We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This place was a disappointment and the service was terrible!”
Review of Cross River Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Grand Marais
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cross River Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 31, 2011

Was excited to enjoy some family time at Cross River Lodge, but once we arrived, it was a disaster. We rented a pontoon which was in very poor condition and hesitated to even start a few times. When we mentioned it to John (the owner), he became very defensive and blamed us for the condition. Furthermore, the two other boats were in worse conditions! The first one (which we also rented) did not have a night light allowing us to enjoy ourselves pass sun set. The second boat was totally flooded when we got there. It was clear that the boat had some major damages resulting in the overflow of water, but that didn’t stop John from renting it out to another customer after pumping it all out. Overall, it was a terrible vacation and we do not recommend this place to anyone. Their lack of customer service and knowledge about their own personal properties (rental boats/pontoon) were only few contributions to our overall dissatisfaction. Save your money and your vacation for the cabins across the lake; Gunflint Pines or Gunflint Lodge! These were our first choices, but they were booked at the time we looked around.
The cabin itself was decent and the place offered continental breakfast which was actually the only perk about Cross River Lodge. I would not recommend this place to anyone, UNLESS you already have your own boat and looking for a cheap place.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank tripreview01_28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johhhhn, Owner at Cross River Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2011

What a disappointing review. I responded to this reviewer before but it seems she cannot be satisfied. Demands for more and more discounts led to this unfortunate situation and review. I simply had to put my foot down as this family of 17 people packed into one cabin. My mistake for allowing this situation to happen and I'm sorry I did it. We have nice boats but we do not allow boats out after dark so lights are not needed. I feel we were most fair with this group and I'm sorry she feels otherwise.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (155)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

148 - 154 of 155 reviews

Reviewed May 31, 2011

My husband and I stayed in the new cabin, with our 6 year old granddaughter. The lodge and grounds are beautiful. Our two bedrooms cabin was GREAT! Roomy, beautiful decor and furniture, completely furnished. Our granddaughter went down to the lodge every morning for breakfast. Doug was a great host, knowlegeable and friendly. Despite a sprained ankle, he helped my husband load our boat back onto the trailer. Would highly recommend this place to everyone! They have the softest bed I have ever slept on!!!

Room Tip: I highly recommend staying in a cabin.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brendadee924
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2011

We've stayed at the lodge many times for close to ten years. I've been disappointed every time.That is to say every time I have to leave, and go back to work:-) From past hosts Dave and Paula, and now John and Dear Sweet Rose, there is no other place we would stay. You can expect to be treated like true guests in an atmosphere that has something for everyone. Fishing, hiking, wildlife viewing, relaxation. Expect to come away with a renewed sense of how good a vacation can be.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JazztheDog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2010

WOW!!!!!!! What fabulous place. The new owners John & Rose have done an outstanding job fixing up what was already a nice place (Moosehorn Lodge). I called last minute and John went out of his way to make room for us. My wife and I have traveled along the Gunflint Trail many times and usually stay on Gunflint Lake because of the scenery. But in all of our travels "up north" we have never recieved such great hospitality than what we got at Cross River Lodge. The views are great, the people are great and the value is amazing!!! By far, this is the best and most affordable place to stay when visiting Gunflint Lake. We were there in August and are going again in October. This time with some friends to check out one of the new cabins!!! Can't wait!!! Thanks again for a fabulous weekedn getaway!!!

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelinBob76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2010

Stayed here a few years ago and what a change the new owners have made since buying it last fall. Truly northwoods decor done with great taste. Hosts and staff showed us great hospitality and were very knowledgable of the area and what it had to offer. Kept us busy if we wanted to be busy and left us alone we wanted to be left alone. A beautiful location on a fabulous lake. Very nice breakfast in the morning at our leisure. No TV's in the rooms but a big screen in the lodge with Sat. TV to watch the Twins on and keep up with morning news! This place is as relaxing as it gets. No hussle-bussle like another lodge we have stayed at up here. The beds and furniture were all new and were great in our room overlooking the lake with a deck and fireplace. Hosts even had a complimentary BBQ one night that was excellent! Our place at the lake! NICE NICE NICE

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank keylover_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2010

Spent 2 nights and incredibly relaxing days at Moosehorn/CrossRiver Lodge in their brand new cabin last week. So many perks about this place! The cabin was beautiful with hardwood floors, full kitchen, deck, woodstove, firepit, grill etc... Our 13 yr old twin boys fished off the docks and on a little bridge just down from the lodge. Use of canoes was included with the cabin and we had some really nice paddles around the beautiful quiet lake. The owners and staff were very knowledgeable of the area and very attentive without being obtrusive. They kept an eye on us when we were out on the lake canoeing & even came out to pick us up on a boat when a storm rolled in unexpectedly. It is very apparent that they love this place by the excellent upkeep of the property and great treatment of their guests.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CrnaGrnwd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2010

This is a very comfortable, yet rustic lodge setting. Coffee and light breakfast waiting in the morning, hospitable staff is knowledgable about the region. Plan to do some canoeing, fishing and hiking. Plenty to do, despite being "away from it all".

Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
Thank juiceMO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Grand Marais hotels
31.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Superior Inn
Best Western Plus Superior Inn
#2 of 10 in Grand Marais
998 reviews
1.1 mi away
Gunflint Lodge & Outfitters
Gunflint Lodge & Outfitters
#3 of 32 in Grand Marais
269 reviews
30.5 mi away
Aspen Inn
Aspen Inn
#6 of 10 in Grand Marais
70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
29.7 mi away
Thomsonite Beach Inn & Suites
Thomsonite Beach Inn & Suites
#2 of 9 in Grand Marais
102 reviews
31.3 mi away
East Bay Suites
East Bay Suites
#3 of 10 in Grand Marais
300 reviews
31.2 mi away
Aspen Lodge
Aspen Lodge
#8 of 10 in Grand Marais
160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cross River Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cross River Lodge

Address: 196 N Gunflint Lk, Grand Marais, MN 55604-2082 (Formerly Moosehorn Lodge)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Grand Marais
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 32 Specialty Lodging in Grand Marais
Price Range: $115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
John and Rose want to welcome you to our wilderness paradise and find some relaxation. We can point you towards whatever it is you are looking to do...or maybe it's a new adventure for your exploration. Sudbury Meteorite Ejecta field very near lodge. No liquor license but BYOB and it is welcome in the lodge. Come sit by our historic fireplace or on our screened porch and relax...We have suites above the lodge and cabins available. We have a "no surprise" pricing policy. Our price plus sales and lodging tax is the price. NO RESORT OR HIDDEN FEES! Hope to see you soon! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing