We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Winter hiking”

Judge C.R. Magney State Park
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A good example of Minnesota's North Shore wilderness with waterfalls, forests and wildlife.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
46 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Winter hiking”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2014

We had planned on snowshoeing but the trail was tamped down so we opted to hike. We went up to the falls. The trail in was largely uphill and beautiful, quiet and serene. Saw several woodpeckers but unfortunately no owls. Would love to return and do this in another season!!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank citycat60640
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    170
    51
    4
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Beautiful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2013 via mobile

Love the hike we do it every year for ten years well worth the sweat or rain :) we hope to continue to hike there alot of stairs, not a big fan of the camping grounds but the rest rooms , are kept up very well and easy to take a shower

Helpful?
Thank Susan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Marais, Minnesota
Level Contributor
153 reviews
62 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“River Mystery”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2013

Discover the Devil's Kettle and how it swallows half a river that disappears forever. Easy trails along Brule river bring you to this mystery of mother nature. Excellent campsites close to Lake Superior. Nanibijou lodge is right acoss the road for a wonderful dining experience in a unique Lake Superior lodge.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mr_PeteBurnsville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mankato, Minnesota
Level Contributor
38 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Not as nice as some state parks”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2013

The scenery Is very nice but the facilities are lacking compared to many of Minnesota State Parks. Picnic area is part of parking lot and trail to the falls Is quite steep. Did not go to camping area so can't say anything about it.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ronald T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kasson, Minnesota
Level Contributor
107 reviews
52 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Awesome hike!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2013

Love hiking to Devil's Kettle, but it is a difficult hike, not for everyone. There are lots of stairs and the trails are maintained well, but it isn't an easy hike. We have always thought it was worth it, once we see the water pouring out of the river.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Judge C.R. Magney State Park also viewed

 

Been to Judge C.R. Magney State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing