We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice Stay With All the Basics Covered”
Review of Mangy Moose Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Grand Marais
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mangy Moose Motel
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Grand Marais
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed July 3, 2014

If a comfortable night's rest amid pleasant surroundings is your goal, you can't miss by staying at the Mangy Moose. It's convenient location permits walking to several restaurants, interesting sights and the harbor area itself. This property has been updated in recent years, but it is maintained so well and cleaned so thoroughly you feel like the room is brand new. The room (#8) we used for two days was modest in size, but had everything we needed. The plumbing worked, the TV was a nice flat screen model and the internet functioned well. It exceeded our expectations and when we get back to Grand Marais we will check here first.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jimbo074
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (528)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

429 - 435 of 528 reviews

Reviewed July 3, 2014

We had to cancel our trip, but by the wat they handled our request, there is no question we will stay there when we can get away. Very accommodating people and treated us as though we were family. Has to be a great place to stay!

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Tomjul777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2014

We stayed two nights here, found the room clean and welcoming. There is a refrigerator in the room, coffee pot, microwave and a full size hair dryer! The rooms are newly remodeled, giving it a new feeling. Close enough to walk to the lake and businesses. The bed was comfortable and we felt safe. The road noise wasn't that bad. We slept fine through it. The price is right, the service friendly, and we would not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Shebamomus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2014

Overall very nice motel. Room number seven appears to be larger, bonus :). Motel is close to liqueur store, 2 grocery stores and multiple restaurants within walking distance. ( hughies tacos) . Would love to stay there again soon.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Matt M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2014

We were so pleased with our stay at the Mangy Moose. It's immaculate, the beds are so comfortable, the coffee great and the hosts are exceptionally accommodating. Dave even brought us two mugs for our coffee! We'd stay again at the Moose in a heartbeat and would certainly recommend it to anyone looking for a comfortable and clean place to stay. Also, road noise is minimal -- absolutely no problem.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Elsa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2014

Vacationing in Grand Marais and staying at the Mangy Moose has become a tradition for us. The rooms are comfortable and well equipped--I really appreciate having a refrigerator and microwave in the room, along with free wi-fi. The motel is conveniently located and is within easy walking distance to the Lake and everything in town. Dave and Don have been excellent hosts: last year, we were in Grand Marais to get married, and to congratulate us, Dave and Don left a card and moose-shaped chocolate in our room. The Mangy Moose is our first choice for lodging in Grand Marais, and we look forward to coming back every year.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Sonya M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2014

The rooms were very nice at this small motel in the heart of town. 2 separate bedrooms gave us room to spread out our stuff. The traffic noise was there, but everything else was excellent. Comfy, great service, and great price. Stay here!!!!!

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hedquist13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grand Marais
0.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Superior Inn
Best Western Plus Superior Inn
#2 of 10 in Grand Marais
998 reviews
0.1 mi away
East Bay Suites
East Bay Suites
#3 of 10 in Grand Marais
299 reviews
0.1 mi away
Aspen Lodge
Aspen Lodge
#8 of 10 in Grand Marais
160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Shoreline Inn
The Shoreline Inn
#9 of 10 in Grand Marais
116 reviews
19.3 mi away
Lutsen Resort on Lake Superior
1.2 mi away
Aspen Inn
Aspen Inn
#6 of 10 in Grand Marais
70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mangy Moose Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mangy Moose Motel

Address: 202 1st Ave E, At Hwy 61, Grand Marais, MN 55604-3128
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Grand Marais
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Grand Marais
Price Range: $79 - $109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mangy Moose Motel is conveniently located just blocks from the harbor and walking distance to the downtown area with its shops, restaurants, bar. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Mangy Moose Hotel Grand Marais

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing