We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“"Hit or Miss?"” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sydney's Frozen Custard

Sydney's Frozen Custard
Ranked #2 of 4 Dessert in Grand Marais
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $20
Cuisines: American, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Scenic view, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: We serve Wood Fired Pizza, in addition to our Vienna Hot Dogs, Gyros, Salads, Frozen Custard- milk shakes & malts, our very own Sydnami. We also have an espressso bar and fabulous sundaes! We have vegetarian options. We offer BREAKFAST on Fri, Sat, Sun & Mon from 8am-11am. The rest of our menu 11am- close.
Osceola, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
30 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“"Hit or Miss?"”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

The first time we had the pizza it was very good!!! The custard is good, but too expensive we thought for the small portion. We went back just about a month later and the pizza was much greasier and lacking in the great basil flavor we had the first time. It's not the cheapest for so so pizza either. We'll maybe give it another try since the second visit there was a different cook.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Shannon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    125
    66
    12
    8
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Convenient casual dining”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

Greek salads and pita sandwiches are tasty and a great bargain. We really like the frozen custard--vanilla and chocolate only, but tons of add-ons and toppings. We didn't have the pizza, but heard many positive comments. Window service and outside dining only, but waits are short and meals can be taken down by the lake or back to your room. Good prices.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank MinnMel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington Illinois
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013

People were lined up almost every time I went by. I finally got there for a delicious gyro and took it upstairs and enjoyed the beautiful view of the bay with their outdoor dining. I'm just sorry I couldn't get back for their frozen custard or brick oven pizza. It looked fantastic. Next Time.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank scot2_200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eagan, Minnesota, United States
Level Contributor
71 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Phenomenal view, great food!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2013

You really can't go wrong relaxing with a wood-fired pizza and some frozen custard. Add on a spectacular view of Lake Superior while you're enjoying the food and you've got a local treasure! The only thing that would make this better is a nice glass of wine!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Heidi H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
34 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Frozen Custard and wood fired pizza”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2013

Nice self serve stand with outside seating on roof or on patio, both overlooking Lake Superior. Soft serve frozen custard in cones, sundaes, etc. A variety of wood fired pizza choices, along with salads.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank RussBock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sydney's Frozen Custard also viewed

 

Been to Sydney's Frozen Custard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing