We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“They claim to have the world's best donuts....They got no argument from me.”

World's Best Donuts
Ranked #1 of 4 Dessert in Grand Marais
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $2
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast
Mattoon, Illinois
Level Contributor
581 reviews
505 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 316 helpful votes
“They claim to have the world's best donuts....They got no argument from me.”
Reviewed June 29, 2011

Our Minnesota vacation in May included a two day stay in Grand Marais - our fourth visit to this picturesque village over the past ten years. We have made it a point to stop at the World's Best Donuts each time - including twice on this visit.

Their recipe seems to be: provide really good pastries in a friendly manner at a fair price. The place has what some would describe as a cult following. Be sure to write your name and town where you live on the list as they keep track of where their patrons come from each year. And the walls and tables have dozens, if not hundreds of photographs of patrons holding a World's Best Donut coffee cup in locations literally all over the world!

The cost of a couple donuts and something to drink for two people will run you seven bucks or so, including tax and gratuity.

The words of General Douglas MacArthur when departing the Phillippine Islands seem appropriate here: "I shall return".

  • Visited May 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank joan&mike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

711 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    537
    120
    47
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City, Kansas
Level Contributor
44 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Absolutely the best donuts on the planet !”
Reviewed June 9, 2011

We had several varieties for breakfast and they were all equally delicious ! Inexpensive, friendly service. The chocolate-knot donuts were a favorite for us. You definitely have to stop here if in the Grand Marais area.

  • Visited June 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LoveMaineLighthouses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fargo, North Dakota
Level Contributor
214 reviews
129 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“They really are the BEST!”
Reviewed March 4, 2011

We stopped here due to recommendations on the town website and also our hotel and were glad we did! Get there early for best selection as they can run out of donuts by mid-afternoon. They are just like grandma used to make, WONDERFUL! If you go to Grand Marais you need to stop at this cozy little donut shop, it will take you back in time.

  • Visited June 2010
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank radtech4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Ulm, MN
Level Contributor
65 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“yep they are the best”
Reviewed October 14, 2010

Went here for breakfast one morning with my husband and their doughnuts were amazing! The coffee is just so so so maybe get that somewhere else but man the doughnuts alone were worth it! Tip-they only take cash or checks-no credit cards

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jamimarie13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Try to eat only one”
Reviewed October 11, 2010

Some of the best donuts I've ever had, I ordered one chocolate cake and knew after one bite i would back in for another. The people were very friendly and i thought even more so after i realized they had closed about 30min prior to our arrival. I wont pass through grand marais without stopping for one ever again.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cadillactraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed World's Best Donuts also viewed

 

Been to World's Best Donuts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing