We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect winter vacation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Gunflint Lodge & Outfitters
Certificate of Excellence
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect winter vacation”
Reviewed January 19, 2014

This was our Christmas present to our kids. We stayed 3 nights, but thought 1 more would have been better. We were in a 2 bedroom cabin near the lake. Breakfast was included in our package and was great. You picked anything on the menu. We really enjoyed feeding the deer and birds. We would put the corn and sunflowers seeds right outside our window. The best part was when the deer would eat out of our hands. We went on a night hike with the naturalist and howled to the wolves and waited for them to howl back. We did get a few replies. The best part of the trip was our dog sled ride with Adam. He told us a lot about the dogs and the reason he placed dogs here he did. We even got to be the musher for part of the ride. Everyone that worked there was friendly and helpful. We loved after a day of being outside to come to our cabin and have a fire and go sit in the sauna. It was a wonderful weekend and we will treasure our memories.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bev F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    183
    46
    4
    7
    9
See reviews for
75
132
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Columbia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2014

We stayed at the Gunflint Lodge for the pre-Christmas special checking out on the morning after Christmas Day. We stayed in a 2 bdrm lake house and though we did not use the hot tub, we spent ample time in the sauna! The highlight for me for learning that it really is possible to stay warm when the temps are well below zero! We skied almost every day, went dog-sledding, and spent late afternoons with our cribbage board and drinks in the main Lodge. LOVED having no cell phone or internet (never figured out how to connect which was OK with us, we didn't try that hard). Service was great and everyone we met was so friendly - both staff and guests. Staff always had an answer to our questions. We cannot wait to come back.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brenda064
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shakopee, Minnesota
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2013

We started this tradition in 2012, we did it this past Holiday too ! We made our reservations for the 2014 holiday before we left. Cabins fill fast, it's 4 nights of no worries, no cooking and plenty of fires in your private cabin. Thanksgiving dinner includes ham, turkey and bison and tons of side dishes. It is so relaxing, bring a book or movies and enjoy some much needed down time.
We look forward to this long holiday, but we can't wait until November to return it's forever away, so we will sneak away for a long weekend probably in May or June.

Room Tip: Ask for a unit with a washer/dryer so you can go home and not have laundry to do !! If you stay for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2013 via mobile

Bruce and Sue offered a free week for Veterans, thank you. The staff, specifically Jason, Rich, and Brittany were great. The weather was descent and the hiking was as gorgeous as always. Thank you for recognizing the service of our men and women of our Armed Forces. The best lodge in the north woods

Stayed November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jamaicaman15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2013 via mobile

We loved staying at the Gunflint Lodge so much that we made a reservation for another stay with our family within the year! Staff treat all guests like longtime friends and the lake home we stayed in was immaculate. We enjoyed the first snow of winter, and a wonderful hike to the high cliffs overlooking the lake to Canada. Amazing views, amazing place.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Kristy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2013

My husband and I booked under a special deal but unfortunately had to reschedule due to a family emergency. The staff accommodated the rescheduling but did not honor the orginal deal which is somewhat understandable. So our actual visit was brief which was probably fortunate. Our cabin was small and not very clean (crumbs on the table, ashes on the fireplace hearth, some dirt or ash on the floors & rug, and an unflushed toilet all noticed upon arrival) After a hike on one of the trails we went for dinner in the main lodge around 8pm. We thought it would be quiet and asked to be seated near a window (there are two seperate dining areas in the lodge). Shortly after being seated for a romantic dinner the host sat a few other adult tables followed by a couple more tables of families with small children right next to our quiet romantic dinner for two. The children were not be tended to by the parents and the waitress could not keep up with the children's demands. Our meals had already been ordered or we may have delayed our dinner. We ordered dinner from the evening's menu specials which are wonderfully described and a higher priced asking the waitress what she would recommend. The cup of walleye wild rice soup ended up being the highlight of our entire experience although I can't say we noticed any walleye in the soup. There was a very long delay between the soup and the dinner. The dinner was served at room temperature with the recommended potatoes cold and uncooked.The waitress who was very pleasant & busy never checked back after delivering our food but did drop off the check in passing. We went to pay at the main desk and do a little shopping at the lodge gift shop. The staff at the main desk was on the phone from the time we arrived for dinner to the time we left the gift shop making confirmation calls to future guests regarding meal choices. The lead or what seemed to be the experienced staff (possibly family?) seemed to be disinterested in guests that were at the lodge. Our bedroom was a bit more bathroom with the well lit tiled bath area wrapped around the edge of the bed. The shower was new with mulitple jets that could not all be executed due to lack of water pressure. The stay at the lodge was disappointing from the time we checked in to our early check out. The lodge has potential with it's history (we learned about at the history center or museam at the end of the Gunflint Trail) but the services are not well executed.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jane V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GunflintGuy, Owner at Gunflint Lodge & Outfitters, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
We are sad to hear Jane and her husband had a bad experience with us. I wish they had let us know while they were here so we could have taken care of our oversights. As I check into their concerns I know we had a housekeeper about then that we had to let go when she falsified cabin worksheets. We always clean out the fireplace after each guest stay, and carefully lay up new fire logs, including a starter cube, so all is ready for new guests. It sounds like that got taken care of but then the final vacuuming missed the ashes that spilled from her pail. I think the toilet concern was actually a little of our cleaner that was left after the last flush. We use water saving shower heads (part of our contribution to lowering our user impact on our resources) and some people are not familiar with that feature. The water comes out in a finer mist, and it might look skimpy to those who prefer a robust shower.
All dinner guests get to select their own table and apparently they did not notice that they chose a location right next to a couple of larger family tables which filled while they were dining. We cook our vegetables and potatoes to the lightly done stage so they still have some crunch and freshness to them. If they had let us know, we would have been glad to change out anything they wished. All our staff are fully empowered to solve every concern and need of our guests. We would even have moved them to a different table if they had just asked.
I am sorry Marilyn was on the phone when they came to the front desk but we work hard to see that no one has to wait more than a minute or two.
Although they did not mention it, I assume they enjoyed their opportunities for hiking, the free canoes and kayaks, the home baked cookies and beverages on the sideboard all day, and the corn to feed the ducks with at the waterfront.
We take a great deal of pride in making Gunflint our guests "home in the woods", that they come back to year after year. Somehow we missed with Jane and her husband, and we are very sorry they did not have a good time during their short stay with us.

Bruce Kerfoot
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chaska, Minnesota
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2013

Our Family has gone to the Gunflint lodge six times in the last twelve years. We've been in March, July, October and November and no matter the season have found Gunflint to be a consistently wonderful place to relax, reconnect as a family and enjoy walking through nature. The drive from Minneapolis is long but the opportunity for stops along the North Shore, scenery and final hour in the woods make it enjoyable. We are a larger family (six kids) and always select cabin #27 (rebuilt a couple years a ago after being destroyed by a fire). We prefer to bring our own food and cook during our week long stays but always make a point to eat in their wonderful restaurant at least once a week - breakfast meals are HUGE. Last summer we had a family reunion and rented 3 cabins for 18 of us and had more than enough room as the cabins are very large and spacious. There is a playground are for younger children that is right next to a shallow beach that always has ducks to feed. The one thing we would improve on is that our cabin did not have a hot tub and that used to be a highlight in snowy November for kids and adults alike to have to run from the tub into the cabin where there would be a warm fire and hot chocolate waiting. Wonderful vacation tradition and we are on our way back for our seventh visit in three weeks.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarkW05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Grand Marais hotels
30.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Superior Inn & Suites
30.2 mi away
East Bay Suites
East Bay Suites
#3 of 10 in Grand Marais
277 reviews
30.2 mi away
Aspen Lodge
Aspen Lodge
#8 of 10 in Grand Marais
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
30.2 mi away
The Shoreline Inn
The Shoreline Inn
#9 of 10 in Grand Marais
110 reviews
30.1 mi away
Harbor Inn Restaurant & Motel
Harbor Inn Restaurant & Motel
#7 of 10 in Grand Marais
106 reviews
29.5 mi away
Aspen Inn
Aspen Inn
#6 of 10 in Grand Marais
66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gunflint Lodge & Outfitters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gunflint Lodge & Outfitters

Property: Gunflint Lodge & Outfitters
Address: 143 S Gunflint Lk, Grand Marais, MN 55604
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Grand Marais
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 32 Specialty Lodging in Grand Marais
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Gunflint Lodge & Outfitters 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All-inclusive luxury cabins in the Minnesota Northwoods on the historic Gunflint Trail bordering the Boundary Waters Canoe Area Wilderness. Lakeside cabins with fireplaces accommodate 2-14 people and many have in-room saunas or spa pools. Activities include canoeing, hiking, fishing guides, guided Naturalist activities, swimming, horse back riding, full meal service, and the Towering Pines Canopy Tour. Winter activities include cross country skiing, dog sledding, snowmobiling, snow shoeing and ice fishing. Lakeside patio dining, full-service bar, and massage therapist are available. Featured in "1,000 Places to See Before You Die-U.S. & Canada." Always Pet Friendly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Gunflint Lodge & Outfitters reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gunflint Hotel Grand Marais

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing