We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Cross River Lodge
Nearby Hotels
East Bay Suites(Grand Marais)
$180
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Shoreline Inn(Grand Marais)
$109
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Plus Superior Inn(Grand Marais)(Great Value!)
$140
BestWestern.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Spruceglen Inn(Grand Marais)
$89
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Aspen Inn(Grand Marais)
$99
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Aspen Lodge(Grand Marais)
$109
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$125
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mangy Moose Motel(Grand Marais)(Great Value!)
$99
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Feather Nest Inn(Grand Marais)
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (155)
Filter reviews
155 results
Traveler rating
150
4
0
0
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
150
4
0
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgunflint lakemade to order breakfastwolf denfrench toastjohn makesjohn cooksbring bug sprayevery guestincredible breakfastwildlife viewingyear after yearremote locationcomfortable accommodationsfabulous hostsgas stoveboundary watersevery morning
Filter
Updating list...
128 - 133 of 155 reviews
Reviewed October 6, 2011

My family and I enjoyed our stay from Thurs - Mon in the "Up North" Cabin. The cabin was very clean, beautiful decor, comfortable beds, just like at home! Cross River Lodge is a beautiful small quiet place to stay. You couldn't ask for more friendlier or gracious hosts, John and Rose! Plenty to do, but also a wonderful place to just relax! We were also invited to one of John and Rose's impromtu BBQ's. My 3 year old loved John's smoked ribs. We loved it so much we'll be back again, we booked our vacation for next fall before we left. Next time we might even bring the pooch!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Corynda T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2011

You would have to be the world's biggest curmudgeon not to like this place.Beautiful scereny eveywhere you look, great fishing,comfy rooms and two of the most friendy hosts you will ever find, John & Rose. Plenty to do but also a awesome place to relax and chill out. Great breakfast in the morning, they even had hand picked local wild blueberries. If you're lucky you may even be treated to one of Jon & Rose's impromptu BBQs. Rumour has it that a local moose liked the place so much he requested in his will that when he died he wanted to be stuffed and placed in the lodge. Unfortunately he was a poor moose and could only afford to have his head stuffed. That's it above the fireplace.

Room Tip: I wasnt inside the cabins but my favorite room in the lodge is the Cross River Suite.
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bill G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2011

My husband, the pooch and I (okay, the mutt didn't get a vote) decided on a somewhat spur of the moment getaway and lucked out in being able to get in - mid week - to Cross River Lodge. We couldn't have done better if we'd planned months in advance. This was our first trip to the North Woods and oh my we'll be back - and we'll stay at Cross River next time too. John and Rose couldn't be better hosts, the location is wonderful, cabin was great... really nothing not to like. Oh and John makes a mean chicken noodle soup!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2011

We stayed in one of the cabins for a wedding that was being held across the lake. Our hosts were charming and the cabin wonderful. Hope to come back next summer with more family for a week instead of a weekend.

Room Tip: Get groceries in Grand Marias before coming...not too much around to purchase.
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Susan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2011

Cross River Lodge was highly recommended to us by dear & trusted friends!!! Little did we know when we made our reservations, the phenomenal destination of the Gunflint trial, we had been directed to!
Until you actually see the Cross River Lodge spectacular views and experience the tranquility & beauty of Gunflint lake and woods... meet the charming & outgoing hosts- John & Rose and Paula and Doug-who do everything to make your trip incredibly memorable... and you have moved into one of the charming and spic and span clean cabins-do you realize..... you have arrived at an incredible destination!!!
And your "stay" is just beginning!!
We had an unexpected health emergency during our stay . Doug, Paula, John and Rose were immediately with us...handling everything calmly and efficiently..and making us feel like family members!! We were so grateful to be with these amazing and warm hearted new friends (and family members) !!! :-)
We loved the warm and cozy lounge with the beautiful stone fireplace!! What a great place to curl up with a good book on a cool day or just to sit and contemplate the strong, courageous
people who settled in this area so many years ago. Be sure to look at the interesting photo book holding beautiful old pictues of the area & settlers. If you need or want any suggestions of where to go..what to see...if you want to hear some good "animal stories" or "fish" stories...ask John, Rose, Paula or Doug. We talked to a someone who had caught a 39 inch/18 pound northern the day before we arrived in Gunflint! They are always available to asnwer your questions...meet your needs for extra towels (or whatever) or direct you to one of the many local sights!
The cabins are charming...very very clean and well stocked for anything you might need! More then eough pillows for each bed...pots, pans and a beautiful grill for the steaks or chicken you might bring or the fish you might catch!! If your lucky..you might get to try some of John & Rose's special " Pig in a Polka" spice!!! Fabulous!!!!!
We can't wait till we're able to return next year!!! Hope to see you there!!!!

Room Tip: Tell them what you need...they'll provide it!! Also preview the beautiful rooms on their web site.
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeanne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johhhhn, Owner at Cross River Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2011

Thanks for your kind review. We are so sorry you had a medical emergency up here during your visit. We are so thankful that we have an excellent volunteer fire and medical response team in the area that provided you with some fast and very good care. We are all hoping for a quick recovery so you can come back to visit us again on the Gunflint!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews