We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful Lake; Comfortable Cabins; Great Staff!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gunflint Lodge & Outfitters

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Gunflint Lodge & Outfitters
Certificate of Excellence
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Beautiful Lake; Comfortable Cabins; Great Staff!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2010

My husband, 14-year old, 10-year old and I just returned from a one-week stay at Gunflint Lodge. We had a fabulous time! We hiked, kayaked, canoed, fished and ate some wonderful meals.

We stayed in a Gunflint Lake Home -- rustic decor but all of the comforts of home (shower, comfy beds) and then some ( whirlpool tub and sauna.) The location was beautiful -- you really seem to be in the back woods even though you are only steps away from a bed, shower and a restaurant with a continuous supply of cookies and coffee.

The staff was fantastic. Dave, who leads the kids' fishing trips, did a great job with the kids! He took them out for a couple hours on a motor boat, they caught some fish, he cleaned the fish while the kids watched and then delivered it to the restaurant where they prepared it for our dinner. (what could be easier?) The naturalists -- Alice and John -- had interesting excursions and crafts and answered all of our questions. The boat men were wonderful -- they did all of the hard work of carrying the canoes to the water and filling the motor boats with gas -- all with smiles on their faces. The wait-staff was especially attentive. Some of them even joined us for a horse back ride. The wranglers for the horses were also VERY friendly.

We have stayed in a lot of corporate run resorts and it was so nice to be in a family owned and operated resort.

We opted for the all-inclusive family package -- our motor boat time, horse back riding and meals were all included. I think it was a great value! it is also very relaxing to know exactly how much you are spending on your vacation and to not have to tell your kids, "no, that is too expensive" when they want to do something.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LLinWI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    168
    46
    4
    6
    9
See reviews for
70
124
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
186 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2010

Nice place that feels like it's at the end of the earth. We stayed here for one night last minute. They only had one room left that wasn't quite large enough for our family, so they brought in mats and sleeping bags for the kids. The room was really nice and had a beautiful view overlooking Gunflint Lake, with Canada on the other side of the lake. There is a little beach with kayaks you can take out on the lake. We went horseback riding -- pretty view, slow ride. The kids were bored because you don't go very fast, but I thought the scenery was spectacular. Dinner at the pub there was good, but the waiter had an attitude so that brought things down a little there. Overall, a place we'd like to spend more time at next time.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travelgames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
146 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2010

After spending the weekend in Duluth at a fabulous hotel in Canal Park, for Tall Ships weekend, my husband suggested we drive the north shore and find a quiet cabin for the week. Truth be known, I would probably adapt to "rustic" better than he could, but finding that perfect balance would be my challenge. Of course, my first site was Trip Advisor. Gunflint Lodge was rated #1. Gunflint was also listed in "1000 Places to see before you Die" as a bucket list must. So, we drove the long 3 hours to Grand Marais and then another 43 miles to Gunflint. Thought we'd never get there. I'd called ahead and talked to the Owner, Bruce Kerrfoot. He hooked us up with a basic cabin (as the place was sold out). There is a variety of cabins/homes at this Lodge. If I'd planned ahead, I would have had my pick.

When we finally arrived, we were so pleased. The Lodge is exactly what we hoped for. Beautiful flowers greet you at every turn. The Lodge sits smack on Gunflint Lake where canoes and small motor boats rock gently at the Lodge dock. The Lodge itself has two restaurants, one fine dining (Justine's) named for Bruce's famed, late mother and local celebrity. Check out the two books she wrote at age 80 something in the bookstore. The other restaurant is lighter fare which includes a full bar just next door. There is also patio seating for breakfast, lunch and dinner. As an added bonus (and one the kids loved), fresh baked cookies, tea, coffee and hot chocolate are complimentary to the guests each day.

Our cabin was older, but very spacious, clean and comfortable. We had a King bed, full bathroom and living room with stone faced wood burning fireplace. The basic cabins do not have full kitchens, but we did have a small refrigerator and microwave, along with a charcoal grill outside. Leave your cell phone in the car and expect to watch DVD's and CD's as there aren't any cell towers or satellite TV at the Lodge. Wireless only exists in the Lodge dining area, so forget hanging out in your cabin. There's so many other things to do!

We took two hikes with the Lodge's on-site naturalist, Alyce. Besides educating us on the biology and geology of the area, she picked fresh raspberries and blueberries with us at spots only she knew. Each day the Lodge publishes an "activity list" for kids and adults which are also complimentary.

On Day 2 we were able to upgrade to a "romantic cabin". We had a full kitchen, steam shower and jacuzzi, along with the same stone fireplace and king bed. As a former commercial property manager, I noticed all of the attention to detail the owner and his staff put into the Lodge. The staff, from the front desk clerks to the cleaning girls, were responsive, quick to please and truly concerned with our comfort. Bruce makes a point of visiting each guest at dinner to make sure everything is taken care of. We appreciated this and I told him I would write a good review for the Lodge when I got home.

Horseback riding, canoe trips, all inclusive room and board are just a few of the things that await you at the Lodge. I suspect, Bruce and his staff would do just about anything to make your stay perfect. They seem committed to upgrading this property to upscale levels.
Bravo! We will return!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DiscriminatingDiva08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midwest
Level Contributor
48 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2010

We stayed at Gunflint Lodge for 3 nights over the July 4 holiday weekend. The first thing you will notice is the beauty of the Gun Flint trail and the wonderful sights along the way.
The lodge itself is 40 miles up the trail from Grand Marais ( stop at Houghies Tacos in Grand Marais and get the Puffy tacos, we had to stop twice). There are a number of amenities at the lodge and you will appreciate the quality of the food in their dining area.
Bruce, the owner stops by to chat at every table during dinner and he shares lots of stories from the area and its history. Bring comfortable shoes for hiking and get a fishing guide for a day if you can, the lodge can coordinate this for you. Our teenage boys loved the trip, the canoes and feeling like we were really in the woods!
cabins are clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank imreading
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
119 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2010

Loved it!! The kids, especially, loved it and didn't want to leave. We were in cabin 16, which has 2 bedrooms, each with queen beds, 2 bathrooms, washer/dryer, kitchen with fridge and stove and microwave and coffee maker and a family room and little dining area. It overlooks Gunflint Lake and what a great view! Our only issue was that there was a sign on the fireplace that said not to use it and one day while we were there was chilly--would have been nice to use it. Other than that, our stay was great. We ate a couple lunches at the bistro there and they were pretty good. My daughter and husband went on a horseback ride for an hour and were the only two with the guides so it was awesome! And my 4 year old son and I went on a "bug hike" with a nature expert who knew everything about nature and had fun. We went on the Lonely Lake hike, which was nice, and we even took a motor boat ($20/hour) down to a hike into Bridal Veil Falls which was cool, too. The kids loved feeding the ducks and watching the squirrels come to the bird feeder right outside our cabin. We also took a pontoon boat ride for about an hour and a half, which was included in the price and got a snack onboard--loved that, too! Oh, the other issue I had was using their internet connection--could not get it to work! Other than that, it was a great experience!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Goophygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2010

I first visited Gunflint on a Quilters Weekend in January 1998 and again January 1999. I fell in love with the peace and quiet and took my husband in October 1999. Since then, we have visited at least once EVERY YEAR, sometimes twice (once in the beautiful fall and again in the surprising spring). Over the years, we've had a chance to stay in almost all of the cabins. Each cabin is unique but we've not been disappointed in any of them. Everything is very clean, quiet, and comfortable. Bruce and Sue (and the rest of the staff) are always open to requests and try to make your stay as comfortable as possible. The food is absolutely 5-star delicious but we do our own cooking in the full kitchen which most of the cabins have. There are some pricey packages but also some very affordable ones, depending on the time of year you visit. One warning--it can be VERY cold in the winter (negative 60 was our record) but there are some very nice clothing stores close by (Grand Marais is the closest town) with a nice selection of winter wear. We return to Gunflint year after year (sometimes twice) because it recharges our souls and completely relaxes us. We love it!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bds2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2010

Great place to totally get away. Lose yourself in nature hikes, sitting by the lake reading a book, eating 5 star dinners is an added bonus!

Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank tgimages
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Grand Marais hotels
29.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Plus Superior Inn & Suites
29.8 mi away
The Shoreline Inn
The Shoreline Inn
#9 of 10 in Grand Marais
3.0 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
29.8 mi away
Aspen Lodge
Aspen Lodge
#8 of 10 in Grand Marais
3.0 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
29.8 mi away
East Bay Suites
East Bay Suites
#3 of 10 in Grand Marais
4.5 of 5 bubbles 262 reviews
29.8 mi away
Cobblestone Cove Villas
Cobblestone Cove Villas
#13 of 31 in Grand Marais
4.5 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
29.1 mi away
Aspen Inn
Aspen Inn
#7 of 10 in Grand Marais
3.0 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gunflint Lodge & Outfitters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gunflint Lodge & Outfitters

Property: Gunflint Lodge & Outfitters
Address: 143 S. Gunflint Lake, Grand Marais, MN 55604
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Grand Marais
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 31 Specialty Lodging in Grand Marais
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Gunflint Lodge & Outfitters 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury family accommodations on the Canadian Border in northern Minnesota adjacent to the Boundary Waters Canoe Area Wilderness. Cabins accommodate 2-10 people. Activities include canoeing, hiking, guided naturalist activities, swimming, horse back riding, full meal service, and the new Towering Pines Canopy Tour. Special programs for "Becoming a Boundary Waters Family." ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Gunflint Hotel Grand Marais

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing