We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great room style for family”

Trailside Cabins and Motel
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Grand Marais
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Trailside Cabins and Motel
Reviewed June 6, 2011

We stayed at Trailside one night in early June. Our motel room was really more cabin style, but that is what we wanted in the first place. We got rooms 14 and 15. Very unique layout, they took two rooms and connected them with a door that closes. In one half there is a queen bed, small table dresser and the bathroom. In the other half there are two twin beds (excellent for traveling with a girl/boy teenage combination!!) a smaller tv, dresser, and they converted the bathroom on that side to a small kitchen, with a small fridge, microwave and sink. Ideal for family travel!! I wish more places would make this kind of combo room. It gave the kids seperate beds, us parents some privacy, and the kitchen was great for heating up leftover from supper the night before for breakfast! The rooms were quiet clean and comfortable. The quilts made the rooms look so cozy. My only (very mild) complaint might be the old carpet, but it was clean, and in a cabin who cares, I was just glad it HAD carpet, I hate wooden floors. Our room rate for this combo was only 82$, a great price for Saturday night in a tourism area.

Room Tip: If you have teenagers this room combo is awesome!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sonadorcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (33)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

26 - 32 of 33 reviews

Reviewed August 17, 2010

We stayed at 2 different cabins at trailside from Aug 11 and Aug 15 (2 nites in each). We were in # 16 for the first two nites and # 5 the last two. The only real difference between the two cabins is cabin # 16 has a separate bedroom (# 5 is a single room cabin). Also cabin # 5 is closer to the main house, however seemed a bit more private (# 16 was closer to other units). Both cabins have all the amenities expected in a housekeeping cabin. Stove, Microwave, towels, silverware, utensils, etc all provided. Even flat screen tv's with more channels that you would expect. There are even gas grills scattered about for use. If you want to go to Grand Marais, be close enough to town (within walking distance), yet seem you are further away, then check this place out ! We will not hesitate to stay here again and also will spread the word to others who we know are going up the shore.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WilmaBP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2010

We stayed here on August 3-4 in cabin #5. This is the closest one to the office building, yet back in the woods by the trail into town.

It was the hottest it's been in a long time in Grand Marais, and the cabins were HOT! Fortunately, there were lots of windows and a fan. We also brought our own fan. Be aware of this. It really cooled down quickly at night and made for great sleeping weather.

The cabins were quaint with a rustic feel. Ours had an apple theme, which was cute because the quilt on the bed, curtains, towels, etc. all had apples on them.

There is a tiny bathroom with a shower. The stool is so close to the wall we had to sit sideways. LOL! But, it was nice to have right there.

There was also a small fridge, stove, and microwave, as well as plates, cups, silverware etc. to eat at your own table.

My husband enjoyed the HBO on the flatscreen tv!

The lady and daughter that checked us in and out were simply delightful.

I would definitely stay again!

Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
1  Thank WHtraveler10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2010

We loved the fact that this is a family owned business. It is very charming and cozy, we had "Kari's Cabin" it is perfect for a romantic getaway, queen bed and fireplace, and I picked fresh raspberries for breakfest rigth outside the door.
Will definetly stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gina503
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2009

Trailside Cabins is a charming resort located right on Hwy 61 within walking distance of North House Folk School and the main street of Grand Marais. If you are looking for luxury, this is not your place. However, if you seek a comfortable cabin, surrounded by trees, near Lake Superior, and a peaceful environment, then you should stay at Trailside. Jessie and Kyle Anderson are the managers and are as sweet as can be.
Four of stayed in one of the cabins, cooked many of our meals, had a separate bed to ourselves (we did bring one inflatable mattress) and every morning we all enjoyed a hot shower. We love Trailside and have already made reservations for 2010. We are all low maintenance women but still managed to apply lipstick before leaving the cabin.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ZazuMinnesota
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2009

We stayed at Trailside Cabins in Grand Marais over the 4th of July weekend. When we arrived, we were delighted to walk into a clean, cute, well appointed cabin. Not only were there lovely quilts on the beds (compliments of the quilt shop attached to the office), but there was dish soap , dish cloths, and towels for the little kitchenette. We had friends over a few times and there were plenty of dishes and silver for all. There was even a board game and a puzzle in the room. Comfortable Adirondack type chairs encircled the fire ring right outside our front door. We spent a lovely evening and a couple of mornings out by that fire ring. There is also a trail that takes you down toward the lake, skirts the public campground and opens to a secluded cove--all a 5 minute walk from the cabin. Our daughter decided to have some friends stay over and we had plenty of room for all when used the living room futon. We had all this for only $90/night. The staff is cheerful and helpful. We will go back to Trailside every time we are on the North Shore.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Norskishore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2009

We got the last available room in the Grand Marais area and we know why-----the room had an odor. It was probably the old brown carpet and the fact they allow pets. The bathroom had such little water pressure it made a shower impossible. The screen doors on the units slammed loudly everytime our neighbors would come & go. There is a fire pit on the grounds that fed smoke into our unit (no air-conditioning, so our windows had to be open). Bedding was thin and old. The rate was low, but still felt we paid way too much.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank PillHillers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Grand Marais hotels
0.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Superior Inn
Best Western Plus Superior Inn
#2 of 10 in Grand Marais
986 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Shoreline Inn
The Shoreline Inn
#9 of 10 in Grand Marais
115 reviews
0.9 mi away
Aspen Lodge
Aspen Lodge
#8 of 10 in Grand Marais
158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
29.7 mi away
Gunflint Lodge & Outfitters
Gunflint Lodge & Outfitters
#5 of 32 in Grand Marais
262 reviews
5.5 mi away
Skyport Lodge
Skyport Lodge
#17 of 32 in Grand Marais
4 reviews
5 mi away
Thomsonite Beach Inn & Suites
Thomsonite Beach Inn & Suites
#3 of 9 in Grand Marais
99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trailside Cabins and Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trailside Cabins and Motel

Address: Box 155, Grand Marais, MN 55604-0155
Location: United States > Minnesota > Grand Marais
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 32 Specialty Lodging in Grand Marais
Price Range: $40 - $70 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Retro (circa 1950's) cottages and motel rooms. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing