We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Loon Lake Lodge
Nearby Hotels
Aspen Lodge(Grand Marais)
$99
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
East Bay Suites(Grand Marais)(Great Value!)
$150
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Plus Superior Inn(Grand Marais)(Great Value!)
$117
BestWestern.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Aspen Inn(Grand Marais)
$65
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Shoreline Inn(Grand Marais)
$99
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$125
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mangy Moose Motel(Grand Marais)(Great Value!)
$89
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Feather Nest Inn(Grand Marais)
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Spruceglen Inn(Grand Marais)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (96)
Filter reviews
96 results
Traveler rating
92
3
0
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
92
3
0
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsswedish pancakespontoon boatwalleyeget awaypaddle boardsnew ownerslingonberry sauceandrea providedgunflint trailcozy cabinnorth woodssatellite tvberry pickinglate augustwonderful hostsgreat hiking trailsfire pit
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
90 - 95 of 96 reviews
Reviewed April 6, 2012

We stayed at Loon Lake Lodge this winter. They only have one cabin in the winter and it was amazing. The perfect balance of rustic charm from the 70 year old cabin with the sleeping comforts of a luxury hotel. Owners, Tom and Terry have furnished the bedrooms with exceptional matresses and linens that make you never want to crawl out of bed. But if you do there are plenty of places to go hiking using the snowshoes provided with the cabin. Or if your the type that would prefer staying in reading by the fire this is the place for you. With the firewood pile provided just feet from the front door and a great view of the lake through the picture window (not to mention the active bird house just outside the window) all you need to do is start the coffee and get your book. Personally I think winter is the perfect time to visit Loon Lake Lodge because of having only the one cabin available you feel like there is no one around for miles.Can't wait to make this trip again for a longer visit.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Sobek70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2011

This was the second year I stayed at Loon Lake Lodge with my husband and his family. We had very different weather each time but still had plenty to do. The first night there we were warmly greeted by the owners and got settled in. During our time there we took hikes to Crab Lake and up the road, went fishing, played games in the main lodge, had wonderful dinners and breakfasts prepared by the owners each day; and thoroughly enjoyed the peace and quiet to ourselves in our cabins. One morning I woke at 4:45am and only had to open my eyes to watch the sunrise over the Loon Lake from the comfort of my bed (one of numerous advantages -the views everywhere!). I cannot wait to come back to stay again. Gracious hosts, beautiful surroundings and a lot of time to do whatever interests you. Terry and Tom will make you feel very welcomed!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Amber V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2010

Me and my husband decided to rent a cabin and do something different this year for vacation. I had talked with Tom(the owner) a few times before we had decided to book the cabin for a week. He had set our mind at ease.
The cabins were very quaint and very clean!! It was perfect for us!! The bed was comfortable and it had everything furnished in the kitchen that we needed.
We rented the cabin during a week of a cold front, so we were only able to go fishing a couple days. The couple days that we did go, we caught enough to eat, and it was awesome!!!
The nights were cold, but amazing sitting on the deck, listening to the wolves and elk!!!!
Loon Lake is the perfect getaway if you want to get away for society!! No phones, tv or lots of people!! It was an experience that we will definetely do again!
Tom and Terry were great hosts. If you needed anything, they were there!
We traved around to some of the other resorts and they all seemed busy and noisy, Loon Lake is very peaceful and relaxing. We highly recommend it and will be visiting it again real soon!!!!

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank bschnede
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2010

We thoroughly enjoyed our two days here and wish it could have been for longer. Tom and Terry and wonderful people who make you feel so very welcome and can't do enough for you. The location on the lake is superb and the atmosphere wonderful.

The cabins are charming and rustic, which is how they are meant to be - our cabin was cute, cozy, very clean and comfortable; the bathroom was new and the bed very comfy. Breakfast in the lodge was tasty and filling (you must try the pancakes!) and set us up for the day.

We just loved it and if ever back in the area would stay nowhere else.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank mummabear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2010

English (ver abajo para comentarios en español)
I grew up in Minnesota, but it had been over 15 years since I returned to the Gunflint area. We were not disappointed with our choice of lodgings! Much of the area burned in 2007, but this lodge and its immediate surrounding area was completely untouched.

Tom and Terry (the owners) are incredibly nice, wonderful people. They gave us lots of hints about where to hike and were so helpful to us...Tom even showed us how to light the grill for supper one night! We had a delicious Walleye dinner at the lodge as well. It was peaceful and beautiful. The view of the lake from our cabin was breath taking and the sound of the loon's call was haunting in a serene beautiful way. The amount of animals and birds hanging around is a good indication of the !spirit" of Loon Lake. On the property we saw a small black bear and an incredible Bald Eagle. We were thrilled with just about everything.
The cabins themselves are spartan, clean and very functional. Doors swing shut to avoid bugs getting in but have a magnet to hold them open. The kitchen is full- everything you need. On the deck there's a grill. We only found one tiny spider in the whole cabin!
A heartfelt strong recommendation! A few of the best days we have ever had on vacation!

Español:
La mejor decisión que tomamos en este viaje fue ir a Loon Lake Lodge. La zona ardió en 2007, pero las instalaciones y area alreadedor de las cabañas no fueron afectados. Es una propiedad preciosa, sileciosa, tranquila, y serena. Vimos una cantidad de pájaros, ardillas, animalitos, loons (el pato oficial de Minnesota que canta por la noche- pone los pelos de punta!) UN OSOS, y una aguila real pescando.

Los propietarios son personas amables y estupendas! Tom y Terry nos trataron con mucho cariño y nos ayudaron con todo lo que hicimos. Tom cocina de fábula- comimos el mejor Walleye (pescado de la zona) que había probado jamás.

Las cabañas son espartanas y muy limpias. La cocina es completa- muy cómoda. Hay una barbacoa en el porche, donde por la noche ves las estrellas y escuchas los loons cantando en el lago. Impresionante. Muy relajante, ideal unos 3 días románticos. Hay mucho que hacer en la zona...sólo tiene que preguntarles a Tom y Terry!

Altamente recomendado- de toda corazón.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AmyOlsonSpain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews