We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic View” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pincushion Mountain Trail System

Pincushion Mountain Trail System
Roseau, Minnesota
Level Contributor
76 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Fantastic View”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

I am no longer able to walk trails, but the short drive off the Gunflint Trail (Cook County # 12) brought us to a trailhead/lookout parking area. All I coudl say was WOW!

The view overlooking Grand Marais and Lake Superior virtually takes your breath away. That view, by the way, is even more stunning at daybreak and at dusk. Make ure you have your camera ready.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Louis H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    8
    1
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Awsome”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I went up here for our honeymoon last year it was awsome great view of the town we ste going back thos year i cant wait

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank jschirmers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mill City, Oregon
Level Contributor
161 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Hike, bike, ski... it's all there at Pincushion”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

Pick your activity any time of year... you can do it all at Pincushion. And a great overlook and view of Grand Marais and Lake Superior. Worth a few minutes or all day.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank SelwaySteward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Breezy Point, Minnesota
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good Morning Hike”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

We started out right away in the morning and spent a few hours hiking up to the Pincushion Mtn. Overlook. It was a beautiful hike with well maintained trails. It was a bit wet due to heavy (5") downpour a few nights before and little confusing on where the trail started. If you just go due north you will get to an open clearing and on the other side the trails will start. Hiking all the way out on the overlook is the way to go because then you get the best views of the lake, Grand Marias, and the woods.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tasha G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis,MN
Level Contributor
85 reviews
50 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“what a view!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

Beautiful area. We went up there to snowshoe and enjoyed the afternoon. A great area for crosscountry skiing too.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank gingadventure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pincushion Mountain Trail System also viewed

 

Been to Pincushion Mountain Trail System? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing