We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thank you for your support of our Military”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Gunflint Lodge & Outfitters
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 21, 2013 via mobile

This will be our 3rd year back to this awesome lodge. Last year we had a chance to experience the zip line canopy tour. Way fun. Bruce and Sue thank you for your continued support of those whom have served this great Nation. Look forward to our stay again this fall.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jamaicaman15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (255)
There are newer reviews for Gunflint Lodge & Outfitters
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

142 - 148 of 255 reviews

Reviewed September 21, 2013

My husband and I visited gunflint three days in September. We were there for fishing and relaxing. Adam, the guide we had for our trips was amazing.He made fishing in the boundary waters comfortable and lots of fun. He made us shore lunches which will be a great memory forever. The meals at the restaurant , were also excellent. The service was great, and the food quality just as good as any fine dining establishment. The only negative of the whole trip, and it is not too negative is the rooms.They come with a sauna, that was heaven. They have a too large hottub which takes forever to fill and seems like such a waste of space and resources. The bedding needs to be updated, and shades of some sort should be done. The hosts of gunflint have great specials and keep updated on everything. This in my opinion is the only way to go to the boundary waters. Gunflint is in top running , for a return trip for us.

Room Tip: All rooms have a beautiful view. You are in the boundary waters.!!!
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sam49Wisconsin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2013

I went to Gunflint because I had a livingsocial voucher for a four night canoe trip. It was AWESOME! We worked our butts off, traveled many miles and saw some amazing sites. However, this probably had more to do with the fact that the boundary waters are beautiful than with Gunflint. The gear we got from Gunflint was old, and I mean OLD. Luckily we all had our own backpacks, because the backpacks they provide are awful..I mean seriously, think old army canvas sacks. No back, shoulder, or waist support whatsoever, which is crazy considering how far out into the wilderness they send people.. So, would I go back? Sure. Would I go back and pay full price? Heck no. If you can find a deal, then go for it. Its a once in a lifetime kinda thing.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank forrest100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GunflintGuy, Owner at Gunflint Lodge & Outfitters, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2013

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent wilderness canoe trip. The logic behind the Cordura packs that we use are that they fit into canoes easily, while packs with frames and additional support belts are harder to get loaded. Our Cordura packs have been used for several years but that particular material is the toughest stuff on the market and seems to last forever.
Packs with back support are certainly more comfortable for longer carries, but most of our portages are fairly short. Additionally, when our packs fit nicely into our canoes they have a lower center of gravity that those that sit upright with frames. It is tempting to have newer fancier packs, but they just do not work as well in this canoeing wilderness.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

We three (wife, daughter, myself) decided to accept the recommendation of a friend and give the Gunflint Lodge a try. We were impressed - from the hostess rushing forward to open the door and greet us, the quality of our meals, and excellent service, and the great view overlooking the patio, beach and Gunflint Lake. We really appreciated being seated in the air conditioned area.

Since we were already staying on the Gunflint Trail the fifteen plus miles from Clearwater Road to this Lodge was an enjoyable ride.

We had the beer-battered Walleye. It was delicious!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Louis H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2013

This place is settled back 43 miles from the Town of Grand Marias, MN. The place is very nice and they have a great view of the Canadian Border. The food is good, but could be better. The employees are young but they do the Best Job they can. I would recommend this place to anyone going to Northern Minnesota.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2013

We decided to head up Lake Superior's north shore spur of the moment, and were lucky enough that upon our arrival at Gunflint Lodge for dinner, they had one cabin left. We stayed just a night in one of their romantic cabins, and it was wonderful! Interestingly enough along the way, someone told us that the Lodge's restaurant meals were just ok, and maybe a little overpriced.

We are very happy to report after our evening meal and breakfast the next morning, that the food is fabulous and fairly priced--and did I mention the free coffee and cookies 24/7? Way better than we were led to believe. Not to mention that the Gunflint's owner Bruce, stopped by our table to chat and make sure our dinner experience was a happy one.....

Hope to get back for a longer stay sometime to really appreciate the activities and quiet this wonderful resort has to offer, and once again experience some great food and drink in Minnesota's northwoods!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank scottm2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GunflintGuy, Owner at Gunflint Lodge & Outfitters, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2013

Thank you for popping in at the last moment and joining us for a night. It is great to hear you enjoyed our meals and considered them a fair value. Even though we are at the end of the supply line with one delivery a week from one vendor, we are still able to present a variety of menu choices with everything freshly prepared in our kitchens.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2013

Another great year at Gunflint Lodge. The cabins are modern and comfortable. The lake is beautiful. There is plenty to do. Vince and Noah took great care of us with our boating needs -- they were always quick to provide canoes and kayaks which are included in the price of the cabin. John the naturalist had some great activities planned -- we even enjoyed a day trip with him into the boundary waters. He did more than his share of portaging the canoe and knew the best blueberry spots. Mandy at the horse stables was fabulous as ever.

My only complaint is that they changed the dining since last year -- there are no longer two restaurants -- both the casual menu and the formal menu are available no matter where you sit at dinner. I didn't like this arrangement as much as the previous one -- I don't want to be served a $25 steak dinner in the same manner in which I am served a $8 hamburger and fries. Everything seems extremely casual and not terribly efficient. The wait staff was frazzled. One night we waited 30 minutes after sitting down at a table before someone came to take our dinner orders -- that never would have happened with the previous arrangement. I am sure they will work out the kinks but in the meantime you might want to consider whether or not to buy a package that includes meals. We didn't buy one this year and were happy about this. For the first time ever we ate some meals off the property -- which was actually quite fun.

I still highly recommend this lodge and I look forward to seeing how their dining situation improves over the following year. Even if the situation doesn't improve we are likely to return.

Room Tip: the stand alone cabins vary a great deal -- you should talk with the person at the desk about what y...
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LLinWI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GunflintGuy, Owner at Gunflint Lodge & Outfitters, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2013

Thank you for being a loyal guest and a repeat visitor. We are working our way through how we present our menu--understanding how some like our full dinners at the higher price point, while at the same time we are finding other diners who prefer the full range of choices.
When you visited we had just lost some of our summer staff (heading back to school) and we are having a devil of a time finding replacements, so we were short staffed. Sue and I, along with some of our management staff, pitched in but we had moments when we were on the slow side. I am sorry you got caught in one of those moments, but we normally do a lot better. We look forward to welcoming you to Gunflint again in the future and we will do our best to be 'on the money' for you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Grand Marais hotels
30.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Superior Inn & Suites
30.2 mi away
East Bay Suites
East Bay Suites
#3 of 10 in Grand Marais
279 reviews
30.2 mi away
Aspen Lodge
Aspen Lodge
#8 of 10 in Grand Marais
156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
30.2 mi away
The Shoreline Inn
The Shoreline Inn
#9 of 10 in Grand Marais
110 reviews
30.1 mi away
Harbor Inn Restaurant & Motel
Harbor Inn Restaurant & Motel
#7 of 10 in Grand Marais
112 reviews
24.9 mi away
Skyport Lodge
Skyport Lodge
#16 of 32 in Grand Marais
3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gunflint Lodge & Outfitters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gunflint Lodge & Outfitters

Address: 143 S Gunflint Lk, Grand Marais, MN 55604
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Grand Marais
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 32 Specialty Lodging in Grand Marais
Price Range: $94 - $338 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Gunflint Lodge & Outfitters 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All-inclusive luxury cabins in the Minnesota Northwoods on the historic Gunflint Trail bordering the Boundary Waters Canoe Area Wilderness. Lakeside cabins with fireplaces accommodate 2-14 people and many have in-room saunas or spa pools. Activities include canoeing, hiking, fishing guides, guided Naturalist activities, swimming, horse back riding, full meal service, and the Towering Pines Canopy Tour. Winter activities include cross country skiing, dog sledding, snowmobiling, snow shoeing and ice fishing. Lakeside patio dining, full-service bar, and massage therapist are available. Featured in "1,000 Places to See Before You Die-U.S. & Canada." Always Pet Friendly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Gunflint Lodge & Outfitters reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gunflint Hotel Grand Marais

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing