We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good training- I'll be back” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Clearwater Historic Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Grand Marais
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Clearwater Historic Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Fulton, Missouri
2 reviews
“Good training- I'll be back”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2011

My wife and I had stayed at the lodge in July of 2006- and did day trips in 2006. Recently my sons and I, along with 8 of their closest friends- we went in on two permits- the week of 20 June 2011, we rented canoes from the lodge, and stayed Sunday night in screen houses, on our annual trip to the BWCA ; we were going to make the Alder lake loop. The next morning our group ate breakfast in the lodge. The scones were superb.

I greatly enjoyed both trips. I found Adam, and staff very attentive and helpful in June 2011. Adam had much good advice on fishing and presentation of the same. I had forgotten tent seam sealer, and he brought some out from stores for me. I was impressed.

It usually takes 4-5 years to get back around- We go in at different points every year, but when we get back around to going in on the arrowhead- I'll go back in at Clearwater Lodge, probably paddle along Mountain lake- the Canadian border.

Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank jswsilage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

365 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    341
    23
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
154
99
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hager City, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2011

My husband, I and our family have spent our annual vacation at Clearwater Lodge in Cabins 1 or 7 nearly every year since 1985. The location halfway up the Gunflint trail is a terrific "jumping off" spot for anything you care to do in this glorious wilderness, and Clearwater is a deep, clear and beautiful lake with several entry points into the BWCA. We haven't come up for the past two years, and we missed it, so my husband and I decided to check out rooms in the lodge. We first met Adam at the Northwest Sportshow in Minneapolis, and he thoroughly impressed us with his vision, energy and passion as the new owner of Clearwater Lodge. We reserved Suite B in the Lodge.
WOW! Have Adam and his wife Kacie brought the WELCOME back to Clearwater!!! Adam greeted us at the door, showed us the changes in the lodge....new store area with a few more items requested by guests (which we made good use of!), yet maintaining the historic integrity of the lodge. He then showed us to our suite, and helped us carry up our luggage. He also suggested that there was going to be a beautiful sunset from Honeymoon Bluff that we may want to check out......he was absolutely right! This friendly welcome set the tone for the entire week! The coffee and "northwoods" breakfasts were great! I totally agree with the review by Edina_MNTraveler...Adam and Kacie set a friendly, welcoming tone themselves, and staff follow their lead, they are friendly, easy to talk to and willing to help anyone, anytime....even if non guests walked in to check out the lodge or wanted to rent a canoe for a paddle down to the Palisades, it was always.....Sure, we how can we help you!
We are pleased that they appreciate the historic value of Clearwater Lodge and highlight it as part of guest stays. We thoroughly enjoyed our time there, and while the weather and the fish didn't always cooperate with us, the stories from Harriet (daughter of Charlie Boostrom) growing up at Clearwater, the great breakfasts, the conversation with staff and other guests, and the great welcoming changes made by Adam and Kacie will keep us coming back....
Give them a try...you won't be disappointed!!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oneeb46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2011

My brother and I booked a canoe trip with Clearwater for the week of 6/27/11. We wanted to experience some good fishing lakes and Adam (the new owner) was great in directing us to a good area and we caught a lot of Walleye and a 16 inch smallie. He helped us book our permits, bait, great canoe, topo maps and other items. From the standpoint of outfitting us he was great. Since this was a rushed trip we didn't stay at any of the lodging options, but will most likely stay over the night before we go out next time.

The other staff members were great. During our ride to and from the drop off site the drivers were sharing their fishing knowledge and provided me with a lot of ideas for future trips.

Upon our return we were greeted by Adam, which he was interested in how the trip went and wanted to hear the fishing stories. Also, there was a lot of work being done on the place to make it even more enjoyable for their guests.

Lastly, we found the location to be great and had many options for back country outings.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Foama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edina, MN
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2011

Adam, the new owner, helped us with our luggage as soon as we arrived. This friendly gesture alone distinguished Clearwater Lodge from the other 3 lodges we have stayed in on the Gunflint Trail. But he was not through. Adam and his wife, Kacie, have set a welcoming, friendly tone throughout the lodge and among the staff, which in turn has encouraged the same unforced spirit of comaraderie among the guests. They have a wonderful vision of highlighting the history and beauty of the lodge while gradually updating it with attractive features that stay true to its rustic roots. The lodge is set in the lovely and wild boreal forest of northeast Minnesota, the canoeing and hiking are terrific, and our whole experience created wonderful memories. This is the lodge we will come back to.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Edina_MNTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
greenfield, ia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2011

Chaperoned a Boy Scout trip here where we had a medical emergency and a tipped canoe in high winds. Adam and his staff responded swiftly and professionally in both instances. It was awesome. Breakfast was plentiful and very good. I understand that this week, he is building a new bunkhouse and a 5 shower hut. I would recommend this to anyone that is ready to experience the outdoors and enjoy the wonderful sights of BWCA!!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pbr1827
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coon Rapids, Minnesota
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2011

My group of 6 people stayed in cabin 4 for three nights in June and we all loved the cabin. The cabin had everything we needed and actually included a lot more than we expected for a lodge in the boundary waters. My family has been to the boundary waters multiple times over the years but we have always camped and portaged. Staying in a cabin was a nice change because we were still able to take day trips to see the waterfalls and get a lot more fishing in. The private dock was great and you can't really beat the scenery. Easily a 5 star vacation. See the attached picture for a view from our dock.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank xludan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdamVT, Owner at Clearwater Historic Lodge, responded to this review, June 17, 2011
Thanks for your review, we are so glad that you enjoyed cabin 4. It was a pleasure having you visit Clearwater Lodge.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
River Falls, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2011

I spent the last weekend staying at Clearwater Lodge and had an excellent time. The new owners and staff were extremely helpful and fun to talk to. The cabin was well kept and had an amazing view out onto Clearwater lake. I've stayed in the boundary waters three times before this, but this was by far the best.

Room Tip: Stay in Cabin 6. You won't be disappointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank McEwan1a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdamVT, Owner at Clearwater Historic Lodge, responded to this review, June 17, 2011
Thanks for your review, it was a pleasure visiting with you. We especially enjoyed visiting on the deck and hearing about your fishing adventures. Cabin 6 has an amazing view, glad you were able to experience Clearwater Lodge.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Grand Marais hotels
22.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Plus Superior Inn & Suites
22.3 mi away
The Shoreline Inn
The Shoreline Inn
#9 of 10 in Grand Marais
3.0 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
22.3 mi away
East Bay Suites
East Bay Suites
#3 of 10 in Grand Marais
4.5 of 5 bubbles 262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.1 mi away
Aspen Lodge
Aspen Lodge
#8 of 10 in Grand Marais
3.0 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
22.3 mi away
Cobblestone Cove Villas
Cobblestone Cove Villas
#13 of 31 in Grand Marais
4.5 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
22.2 mi away
Harbor Inn Restaurant & Motel
Harbor Inn Restaurant & Motel
#6 of 10 in Grand Marais
4.0 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clearwater Historic Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clearwater Historic Lodge

Property: Clearwater Historic Lodge
Address: 774 Clearwater Rd, Grand Marais, MN 55604-3031
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Grand Marais
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 31 Specialty Lodging in Grand Marais
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clearwater Historic Lodge and Canoe Outfitters is oldest resort and outfitter on the Gunflint Trail. The main lodge is listed on the National Historic Registry and has 5 bed and breakfast rooms. The resort also offers 8 lakeside cabins, all with kitchens, bathrooms and private docks. The 5 bunkhouse accommodations for those entering the Boundary Waters Canoe Area provide a great option for the night before a canoe trip. Motorboat, canoe, kayak and paddle board rentals available. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing