We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great deal for good room” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Aspen Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Aspen Inn
Ranked #9 of 11 Hotels in Grand Marais
Paxton, Illinois
Level Contributor
71 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great deal for good room”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

A former Super 8, conveniently located just south of Grand Marais on Hwy 61. Hot tub and sauna but no pool (who planned that???). Dog friendly with minimal surcharge. Easy parking next to door for some rooms, you might want to ask for ground floor if you like this convenience. Friendly and helpful staff, even to a couple that wandered in off the highway late at night. Had stayed before when it was the Super 8, same general quality. I would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask for a first floor room in the bungalow section. Best deal around.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    13
    16
    9
    10
See reviews for
14
17
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
50 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

We were lucky to get a room here on a busy Saturday night in GM. The Visitor Center gave us a few recommendations for places to check for vacancy, and since this was on the south end of town (to far to walk to the restaurants), it would get us home sooner the next day. Room was clean and it was nice to have a fridge and single-cup coffee maker. The windows open to catch a slight breeze off the lake, but there is some highway noise, so ask for a room away from the highway if you like to open the window. We would prefer some healthy choices at breakfast; doughy white bagels and sugared cereal were the only options. Some fruit or juice, and whole grain toast or bagels would be appreciated. Prices in this area are high during the season, so while its no value, its probably on par with others. I wouldn't seek this place out, but if its a last resort, its just fine.

Room Tip: All rooms in the 2-story section are non-smoking, ask for one away from the highway (north?) if you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ProfandPres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2012

Honestly, we meant to reserve at the Aspen Lodge, but this former Super 8 has apparently been bought by the company that owns the other "Aspen"hotel in town and been renamed accordingly.

Once we got over our confusion, this was just fine. It served our purpose of a clean place to sleep and shower while we went up the Gunflint Trail. The room was just an unexciting but clean room, the bed was comfortable, the location was not in town center but it was all OK. It's not on the scenic side of the road, but they don't charge scenic prices either.

We'd probably do it again as a perfectly good stopping place.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Emily O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2011

This is a good basic hotel. Nothing fancy but the rooms were clean, the bed was fine; the hotel was quiet. You could open the window and let the fresh air in. We stayed here one night before heading up the Gunflint Trail to stay at one of the resorts. The price was right. The people who worked here were helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LLinWI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fergus Falls, Minnesota
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2011

Spend a little more and get your monies worth. I WILL NOT stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TodsTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Grand Marais hotels

Port Washington, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2011

This hotel allows dogs but be wary. Dogs are only allowed in smoking rooms. Apparently a smoking room entitles you to not only the smell of heavy smoke, the smell of rotten fish.

Regardless of the smell, the room was a complete pigsty. The shower had silverfish crawling all over it, and the bathroom sink had hair all over it.

The front desk staff refused to put us up in another room, and would only return half of our money.

The Super 8 is one of the cheaper hotels in Grand Marais, but your better off spending a few bucks somewhere else. In the end my wife and I car camped in one of the state parks, minus $50 plus dollars.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank theclassic5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Superior, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
140 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 195 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2011

A great hotel on the lake. Nothing fancy, but very clean and very friendly staff. Recommended if staying in Grand Marais.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fonixmunkee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grand Marais
1.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Plus Superior Inn & Suites
1.3 mi away
Aspen Lodge
Aspen Lodge
#8 of 11 in Grand Marais
3.5 of 5 stars 128 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Shoreline Inn
The Shoreline Inn
#10 of 11 in Grand Marais
3.0 of 5 stars 94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
East Bay Suites
East Bay Suites
#3 of 11 in Grand Marais
4.5 of 5 stars 244 reviews
18.1 mi away
Lutsen Resort on Lake Superior
1.0 mi away
Harbor Inn Restaurant & Motel
Harbor Inn Restaurant & Motel
#6 of 11 in Grand Marais
4.0 of 5 stars 91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aspen Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aspen Inn

Property: Aspen Inn
Address: 1711 W Highway 61, Grand Marais, MN 55604-7507
Location: United States > Minnesota > Grand Marais
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 11 Hotels in Grand Marais
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Aspen Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aspen Inn is nestled at the edge of the forest, conveniently on Hwy 61 as you come into town from Duluth or the Twin Cities. Tucked in behind northwoods landscaping, it fits right in with a peaceful, North Shore getaway, as many rooms overlook quiet aspen and spruce. A guest favorite... our spacious whirlpool- sauna centered in a sunlit room, is off a relaxing deck, surrounded by spruce, aspen and lilac for privacy.Guests may choose from a room with a king, two queen beds or family suite. All rooms are air conditioned and have refrigerators. Near restaurants and entertainment or minutes from the center of Grand Marais and Lake Superior. -Giant whirlpool spa, sauna, sundeck -Free WIFI and Continental Breakfast -Free local calls, voice mail, and message service -Free guest laundry -Truck, bus or trailer parking with winter plug-ins -Cable TV - 52 channels - HBO -Pets with permission ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire and Travelocity so you can book your Aspen Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aspen Hotel Grand Marais
Super 8 Grand Marais
Super Eight Grand Marais
Grand Marais Super 8
Grand Marais Super Eight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing