We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect way to start a BWCA trip” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Clearwater Historic Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Grand Marais
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Clearwater Historic Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Grand Forks, North Dakota, United States
1 review
“Perfect way to start a BWCA trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

Recently, a good friend of mine and I took a trip to the BWCA. Our entrance point was Clearwater Lake, so we decided to stay the night before our trip at Clearwater Lodge...and we are SO glad we did.

Not only were the owners incredibly friendly, and the accommodations charming and comfortable, but the breakfast the morning our trip began was the perfect way to get us going...absolutely delicious.

We both HIGHLY recommend this historical place to anyone who is planning a trip to the BWCA. You will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

365 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    341
    23
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
154
99
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Maple Grove
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

We've used Clearwater Lodge as our outfitter for our last two BWCA adventures and would recommend them to anyone looking for a jumping-off point into the BWCA. We've rented their canoes and other equipment, we've stayed in the bunkhouses, and we've enjoyed their filling, home-cooked breakfasts prior to our trips - and we've appreciated their hot showers and complimentary cold beverages upon our return. Adam, Kasey & Eric have all been super friendly and helpful, providing not only equipment but also route planning help, campsite info and the latest fishing reports. We will use them again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David0258
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hager City, Wisconsin
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2013

Heading to the BWCA with a mixed group of friends, we searched for a resort that would allow some to head for a camping experience and others to have a cabin as we explored the area. Clearwater Lodge exceeded out expectations in all areas. The renewed sense of history being brought to the lodge set us in time and place as we packed our canoes. The cabin easily accommodated our group of 7 and was fresh, clean and open. Owners and staff were so hospitable and helpful increasing the enjoyment of the experience. We're already making plans for our next adventure based out of Clearwater Lodge.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank J J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2013

We recently spent a very enjoyable week at Clearwater Lake Lodge, our first stay at this beautiful historic property. The cabin accommodations were very clean and comfortable, and the owners were extremely hospitable. We were impressed with the overall operation and smart investments being made to improve the resort. The lake is beautiful and peaceful. We will definitely consider a return visit.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JillnDis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Minnesota
Level Contributor
73 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2013

We spent only 3 nights there--and wished it was more. We stayed in the old lodge, a piece of Minnesota history. It's a log building, built in the 1930's that's been well kept up and carefully updated by the new owners. Yes, the bathrooms were newly redone and very adequate.

It was almost like we were part of their family--we were welcomed, were cheerfully helped with whatever we needed, and left to do whatever we wanted to do. Fresh pie served at 2:00 in the afternoon. Home cooked breakfast along with cheerful conversation.

I was impressed that they had lots of new canoes (for use there and for BWCAW trips) , that the boats had new motors, and they had good quality kayaks for rent.

All the traditional North Woods activities are available--hiking, canoeing in the Boundary Waters Canoe Area, sitting on the porch watching the world go by, fishing, playing in the lake at the beach.

And a real plus--cell phone service isn't available, and internet service is very limited. A real unplugged vacation.

We will be back.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank walt c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis Park, Minnesota
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2013

My family enjoyed their stay at Clearwater Lodge immensely. I was looking for a place on the Gunflint Trail that would offer access to all the hiking and fishing the area has to offer. Also, it had to be a location that would please my niece and nephew, who had never experienced that part of Minnesota. The kids loved it right away, as did my mom, who made the journey with us. The lodge itself is a beautiful historic building that sits on a lovely lake. The rooms were clean, and Suite A was perfect for our group. Breakfast was a great way to begin the day - marvelous pancakes! We bought some of the tasty bread they sell at the lodge as well. The owners and staff were friendly to all of us, and very informative when my nephew asked them where and how he could catch the next big fish. My niece had a great time visiting with the owners' kids. Though we had a full agenda, we wished we could do more. There are so many things to do in the area, and the lodge is a good central location for all of them.

Room Tip: The suites are a nice option if you have a small group of people who want to share a space. Suite A...
See more room tips
Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Sisa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maple Grove, Minnesota
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2013

Adam was very helpful from start to finish. I met him at the MPLS Sports Show this Spring to plan our trip. I told him what we were looking to get out of our BWCA trip, and he helped us plan it out right there. He helped cater the trip to what we wanted, and didn't just try to sell me a standard package. We were able to maximize the fishing and hiking like we wanted. The bunkhouse we stayed in prior to going into the BWCA to camp was excellent that included electric, and an upgraded shower/bathroom facility. We enjoyed a fantastic breakfast at the lodge prior to canoeing out. When we returned from our camping trip we were able to grab a shower and get cleaned up before the ride home. I would highly recommend working with Adam's team in the future. Thank you again for a great experience

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Aaron B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Grand Marais hotels
22.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Plus Superior Inn & Suites
22.3 mi away
The Shoreline Inn
The Shoreline Inn
#9 of 10 in Grand Marais
3.0 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
22.3 mi away
East Bay Suites
East Bay Suites
#3 of 10 in Grand Marais
4.5 of 5 bubbles 262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.1 mi away
Aspen Lodge
Aspen Lodge
#8 of 10 in Grand Marais
3.0 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
22.3 mi away
Cobblestone Cove Villas
Cobblestone Cove Villas
#13 of 31 in Grand Marais
4.5 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
22.2 mi away
Harbor Inn Restaurant & Motel
Harbor Inn Restaurant & Motel
#6 of 10 in Grand Marais
4.0 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clearwater Historic Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clearwater Historic Lodge

Property: Clearwater Historic Lodge
Address: 774 Clearwater Rd, Grand Marais, MN 55604-3031
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Grand Marais
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 31 Specialty Lodging in Grand Marais
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clearwater Historic Lodge and Canoe Outfitters is oldest resort and outfitter on the Gunflint Trail. The main lodge is listed on the National Historic Registry and has 5 bed and breakfast rooms. The resort also offers 8 lakeside cabins, all with kitchens, bathrooms and private docks. The 5 bunkhouse accommodations for those entering the Boundary Waters Canoe Area provide a great option for the night before a canoe trip. Motorboat, canoe, kayak and paddle board rentals available. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing