We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Poplar Creek Guesthouse B&B
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
Aspen Inn(Grand Marais)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Feather Nest Inn(Grand Marais)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Spruceglen Inn(Grand Marais)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mangy Moose Motel(Grand Marais)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Aspen Lodge(Grand Marais)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
East Bay Suites(Grand Marais)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Shoreline Inn(Grand Marais)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (57)
Filter reviews
57 results
Traveler rating
54
2
0
0
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
54
2
0
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgreat hostscross country skiingguest housegunflint trailxc skiboundary watersa great place to stayhiking trailslong weekendget awayyurtbarbaratedwoodsiconswinteraccommodations
Filter
Updating list...
48 - 53 of 57 reviews
Reviewed July 28, 2012

We spent two nights in Ollies Room at this secluded B *B. It was lovely, comfortable, clean and full of interesting touches to make you aware you were in the Boundary Waters. The breakfasts were magnicent, as was the advice they gave us for trails and a museum to visit. You truly feel that your are visiting familyWe were on our way to Camp Menogyn where we picked up our 16 year old grandson from a rock climbing program at Menogyn.

Room Tip: Either of the two rooms is delightful. They both give access to a social area where you can heat some food, read from their big supply of books, or step out on a porch. At breakfast, we not only enjoyed the marvelous food (the french toast is fantastic) but socialized with the other guests. The word guest is perfec, because we felt like company, rather than customers.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JackNaughton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2012

Our visit to Poplar Creek was short but sweet. We stayed just one night in Ollie's Room. The room was spacious with a large bathroom. Small touches like fresh flowers and granola bars made this place feel especially welcoming. We didn't have a chance to use the giant tub, but I can imagine how wonderful it would be after a long day on the ski trail. Our hosts were warm and friendly and the breakfast of stuffed french toast, coffee and fresh fruit very enjoyable. Poplar Creek is like a mashup of European B&B and Northwoods lodge. Bonus: chirping frogs and dead quiet a night. Sleep well.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kristin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2012

We stayed at Poplar Creek as part of a trip along the Banadad trail last March, including one night at the Croft yurt. The B&B is very nice, and breakfast was delicious. We'd recommend it, and return happily. However, the Croft yurt needed a good cleaning, and was furnished with shabby used furniture. Since it's the only place to stay along the Banadad, we really didn't have any alternatives. But we won't use it again. We also weren't expecting an additional fee for a unnecessary but mandatory gear shuttle out to the yurt. We typically pack in our own food, bedding, etc and are perfectly capable of starting a fire and melting snow for water. Boundary Country Trekking maintained that they would bring in water and start the woodstove, adding another fee to an already overpriced stay. The yurt won't see us again.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Holly W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2011

This B & B is wonderfully accommodating. It is hidden in the Superior National Forest and very peaceful. There are trails to hike and lakes to play in. Barb makes some famously delicious breakfasts! (be sure to get her recipe book!). We went in 2009 and went back in 2011 and saw the Northern Lights for the first time ever! Spectacular!! Best trip ever!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tgimages
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2010

My wife and I did a two week tour of several cities in Minnesota, including Grand Marais, Duluth & Hibbing. We were up there to escape the Florida heat and didn't really know what we were going to do, but turned out to have a really great vacation. Please see my other posts regarding lodging, meals, etc. if you are interested in a similar trip.

Regarding Poplar Creek B&B...everything was fantastic. It's about 30 minutes due north of Grand Marais, but it was the highlight of our trip. They have cabins, but we stayed in one of the B&B rooms (Barbara's Suite). Nice family room, little kitchen, nice sized bathroom and a separate bedroom. We peeked in the other rooms before we left and they were very nice as well. Everything was extremely clean & comfortable. Barbara's breakfasts were great and definitely worth the extra money if they're not included with your particular room. Barbara and Ted were excellent hosts and provided so much information on their area and other parts of Minnesota that we were going to visit. We basically spent a day hiking, a day canoeing and a day in Grand Portage and downtown Grand Marais. We could've spent more time there, but we had to move on to our next stop. There are miles and miles of trails or gravel roads for hiking, mountain biking, snow shoeing, cross country skiing, etc., and they're accessible from the B&B or just a quick drive. It's in the woods but you feel like you're at home. We hope to be back soon.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank UF_RX_1999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews