We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A majestic view and wonderful food.”

Justine's at the Gunflint Lodge
Ranked #20 of 34 Restaurants in Grand Marais
Cuisines: American
Description: this restaurant is located within the Gunflint Lodge which is located along the Gunflint Trail near Grand Marais, MN
Restaurant details
Description: this restaurant is located within the Gunflint Lodge which is located along the Gunflint Trail near Grand Marais, MN
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
60 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A majestic view and wonderful food.”
Reviewed July 9, 2012

The view across Gunflint Lake is beautiful. The food was well-prepared and tasty. Attentive service and pleasant atmosphere. Pricey, but expected for the location and resort atmosphere.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank BCSunflower777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    12
    6
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Duluth
Level Contributor
87 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“A nice end to our get away.”
Reviewed June 10, 2012

The lodge and view are amazing. Lots of history and interesting artifacts. The menu changes daily. They do a nice job of making it a special event and the prices are very reasonable. Bruce has always got an interesting story to tell... what's not to like?

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank MnPolishPrincess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota, United States
Level Contributor
31 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Amazing Attention to Detail; Delish Food!”
Reviewed June 7, 2012

My husband and I were married at the Lodge (2005), and our reception was catered by their restaurant staff. We had Walleye & Prime Rib offerings - and these weren't your run-of-the-mill fillets! OUTSTANDING preparation, (perfection, really) - and well-received by our 110 guests also. Something we'll always remember - was the dedicated service. Truly remarkable! I still become emotional just thinking about how well taken-care-of we were for such an important event. Thank you Gunflint Lodge!

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
Thank Denise M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rosemount, Minnesota
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“The Red Paddle Bistro”
Reviewed October 12, 2011

We wanted a quick supper and decided to eat at the Bistro at the Gunflint Lodge rather than the more formal Justine's. We made a good choice, I had the Trout Quesadilla from the appetizer menu (very good salsa!) and my husband had a walleye sandwich. Both Bruce and Sue Kerfoot circulated the Bistro asking about our meals and service, a nice touch and great PR.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lee9H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Justine's at the Gunflint Lodge also viewed

 
Grand Marais, MN
 

Been to Justine's at the Gunflint Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing