We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great, peaceful place!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Poplar Creek Guesthouse B&B
Ranked #4 of 9 Grand Marais B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed October 13, 2011

This B & B is wonderfully accommodating. It is hidden in the Superior National Forest and very peaceful. There are trails to hike and lakes to play in. Barb makes some famously delicious breakfasts! (be sure to get her recipe book!). We went in 2009 and went back in 2011 and saw the Northern Lights for the first time ever! Spectacular!! Best trip ever!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tgimages
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (57)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

52 - 57 of 57 reviews

Reviewed August 1, 2010

My wife and I did a two week tour of several cities in Minnesota, including Grand Marais, Duluth & Hibbing. We were up there to escape the Florida heat and didn't really know what we were going to do, but turned out to have a really great vacation. Please see my other posts regarding lodging, meals, etc. if you are interested in a similar trip.

Regarding Poplar Creek B&B...everything was fantastic. It's about 30 minutes due north of Grand Marais, but it was the highlight of our trip. They have cabins, but we stayed in one of the B&B rooms (Barbara's Suite). Nice family room, little kitchen, nice sized bathroom and a separate bedroom. We peeked in the other rooms before we left and they were very nice as well. Everything was extremely clean & comfortable. Barbara's breakfasts were great and definitely worth the extra money if they're not included with your particular room. Barbara and Ted were excellent hosts and provided so much information on their area and other parts of Minnesota that we were going to visit. We basically spent a day hiking, a day canoeing and a day in Grand Portage and downtown Grand Marais. We could've spent more time there, but we had to move on to our next stop. There are miles and miles of trails or gravel roads for hiking, mountain biking, snow shoeing, cross country skiing, etc., and they're accessible from the B&B or just a quick drive. It's in the woods but you feel like you're at home. We hope to be back soon.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank UF_RX_1999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2009

Barb & Ted, the proprietors of this B & B are very sweet and accommodating. Their B & B is nestled in the North Woods of Minnesota, off the very scenic Gunflint Trail. There is a lake to paddle around on, which we did, and trails to hike. The breakfasts that Barb cooked up (and Ted excellently served) were the best I have experienced in MN. We definitely plan on going back again!

Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
Thank DesignerRed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2008

Ted and Barbara Young are northwoods icons! If you are a tenderfoot who just wants some R&R deep in the northwoods, or if you are a hard core cross-country skier / hiker ... then head to the Poplar Creek Guesthouse. My wife and I took our boys to the Gunflint Trail for some cross-country skiing (Christmas present to the family). We rented the cabin, and loved every minute of our stay. Yesterday morning before heading out skiing, I took a short hike and watched a mink play and hunt on the banks of the snow covered (but free flowing in the Winter) Poplar Creek.

Ted and Barbara are fantastic hosts. They understand how to take care of guests. In our case, we only wanted the latest trail reports. However, if you just want to relax ... stay at the B&B and enjoy Barbara's breakfasts. One warning ... from someone who calls himself the Northstar Nerd. You will not have cell or internet connections in the cabin. I think the B&B has wireless. However, take it from me ... disconnect and enjoy. It's all too rare these days.

I'll add a YouTube Video link this afternoon.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RichHoeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2008

My wife and I stayed one night at the Polar Creek Guesthouse prior to a lodge to lodge XC ski trip (arranged by the proprietors of the B&B). This place is definitely secluded, especially in February, but the snowy road was no problem at all for our generic rental car.
The bedroom we stayed in was warm, quiet, and comfortable, and the beds were new and firm (but not too firm).
We were only there one night and thus only sampled one breakfast, but suffice it say that it was well done without being overly showy. We had plenty of coffee, fruit, and some kind of pancake concotion that was moist and tender. The other guests, who had been staying there several days, raved about the other breakfasts they'd had.
Finally, the innkeepers are an interesting pair, as you might expect from someone who chooses to stay open during the winter months in the deep woods of northern Minnesota. They are not quite eccentric-even quirky is too strong a word. They are just a charming, pleasant couple who worked very hard to make our stay as pleasant as possible.

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UBBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor China Member
Reviewed October 10, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, traveled solo
Thank A TripAdvisor China Member
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Grand Marais hotels
20.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Superior Inn
Best Western Plus Superior Inn
#2 of 10 in Grand Marais
998 reviews
20.9 mi away
East Bay Suites
East Bay Suites
#3 of 10 in Grand Marais
299 reviews
20.8 mi away
Aspen Lodge
Aspen Lodge
#8 of 10 in Grand Marais
160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.2 mi away
Skyport Lodge
Skyport Lodge
#16 of 32 in Grand Marais
6 reviews
21 mi away
Cobblestone Cove Villas
Cobblestone Cove Villas
#14 of 32 in Grand Marais
54 reviews
21.7 mi away
Thomsonite Beach Inn & Suites
Thomsonite Beach Inn & Suites
#2 of 9 in Grand Marais
102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Poplar Creek Guesthouse B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Poplar Creek Guesthouse B&B

Address: 11 Poplar Creek Dr, Grand Marais, MN 55604-2314
Location: United States > Minnesota > Grand Marais
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Grand Marais
Price Range: $145 - $157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Secluded inn nestled in the Northwoods along the Gunflint Trail Scenic Byway. On quiet canoe-only lake & creek. Overlooking BWCA. Inn with whirlpool, fireplaces, and guest kitchens. Canoe, fish, swim. Hiking, biking, skiing, snowshoeing trails on site. Birding, wildlife, moose viewing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Poplar Creek Guesthouse B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing