We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Assured the safety of our boys!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Grand Marais
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Clearwater Historic Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
greenfield, ia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Assured the safety of our boys!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2011

Chaperoned a Boy Scout trip here where we had a medical emergency and a tipped canoe in high winds. Adam and his staff responded swiftly and professionally in both instances. It was awesome. Breakfast was plentiful and very good. I understand that this week, he is building a new bunkhouse and a 5 shower hut. I would recommend this to anyone that is ready to experience the outdoors and enjoy the wonderful sights of BWCA!!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pbr1827
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

365 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    341
    23
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
154
99
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Coon Rapids, Minnesota
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2011

My group of 6 people stayed in cabin 4 for three nights in June and we all loved the cabin. The cabin had everything we needed and actually included a lot more than we expected for a lodge in the boundary waters. My family has been to the boundary waters multiple times over the years but we have always camped and portaged. Staying in a cabin was a nice change because we were still able to take day trips to see the waterfalls and get a lot more fishing in. The private dock was great and you can't really beat the scenery. Easily a 5 star vacation. See the attached picture for a view from our dock.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank xludan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdamVT, Owner at Clearwater Historic Lodge, responded to this review, June 17, 2011
Thanks for your review, we are so glad that you enjoyed cabin 4. It was a pleasure having you visit Clearwater Lodge.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
River Falls, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2011

I spent the last weekend staying at Clearwater Lodge and had an excellent time. The new owners and staff were extremely helpful and fun to talk to. The cabin was well kept and had an amazing view out onto Clearwater lake. I've stayed in the boundary waters three times before this, but this was by far the best.

Room Tip: Stay in Cabin 6. You won't be disappointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank McEwan1a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdamVT, Owner at Clearwater Historic Lodge, responded to this review, June 17, 2011
Thanks for your review, it was a pleasure visiting with you. We especially enjoyed visiting on the deck and hearing about your fishing adventures. Cabin 6 has an amazing view, glad you were able to experience Clearwater Lodge.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Grand Marais hotels
22.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Plus Superior Inn & Suites
22.3 mi away
The Shoreline Inn
The Shoreline Inn
#9 of 10 in Grand Marais
3.0 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
22.2 mi away
East Bay Suites
East Bay Suites
#3 of 10 in Grand Marais
4.5 of 5 bubbles 265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.1 mi away
Aspen Lodge
Aspen Lodge
#7 of 10 in Grand Marais
3.0 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
22.2 mi away
Aspen Inn
Aspen Inn
#8 of 10 in Grand Marais
3.0 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
22.3 mi away
Cobblestone Cove Villas
Cobblestone Cove Villas
#11 of 31 in Grand Marais
4.5 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clearwater Historic Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clearwater Historic Lodge

Property: Clearwater Historic Lodge
Address: 774 Clearwater Rd, Grand Marais, MN 55604-3031
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Grand Marais
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 31 Specialty Lodging in Grand Marais
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clearwater Historic Lodge and Canoe Outfitters is oldest resort and outfitter on the Gunflint Trail. The main lodge is listed on the National Historic Registry and has 5 bed and breakfast rooms. The resort also offers 8 lakeside cabins, all with kitchens, bathrooms and private docks. The 5 bunkhouse accommodations for those entering the Boundary Waters Canoe Area provide a great option for the night before a canoe trip. Motorboat, canoe, kayak and paddle board rentals available. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing