We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good choice”

Sydney's Frozen Custard
Ranked #2 of 4 Dessert in Grand Marais
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $20
Cuisines: Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Outdoor Seating
Description: We serve Wood Fired Pizza, beer & wine in addition to our Vienna Hot Dogs, Gyros, Salads, Frozen Custard- milk shakes & malts, our very own Sydnami. We also have an espresso bar and fabulous sundaes! We have vegetarian options.
San Antonio, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Good choice”
Reviewed August 14, 2014

As a budget-minded traveler, I was dumbstruck at the cost of the groceries in this small isolated town. With this in mind, it made our evening out easier to swallow. We chose Sydney's based upon the other positive reviews. It was a good choice. The restaurant was busy, which we didn't mind. If anything, it confirms that the restaurant served good food. We stood in a long line just long enough to look at the menus that are written on the walls. For our family of 4 we ordered a pepperoni pizza and 2 salads. We then came back and got deserts later. The pizza is as good as any I've had before. The salads were hearty. To be fair, a teenage boy could easily eat a whole pizza himself. All pizzas come with thin crust, and this allows for quick baking. It is a small restaurant, and they have to get the food out quickly in order to accommodate the customer load that they handle. God bless those young girls they have working there, because they were BUSY. They do have an extensive menu for toppings and they also serve more than enough alcohol in my honest opinion. If we went out to eat again while in town, then it would be difficult to not pick Sydney's

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hipntrippy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    129
    67
    14
    8
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A little messy but awesome!”
Reviewed August 14, 2014

It was a hot day when we ordered waffle cones so it got a little messy! Despite the custard dripping down our hands it was the best I gave ever tasted. We didn't have food but what we saw others ordering looked very interesting.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Caramella51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota, USA
Level 6 Contributor
276 reviews
203 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
“great value and view”
Reviewed August 12, 2014

The unassuming appearance of this place might make you think twice. Don't bother thinking... just stop in and enjoy. I've had pizzas, gyros, hot dogs, and custard. All are well worth the stop. The value here is great, the rooftop dining view is outstanding, and the street side seating is great for people watching.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MinnTraveler3693
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elk Grove Village IL
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Best view in Grand Marais”
Reviewed August 9, 2014

We came back three times to this place. It is right on the beach and has the best people-watching view! We had the hummus, which was awesome. The beer selection is great- had Bent Paddle which you can only enjoy in No. Minn. Wine selection also very good. You can sit on the rooftop and enjoy the view. We had the wood fired pizza twice! Delicious and different varieties!!! The apple pizza was delightful and so different! One time we stopped in for the ice cream and watched the dogs playing in the surf. This is a great spot and beautiful place to take pictures.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan6521
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thunder Bay, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent wood fired pizza”
Reviewed July 30, 2014

Very good pizza...great selection, or custom make your own. Quickly made too, not much of a wait. Steps from downtown and a fun place to people watch with everyone walking around in the evenings. Highly recommended.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank canucktracy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sydney's Frozen Custard also viewed

 

Been to Sydney's Frozen Custard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing