We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Camping Trip”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Grand Marais
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Clearwater Historic Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed June 27, 2013

Adam was very helpful from start to finish. I met him at the MPLS Sports Show this Spring to plan our trip. I told him what we were looking to get out of our BWCA trip, and he helped us plan it out right there. He helped cater the trip to what we wanted, and didn't just try to sell me a standard package. We were able to maximize the fishing and hiking like we wanted. The bunkhouse we stayed in prior to going into the BWCA to camp was excellent that included electric, and an upgraded shower/bathroom facility. We enjoyed a fantastic breakfast at the lodge prior to canoeing out. When we returned from our camping trip we were able to grab a shower and get cleaned up before the ride home. I would highly recommend working with Adam's team in the future. Thank you again for a great experience

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aaron B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (431)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

371 - 377 of 431 reviews

Reviewed June 27, 2013

We only stayed one night but are hoping to go again in the future. The staff was friendly and helpful. It was beyond gorgeous on the lake. The cabin was clean and worked perfectly for us. I would definitely recommend this lodge to anyone looking for a week stay or even an over night stay. We had our family plus a couple from Texas. All had a great time.

Room Tip: We stayed in Cabin 4 the view from the deck was fantastic
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KRMunoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2013

Our family of four stayed at Clearwater last week and absolutely loved it! Adam and his wife do a wonderful job running and maintaining the resort area. They are such friendly and helpful people! The main lodge is very large and has a huge porch overlooking the lake. We stayed in cabin #2 and it worked out perfectly for us. There were two bedrooms and a nice kitchen/living area with beautiful views of the lake. Some of the other cabins are larger, but we enjoyed the coziness of #2. The furniture was so nice, and the beds so comfy! The resort location is great for lots of hiking, canoeing and fishing options. It was hard to leave!! We're already looking forward to another visit to Clearwater in the future.

Room Tip: Cabin #2 was perfect for a family of four. Loved the views and the fact that it was so close to the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MNSandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

The lodge is in a beautiful location, and is an ideal location to enter the BWCA! The owners are very helpful, and very hospitable. We felt right at home while staying there. I would say, the lodge and cabins are perfect for families, but are also very good for people who just want to fish or canoe the Boundary Waters. I enjoyed bringing my family here, and wouldn't hesitate to bring them back - in fact, my son thanked me for picking the "perfect" lodge for our trip.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vince C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2013

The owners were very friendly. Without asking, they upgraded us from a fairly small sleeping room to a small suite that wasn't being used which allowed us to relax in a more comfortable manner. Breakfasts were included and something we looked forward to because of the tasty and delicious meals prepared by one of the original owners' granddaughters. One evening we were able to learn much of the historic lodge's history, as well as her family's history, when one of the daughters who grew up in the lodge spent an hour or so with a group of us. A very restful time was spent in a beautiful lodge on a beautiful lake in one of the most beautiful parts of our country.

Room Tip: The lodge sleeping rooms are rather small but certainly adequate. We were used to sleeping in a ten...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary Ann J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2013

This is the second time we have stayed at Clearwater Lodge. This time, we brought our adult children and their spouses. Cabin 1 accommodated all 7 of us comfortably. The service was exceptional again. We exchanged several e-mails with Adam and Kasey to be sure we were ready for the trip. They were quick to respond to every question and excellent hosts when we arrived. We canoed over 40 miles in 8 different lakes, saw 3 Moose and other wildlife and enjoyed some beautiful hikes. It was a wonderful family vacation. We went the first week in June so avoided black flies and mosquitoes ... just dealt with the ticks. We used the fireplace in the evenings and were quite comfortable. It was a treat to come back to the cabin after a long day of hiking and canoeing. Meals in the porch overlooking the lake was spectacular!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Julie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2013

Since 1967 I've returned to the same lake down the road from Clearwater Lodge for an annual fishing trip. This year, as a family trip we decided to rent a cabin on Clearwater. I've been stopping at the lodge for years to grab a soda, get some bait, etc. But save for a paddle through during portage trips, I hadn't spent much time on the lake. We were thoroughly impressed with the experience. From the historic-yet-updated cabins, to the service and atmosphere, we couldn't have had a better time. As an example, one morning while trolling I experienced engine problems with the outboard on the boat we had rented. I was able to limp back to shore under 1/2 power. Upon informing the lodge, within 20 minutes one of the staff was over to retrieve our boat, and provide us with a replacement. Attention to detail and customer service is obviously ingrained in the culture at Clearwater Lodge. My family highly recommends it.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dmerk63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Grand Marais hotels
22.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Superior Inn & Suites
22.2 mi away
East Bay Suites
East Bay Suites
#3 of 10 in Grand Marais
281 reviews
22.3 mi away
The Shoreline Inn
The Shoreline Inn
#9 of 10 in Grand Marais
112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.0 mi away
Aspen Lodge
Aspen Lodge
#8 of 10 in Grand Marais
157 reviews
17.0 mi away
Gunflint Lodge & Outfitters
Gunflint Lodge & Outfitters
#5 of 32 in Grand Marais
256 reviews
16.8 mi away
Skyport Lodge
Skyport Lodge
#19 of 32 in Grand Marais
3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clearwater Historic Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clearwater Historic Lodge

Address: 774 Clearwater Rd, Grand Marais, MN 55604-3031
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Grand Marais
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 32 Specialty Lodging in Grand Marais
Price Range: $80 - $269 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clearwater Historic Lodge and Canoe Outfitters is oldest resort and outfitter on the Gunflint Trail. The main lodge is listed on the National Historic Registry and has 5 bed and breakfast rooms. The resort also offers 8 lakeside cabins, all with kitchens, bathrooms and private docks. The 5 bunkhouse accommodations for those entering the Boundary Waters Canoe Area provide a great option for the night before a canoe trip. Motorboat, canoe, kayak and paddle board rentals available. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing