We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“They treat customers right!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Trailside Cabins and Motel

Trailside Cabins and Motel
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Grand Marais
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Trailside Cabins and Motel
Save
You added Trailside Cabins and Motel to your Saves list
Park Falls, Wisconsin, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“They treat customers right!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

After having stayed at a couple other Mom and Pop motels during the week, we had one night left and no reservations. We made a few stops (one priced too high; one couldn't find the owner) before stopping at the Trailside. It was a great choice. The owner's son greeted us and immediately let his dad know that we were here for a cabin. Dad came out and was very personable and accommodating. We were in cabin #16. Charming is the best word to describe it. No air conditioning - which isn't usually needed in Grand Marais - but great air circulation with awesome windows on all sides. There was a seasonal cabin odor, but it wasn't mildewy or anything - in fact, it was very clean and well kept. The bathroom was very small and the shower extremely small (so if you're a big person keep this in mind ;o). Plenty of television channels - no phone. The kitchen was well supplied for a cabin. The bedroom was very small, but the bed was comfortable and the quilt was great. Oh yes! If you think you entered a quilt shop rather than a motel office...STAY - you're in the right place. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kristyn Dave T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    14
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
7
16
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Twin Cities
Level Contributor
74 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

We stayed in Kari's cabin, more like a studio apartment, and it was very comfortable. It rained for 2 of our 4 days there. Great selection of TV channels and good rainy day things to do in the area. The only complaint I have is that the Lake Trail was a little harder to maneuver than I thought, but I don't think they're really responsible for that.

Room Tip: Their website doesn't seem to have a property map, so if you go, you're kinda guessing what...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Milesb1213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larimore, North Dakota
Level Contributor
72 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2011

We stayed at Trailside one night in early June. Our motel room was really more cabin style, but that is what we wanted in the first place. We got rooms 14 and 15. Very unique layout, they took two rooms and connected them with a door that closes. In one half there is a queen bed, small table dresser and the bathroom. In the other half there are two twin beds (excellent for traveling with a girl/boy teenage combination!!) a smaller tv, dresser, and they converted the bathroom on that side to a small kitchen, with a small fridge, microwave and sink. Ideal for family travel!! I wish more places would make this kind of combo room. It gave the kids seperate beds, us parents some privacy, and the kitchen was great for heating up leftover from supper the night before for breakfast! The rooms were quiet clean and comfortable. The quilts made the rooms look so cozy. My only (very mild) complaint might be the old carpet, but it was clean, and in a cabin who cares, I was just glad it HAD carpet, I hate wooden floors. Our room rate for this combo was only 82$, a great price for Saturday night in a tourism area.

Room Tip: If you have teenagers this room combo is awesome!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sonadorcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Circle Pines, Minnesota
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2010

We stayed at 2 different cabins at trailside from Aug 11 and Aug 15 (2 nites in each). We were in # 16 for the first two nites and # 5 the last two. The only real difference between the two cabins is cabin # 16 has a separate bedroom (# 5 is a single room cabin). Also cabin # 5 is closer to the main house, however seemed a bit more private (# 16 was closer to other units). Both cabins have all the amenities expected in a housekeeping cabin. Stove, Microwave, towels, silverware, utensils, etc all provided. Even flat screen tv's with more channels that you would expect. There are even gas grills scattered about for use. If you want to go to Grand Marais, be close enough to town (within walking distance), yet seem you are further away, then check this place out ! We will not hesitate to stay here again and also will spread the word to others who we know are going up the shore.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WilmaBP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, Iowa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2010

We stayed here on August 3-4 in cabin #5. This is the closest one to the office building, yet back in the woods by the trail into town.

It was the hottest it's been in a long time in Grand Marais, and the cabins were HOT! Fortunately, there were lots of windows and a fan. We also brought our own fan. Be aware of this. It really cooled down quickly at night and made for great sleeping weather.

The cabins were quaint with a rustic feel. Ours had an apple theme, which was cute because the quilt on the bed, curtains, towels, etc. all had apples on them.

There is a tiny bathroom with a shower. The stool is so close to the wall we had to sit sideways. LOL! But, it was nice to have right there.

There was also a small fridge, stove, and microwave, as well as plates, cups, silverware etc. to eat at your own table.

My husband enjoyed the HBO on the flatscreen tv!

The lady and daughter that checked us in and out were simply delightful.

I would definitely stay again!

Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank WHtraveler10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bullhead City, Arizona
Level Contributor
67 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2010

We loved the fact that this is a family owned business. It is very charming and cozy, we had "Kari's Cabin" it is perfect for a romantic getaway, queen bed and fireplace, and I picked fresh raspberries for breakfest rigth outside the door.
Will definetly stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gina503
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2009

Trailside Cabins is a charming resort located right on Hwy 61 within walking distance of North House Folk School and the main street of Grand Marais. If you are looking for luxury, this is not your place. However, if you seek a comfortable cabin, surrounded by trees, near Lake Superior, and a peaceful environment, then you should stay at Trailside. Jessie and Kyle Anderson are the managers and are as sweet as can be.
Four of stayed in one of the cabins, cooked many of our meals, had a separate bed to ourselves (we did bring one inflatable mattress) and every morning we all enjoyed a hot shower. We love Trailside and have already made reservations for 2010. We are all low maintenance women but still managed to apply lipstick before leaving the cabin.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ZazuMinnesota
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grand Marais
0.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Plus Superior Inn & Suites
0.8 mi away
East Bay Suites
East Bay Suites
#3 of 11 in Grand Marais
4.5 of 5 stars 250 reviews
0.9 mi away
Aspen Lodge
Aspen Lodge
#9 of 11 in Grand Marais
3.0 of 5 stars 137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Shoreline Inn
The Shoreline Inn
#10 of 11 in Grand Marais
3.0 of 5 stars 96 reviews
18.5 mi away
Lutsen Resort on Lake Superior
0.8 mi away
Mangy Moose Motel
Mangy Moose Motel
#1 of 11 in Grand Marais
5.0 of 5 stars 342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trailside Cabins and Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trailside Cabins and Motel

Property: Trailside Cabins and Motel
Address: Box 155, Grand Marais, MN 55604-0155
Location: United States > Minnesota > Grand Marais
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 32 Specialty Lodging in Grand Marais
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Retro (circa 1950's) cottages and motel rooms. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing