We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Yes, they ARE great!”

World's Best Donuts
Ranked #1 of 4 Dessert in Grand Marais
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $2
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Local cuisine, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Breakfast, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout
Chandler, AZ
Level Contributor
91 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Yes, they ARE great!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2012

We never miss this place in Grand Marais. If you're in Grand Marais after early Oct, tough cookies for you as they close for the winter. Yes, they are some of the best donuts I've ever eaten! I had a cinnamony thing that was kinda like a roll only flaky on the outside. And I had a chocolate cake. Both melt in your mouth good! Coffee's great too! Check out the photos in the (miniscule) dining room. It's covered with pix of patrons & their "World's Best Donut" coffee mugs all around the world: Great Wall of China, Grand Canyon, Eiffel Tower, Hawaii, Big Ben in London, Sydney Operahouse, etc... It's a hoot! Heed what the other reviewers have said, though & get there early...they do sell out of their most popular items. Worth rolling out of bed for any day!!!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hockeymom59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

694 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    522
    119
    46
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Accurately named”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012

Yes, the are the World's Best donuts! Get there early. The walk-up window opens at 4:30 AM. We wait for the coffee room to open a 7:30 so that we can see the display of donuts to choose from. Always order more than you think you'll eat. Check the website or FB - it's seasonal. Once the donuts sell out, they close!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank JaneandRogerHolm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, Ohio
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The name says it all!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

There's not much I can say because the name already says it all. They really do have the best donuts I've tasted! You really need to run by here if you're in the area.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank becreyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
29 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good Donuts at a Good Price”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

I am going to say off the bat, as a donut connoisseur, these are not the World's Best Donuts. However, they are pretty good. You can tell that they are made fresh, and the prices are very reasonable. They don't have a whole lot of variety of flavors, but what they do have, they do well. My only issue is the hours they keep; I can eat a donut at any hour of the day, but they are pretty much closing up shop by 3pm.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kelsey C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Cloud, Minnesota
2 reviews
“Atmosphere!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2012

Just like church lady donuts where I come from, home made goodness! Reasonable pricing and the glazed donut is to die for, coffee was so So

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bfunkygal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed World's Best Donuts also viewed

 

Been to World's Best Donuts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing