We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Boundary waters canoe trip”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Grand Marais
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Clearwater Historic Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Revillo sd
1 review
“Boundary waters canoe trip”
Reviewed September 19, 2013

Three of us rented a canoe from Clearwater Lodge for a 5 day trip. We stayed in a bunkhouse the night before we started the adventure. We woke up in the morning and ate a great breakfast before we started paddling. The last day we also stayed in the bunkhouse before the long drive home the next day. We were ready for a hot shower! The fishing was great. We ate fish every night for supper. There is a lot of history with Clearwater Lodge. We really enjoyed visiting with Adam and his family. They are a young hardworking couple living the dream of being self employed owning their own business. I especially respect the way they want to raise their kids playing outside, enjoying the outdoors. We don't see enough of this anymore. This is the 3rd boundary waters trip, first at Clearwater. We will be a repeat customer.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Todd L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

407 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    378
    26
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
179
108
11
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Burt
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed September 19, 2013

We enjoyed our stay very much. We rented cabin 3(very charming original log cabin right on the water) for a week and had a very relaxing week. The place has a way of making you feel like you have your own little piece of heaven. Staff was very accomidating. Air was good and water is sooo very clear. Enjoyed canoeing fishing and rock hunting.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathleen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2013

We bookended our Boundary Waters trip with two nights in the Charlie Room of the B&B, and rented a canoe from the outfitter to take to the BWCA. The building is gorgeous--we loved learning about the history of the lodge and the Gunflint Trail. We also enjoyed the wide selection of games. The Clearwater crew is hospitable, kind, and extremely helpful, and they cook an unbelievably delicious breakfast that was included in our stay. We will definitely be back!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Charlie room and it was very comfortable and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ellen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2013

I spent my first 28 years in Minnesota and unfortunately left for work in Texas. Been back to southern part to see family over the past 14 years, but my son was born in Texas has hasn't really got to see all the beauty. My son and I went up in early August and spent two days in the bed and breakfast rooms in the lodge. It was a great father and son experience that neither of us will forget. He was amazed at how green and lively everything was and was impressed with the fresh air and clear water. He out fished me up their with a few nice smallmouth bass and a really nice trout at a nearby river. We were both amazed at the evening sky. I always hear about how great the sky is in Texas, but without any city lights within miles and a fresh cool night, not much can compare to the beauty of northern Minnesota. As for the lodge, it was everything I was hoping for and more. It was a peaceful retreat, without all the garbage of the big city. We haven't slept so well in years. I am terrible with names, but the couple that run the lodge were wonderful. They gave us fishing tips and directed us toward some beautiful sites and scenery. The breakfast was absolutely amazing. Sunrise, sunset amazing. When I picture heaven in my head, this place will be there!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Buster6999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2013 via mobile

This is the epitome of a glorious north woods lodge. The building's heritage is fantastic, and the original owner's granddaughter bakes the bread made in the 1920s. An awesome stay and we will return!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ShelleyDW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakeville, Minnesota
1 review
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Thank you to the awesome Lodge owners and staff! We stayed in one of the 8 cabins, and LOVED our accommodations. Nicely updated by the new owners and had everything we needed. We enjoyed the delectable bakery goods and thought the amenities of the Lodge were great. We liked visiting with Adam and Kasey and learned about the history of their lodge. We appreciated the tips on our BWCA day trips and hikes. The equipment was in A+ shape and the staff offered superior service in transport to entry points. Super vistas over Clearwater Lake. We'd love to come again! Thanks for making us feel so welcome!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 2, 2013

Thank you, Adam, Kasey, Erik and team! Our group stayed one night at the wonderful and historic Clearwater Lodge on the Gunflint Trail before leaving on our canoe trip. We enjoyed a great night's sleep in the lodge rooms and then a delicious breakfast to ready us for the trail. We appreciated the team's knowledge and expertise for insights about our trip. This lodge and outfitter services are in wonderful hands. We will be back!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MNTraveler1013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Grand Marais hotels
22.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Superior Inn & Suites
22.2 mi away
East Bay Suites
East Bay Suites
#3 of 10 in Grand Marais
277 reviews
22.1 mi away
Aspen Lodge
Aspen Lodge
#8 of 10 in Grand Marais
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.3 mi away
The Shoreline Inn
The Shoreline Inn
#9 of 10 in Grand Marais
110 reviews
17.0 mi away
Gunflint Lodge & Outfitters
Gunflint Lodge & Outfitters
#5 of 32 in Grand Marais
249 reviews
22.2 mi away
Harbor Inn Restaurant & Motel
Harbor Inn Restaurant & Motel
#7 of 10 in Grand Marais
106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clearwater Historic Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clearwater Historic Lodge

Property: Clearwater Historic Lodge
Address: 774 Clearwater Rd, Grand Marais, MN 55604-3031
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Grand Marais
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 32 Specialty Lodging in Grand Marais
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clearwater Historic Lodge and Canoe Outfitters is oldest resort and outfitter on the Gunflint Trail. The main lodge is listed on the National Historic Registry and has 5 bed and breakfast rooms. The resort also offers 8 lakeside cabins, all with kitchens, bathrooms and private docks. The 5 bunkhouse accommodations for those entering the Boundary Waters Canoe Area provide a great option for the night before a canoe trip. Motorboat, canoe, kayak and paddle board rentals available. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing