We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“These ARE the best donuts in the world.”

World's Best Donuts
Ranked #1 of 4 Dessert in Grand Marais
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $2
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout
Kingston, Canada
Level Contributor
37 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“These ARE the best donuts in the world.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2013

I have eaten these donuts since the place opened, back when they only offered a couple kinds. Those kinds-plain, sugared and sugar-cinnamon are still my favorites. Had some last summer when we passed through and I must say, nothing has changed except the location and variety of donuts. If you are driving past Grand Marais, stop for these. You need to experience this excellence once in life!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank couplestravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

694 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    522
    119
    46
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“You Haven't Lived Until You Taste These Donuts!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2013

Oh my gosh these donuts are the best things you will ever taste! The workers are friendly, the atmosphere is cozy, the value is great, and the food is AMAZING! Please go here or else your visit to Grand Marais will be a waste; it's that good! I especially like the powdered donuts and the original SKIZZLE, and my family has a thing for the cinnamon ones. Anyway, a must stop!

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank winter-is-coming789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Huge Thumb's up from my family.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2013

Having had my first job as a teenager in a donut shop, I don't eat them much. But my family craves sweets, so the lure of the smell of frying donuts was too much for them to resist! I came out of a store to look for them, and found all 3 of them stuffing their faces with fresh, hot donuts. They were in a donut-induced, sugary coated daze! We'll be back!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank FionaMcGier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Webster, Minnesota
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“World's Best Donuts? Oh yeah!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2013

You have not been to Grand Marais until you have stopped by this quaint donut shop. It is an institution. Make sure that you get there early because they close if they run out of their scrumptious baked goods. Spend some time in their intimate dining area.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank GlacierGirl16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duluth, Minnesota
Level Contributor
68 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“I'm drooling just thinking about it”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2013

All I have to say is that these truly were the world's best donuts, and this place is a definite when in Grand Marais.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SansaM1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed World's Best Donuts also viewed

 

Been to World's Best Donuts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing