We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Great experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Trailside Cabins and Motel

Trailside Cabins and Motel
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Grand Marais
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Trailside Cabins and Motel
Save
You added Trailside Cabins and Motel to your Saves list
Box 155, Grand Marais, MN 55604   |  
Hotel amenities
Des Moines, Iowa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2010

We stayed here on August 3-4 in cabin #5. This is the closest one to the office building, yet back in the woods by the trail into town.

It was the hottest it's been in a long time in Grand Marais, and the cabins were HOT! Fortunately, there were lots of windows and a fan. We also brought our own fan. Be aware of this. It really cooled down quickly at night and made for great sleeping weather.

The cabins were quaint with a rustic feel. Ours had an apple theme, which was cute because the quilt on the bed, curtains, towels, etc. all had apples on them.

There is a tiny bathroom with a shower. The stool is so close to the wall we had to sit sideways. LOL! But, it was nice to have right there.

There was also a small fridge, stove, and microwave, as well as plates, cups, silverware etc. to eat at your own table.

My husband enjoyed the HBO on the flatscreen tv!

The lady and daughter that checked us in and out were simply delightful.

I would definitely stay again!

Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank WHtraveler10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    12
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
7
15
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bullhead City, Arizona
Level Contributor
63 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2010

We loved the fact that this is a family owned business. It is very charming and cozy, we had "Kari's Cabin" it is perfect for a romantic getaway, queen bed and fireplace, and I picked fresh raspberries for breakfest rigth outside the door.
Will definetly stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gina503
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2009

Trailside Cabins is a charming resort located right on Hwy 61 within walking distance of North House Folk School and the main street of Grand Marais. If you are looking for luxury, this is not your place. However, if you seek a comfortable cabin, surrounded by trees, near Lake Superior, and a peaceful environment, then you should stay at Trailside. Jessie and Kyle Anderson are the managers and are as sweet as can be.
Four of stayed in one of the cabins, cooked many of our meals, had a separate bed to ourselves (we did bring one inflatable mattress) and every morning we all enjoyed a hot shower. We love Trailside and have already made reservations for 2010. We are all low maintenance women but still managed to apply lipstick before leaving the cabin.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ZazuMinnesota
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2009

We stayed at Trailside Cabins in Grand Marais over the 4th of July weekend. When we arrived, we were delighted to walk into a clean, cute, well appointed cabin. Not only were there lovely quilts on the beds (compliments of the quilt shop attached to the office), but there was dish soap , dish cloths, and towels for the little kitchenette. We had friends over a few times and there were plenty of dishes and silver for all. There was even a board game and a puzzle in the room. Comfortable Adirondack type chairs encircled the fire ring right outside our front door. We spent a lovely evening and a couple of mornings out by that fire ring. There is also a trail that takes you down toward the lake, skirts the public campground and opens to a secluded cove--all a 5 minute walk from the cabin. Our daughter decided to have some friends stay over and we had plenty of room for all when used the living room futon. We had all this for only $90/night. The staff is cheerful and helpful. We will go back to Trailside every time we are on the North Shore.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Norskishore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, MN
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2009

We got the last available room in the Grand Marais area and we know why-----the room had an odor. It was probably the old brown carpet and the fact they allow pets. The bathroom had such little water pressure it made a shower impossible. The screen doors on the units slammed loudly everytime our neighbors would come & go. There is a fire pit on the grounds that fed smoke into our unit (no air-conditioning, so our windows had to be open). Bedding was thin and old. The rate was low, but still felt we paid way too much.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PillHillers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grand Marais
0.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Plus Superior Inn & Suites
0.9 mi away
Aspen Lodge
Aspen Lodge
#6 of 11 in Grand Marais
3.5 of 5 stars 119 reviews
0.8 mi away
East Bay Suites
East Bay Suites
#3 of 11 in Grand Marais
4.5 of 5 stars 238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Shoreline Inn
The Shoreline Inn
#9 of 11 in Grand Marais
3.0 of 5 stars 88 reviews
18.5 mi away
Lutsen Resort on Lake Superior
0.7 mi away
Cobblestone Cove Villas
Cobblestone Cove Villas
#11 of 31 in Grand Marais
4.5 of 5 stars 47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trailside Cabins and Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trailside Cabins and Motel

Property: Trailside Cabins and Motel
Address: Box 155, Grand Marais, MN 55604
Location: United States > Minnesota > Grand Marais
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 31 Specialty Lodging in Grand Marais
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Retro (circa 1950's) cottages and motel rooms. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing