen Inn(Grand Marais)
$89
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Aspen Inn(Grand Marais)
$99
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Aspen Lodge(Grand Marais)
$109
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mangy Moose Motel(Grand Marais)(Great Value!)
$99
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Skyport Lodge(Grand Marais)(Great Value!)
$75
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (57)
Filter reviews
57 results
Traveler rating
54
2
0
0
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
54
2
0
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgreat hostscross country skiingguest housegunflint trailxc skiboundary watersa great place to stayhiking trailslong weekendget awayyurtbarbaratedwoodsiconswinterlakes
Filter
Updating list...
36 - 41 of 57 reviews
Reviewed December 30, 2013

My husband and I came up for the Christmas holiday and spent four nights in Barbara's suite. It was perfect for our needs . Ted and Barbara and wonderful hosts and Barbara's stuffed french toast is not to be missed. The area where they are located is spectacular and snow shoeing on the trails that go through the woods was great fun. Learned a lot about BCWA history and enjoyed the other guests. Highly recommend this spot.

Room Tip: There is a common area on the second floor with a stove and refrig for guests who stay in the rooms up there. The first floor suite and a small refrig and stove in the unit. We made all our meals there.
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank smsherm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2013

We had a lovely time at the Poplar Creek Guesthouse. The room was very comfortable and breakfast was delicious. Barbara and Ted prepared a super breakfast and provided an excellent environment for us to relax and enjoy ourselves before a trip into the BWCA. We highly recommend the Poplar Creek Guesthouse!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aaron B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2013

We love Ted and Barbara! They were gracious and conscientious hosts, and could write a book of their experiences and Gunflint history. Breakfasts always included lots of fresh fruit (apples from trees in the yard), and superb main meals. Thanks guys, we'll see you again.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ShelleyDW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for a long weekend and it was really lovely. Barb and Ted are great, welcoming, and really helpful. The food is amazing and the rooms are really beautiful and cozy. We rented a canoe to go into the BWCA for a day trip and Barb made a delicious lunch and Ted helped us get the canoe on our car and decide on a route. They really helped to make our weekend a great one. I highly recommend staying here!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank geochickmk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2013

Thank you Ted and Barbara for the best weekend! The food Barbara prepared for breakfast was amazing! Ted gave us the sweetest spots to hike and fish! The vistas were so beautiful and we actually saw moose, loones, fox and lots of deer! We totally recommend Poplar guesthouse if you want go get off the grid because its private, clean, amazing breakfast, beautiful location and the owners are very experienced with the area! We had such a great vacation my husband is ready to move there! Thank you again Barbara and Ted for helping us have a wonderful family vacation! Also they have a great massage specialist Jody! We had a couples massage after a long day hiking and Jody made us feel like new again! We hope to return very soon! Bill, Janel, Jonathon and Michael

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JanelTownsend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bctbarbara, Owner at Poplar Creek Guesthouse B&B, responded to this reviewResponded August 17, 2013

Thank you so much for staying with us in June and this August after your family's canoe trip.
It was wonderful seeing all of you. I think that the stuffed french toast is a guest favorite, as is the baked egg casserole. Your kind words written after your June visit were inspiring to our small business. Ted and I hope that we can live up to your description with every guest. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews