We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Charming, comfortable, clean, and peaceful.”
other travelers have booked this property
Forest retreat on trout stream just a few miles up the Gunflint Trail!
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Forest retreat on trout stream just a few miles up the Gunflint Trail!
Firepit next to the dam. The dam!
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
12 reviews
Forest retreat on trout stream just a few miles up the Gunflint Trail!
Firepit next to the dam.
The dam!
Lookijng out towards the pond.
Looking into the Mason Hamlin...and yes, we keep it tuned.
Don't miss the North House Wild sausages at Johnsons Foods downtown.
Lake view on the way down to town in late September.
The half bath connected to the privacy bedroom.
Kids at the grill!
Kitchen and staircase to loft
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Grand Marais, Minnesota

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 12 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
KHWyatt
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Charming, comfortable, clean, and peaceful.”
Reviewed August 11, 2014 for a stay in August 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Our traveling group of 4 adults, 2 dogs, and an 18 month old had a great stay. We thought the cabin was charming, clean, and just what a cabin should be; not too fussy. We felt comfortable tracking our tired and bugsprayed-selves through and it was a great home base for the long weekend. The view on to the babbeling stream was fantastic, and we really enjoyed the fire pit right on the bank. It's a large cabin and our group didn't feel liek we were tripping over one another. The bathrooms are nicely done, and the kitchen has everything you could need. I liked the added nicety of pretty soaps, artifacts from the family's travel, and hand-thrown mugs throughout the cabin. The charm factor is huge.

The only thing that was not as-advertised was the idea that it's a 3 bedroom cabin. Because we were traveling with a toddler, she got the only bedroom with 4 walls and a door (for quiet naps), and we were not expecting that the other bedroom would be a curtain separating one living area from another. The lofted bedroom is as advertised. It was no big deal, really, but I can see how it could be difficult if you were planning on 3 fully separate bedrooms.

We would absolutely stay there again. Unanimously. It was a great stay in Grand Marais.

Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
music4lif...
Saint Paul, Minnesota
1 review
“Awesome spacious retreat, with plenty of charm/room for families.”
Reviewed July 26, 2014 for a stay in June 2014

Awesome spacious retreat, with plenty of charm/room for families.
Peaceful, CLEAN, private.
We slept very well in the cozy bedroom, and loved the spaciousness of the living rooms, charming (2) bathrooms, ceiling fan, romantic fireplace, and the magical loft, with it's own spiral staircase. Wow! We enjoyed grilling on the deck and cooking in the fully equipped kitchen. We stayed for one full week the beginning of June and wished we could have stayed longer!
We enjoyed hiking and watched lots of wildlife traveling up/down creek & fish jumping in the evening. It was very peaceful. We also saw up close a Great Blue Heron... just five feet away from the deck! That was a thrill!
And the ultimate bonus - playing my favorites on the GRAND PIANO!
Kids/families would love this place! As a couple, we enjoyed this private Retreat!
Our best vacation... ever! Looking forward to going back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: CLEAN & fragrance-free
Liked least: Nothing!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teresa A
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Secluded, yet short drive to town. Eclectic and cozy!”
Reviewed June 24, 2014 for a stay in June 2014
1
person found this review helpful

The road to the A-frame cabin became less populated and more narrow throughout the woods. It is very secluded - you can't hear people or cars, just wildlife and the babbling river in the backyard. Don't forget to watch the stars at night!

My husband and I spent three nights here for our honeymoon. While unpacking, we listened to Jimi Hendrix - picked out from the small, but decent CD collection! The first night we slept in the loft. The loft is so so cool! Complete with cabinets and bookshelves and a painting under the window/fan and the view in the morning out the floor-to-ceiling window. Beautiful. The only problem here was the air mattress was not ideal and by morning we were surrounded by mosquitoes!

The second day we cooked breakfast in the very well furnished kitchen. We later did the 11min drive into town to peruse the local art galleries and check out the small town shops. Back at the cabin we found the Foodie Fight trivia game which entertained us for quite some time (over cheese and crackers and drinks). This night we slept in the one bedroom. The bed here is MUCH more comfortable than the air mattress... however we had an even worse problem with the mosquitoes!

The third day we spent mostly relaxing in the cabin or the surrounding Gun Flint Trail/Devil Track River area. We had dinner at the Angry Trout Cafe - a must eat! Later, we picked out a VHS to watch from the awesome collection. (The Princess Bride) Also, check out the book shelves - great library! There were a couple more options for sleeping quarters... "the second living room" has a sleeper sofa as well as a curtain to separate the room from the main living/dining room. This helped keep the early morning light out. The sleeper sofa was moderately comfortable but we didn't have any problems with mosquitoes. Yay! We also made a fire in the wood burning fireplace. It was very easy and heated the whole place quite nicely.

Other highlights of the cabin: artisanal well on property, baby grand piano, the BWCAW map on the wall, the African art decor, TWO bathrooms!,

Some bummers: REALLY buggy, the lawn was not mowed (approx 8-10in tall), the firepit was flooded as well as the lawn (not anyone's fault-just high waters), the shower's water pressure was extremely tough (or maybe I'm just sensitive?), a funky smell from behind the refrigerator... ???

Overall, very beautiful cabin that's not your run-of-the-mill, moose-paraphenelia, woodsy kitsch decor. This place is hip, artsy, eclectic and we felt right at home for our brief stay. I recommend it to anyone!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: amenities, decor, location
Liked least: mosquitoes, odor, shower pressure
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MN
Reviewed November 16, 2013 for a stay in October 2013
3
people found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Luxury-minded travelers
Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hastings
Reviewed October 5, 2013 for a stay in August 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
MN
Reviewed October 4, 2013 for a stay in July 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Minneapolis
Reviewed September 25, 2013 for a stay in August 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Sep 25, 2013
Thanks!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing