We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Gunflint Trail Snowshoeing 2011” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Voyageur Canoe Outfitters

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Grand Marais
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Voyageur Canoe Outfitters
Tomah, Wisconsin
1 review
“Gunflint Trail Snowshoeing 2011”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2011

Stayed just one night as planned. Lodge is clean, modern, quiet, out of the way. Service is fantastic and the location is incredible!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bentpaddle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paddling_hiking_Gal, Owner at Voyageur Canoe Outfitters, responded to this review, December 10, 2011
Thank you for your kind words about Voyageur Canoe Outfitters. We sure hope you can come snowshoeing again and stay with us a little longer too. We really appreciate you taking the time to give your feedback.

There's snow on the ground at the end of the Gunflint Trail waiting for you,

Sue Prom
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    2
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
17
15
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kona, Hawaii
Level Contributor
53 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2011

What a wonderful trip! Perfect weather contributed to our overall satisfaction, but the service at this outfitter was complete. We were actually there in July of 2002 but that wasnʻt an option when choosing a date for this review. My husband and I, along with our sons (10 & 14) are experienced with ocean canoes in Hawaiʻi, but had no idea what we needed for this adventure so chose complete outfitting from canoes to sleeping bags to food. It was all in good shape, clean/new, well packed and exactly what we needed. We stayed overnight in the lodge the night before. I would have rated rooms and sleep at 5, but in the heat wave we were in they were hot. We did a four day trip with a tow-out option to get a boost into the backcountry. Voyageur did our permit and planning with us and supplied maps. The only thing I would change on a return trip would be to spend more $$ for a lighter canoe for the time you need to carry it. At the end you pick up your small bag of personal stuff, enjoy a hot shower and walk away! What a treat not to clean up.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank joferer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paddling_hiking_Gal, Owner at Voyageur Canoe Outfitters, responded to this review, February 5, 2011
Thanks so much for taking the time to post such a nice review of our services. We are really glad you had a great experience with us and hope you'll come visit us again soon. We'll try to do something about the heat too! Thanks again, we really appreciate it.

Sue Prom
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, MN
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2010

Although Voyageur also outfits people to canoe and camp in the Boundary Waters Canoe Area, we stayed in the Paddler Suite of their main lodge to hike local trails and explore local waters during our stay (canoes are available for guests to use). Our suite was charming and comfortable, including a kitchen, spiral staircase leading to extra beds and a hot tub, and a lovely handmade canoe hanging from the ceiling. The owners Mike and Sue live on site year round and know a lot about the area. We were guided to excellent hiking trails that showcased the fall colors and also the new Chik Wauk Museum and Nature Center. We wouldn't hesitate to recommend this unique and pristine location to anyone. You can also read about the business on http://query.nytimes.com/gst/fullpage.html?res=9902E1D61238F931A25750C0A9669D8B63&pagewanted=all

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ridley_G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paddling_hiking_Gal, Owner at Voyageur Canoe Outfitters, responded to this review, December 10, 2011
We are so happy you enjoyed your stay at Voyageur. We live in such a beautiful place and enjoy showing others our backyard. We thank you for taking the time to write such kind words and hope you will return year after year.

Sue Prom
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Grand Marais hotels
38.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Plus Superior Inn & Suites
38.2 mi away
Aspen Inn
Aspen Inn
#7 of 10 in Grand Marais
3.0 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
38.9 mi away
Harbor Inn Restaurant & Motel
Harbor Inn Restaurant & Motel
#6 of 10 in Grand Marais
4.0 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
39.0 mi away
The Shoreline Inn
The Shoreline Inn
#9 of 10 in Grand Marais
3.0 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
39.0 mi away
East Bay Suites
East Bay Suites
#3 of 10 in Grand Marais
4.5 of 5 bubbles 262 reviews
38.9 mi away
Aspen Lodge
Aspen Lodge
#8 of 10 in Grand Marais
3.0 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Voyageur Canoe Outfitters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Voyageur Canoe Outfitters

Property: Voyageur Canoe Outfitters
Address: 189 Sag Lake Trl, Gunflint Trail, Grand Marais, MN 55604-2057
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Grand Marais
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 31 Specialty Lodging in Grand Marais
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at the end of the Gunflint Trail adjacent to the Boundary Waters Canoe Area Wilderness and surrounded by the Superior National Forest. Leave your cell phones and worries at home and relax at Voyageur.Comfortable cabins with direct access to the BWCA for canoeing, fishing and camping. Hiking trails & the Chik-Wauk Museum and Nature Center nearby. Moose seen regularly, loons heard frequently and solitude found always. We invite you to Voyageur, Where the Trail Ends Your Voyage Begins. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing