We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great lodge, but....”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Gunflint Lodge & Outfitters
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 1, 2013

We visited Gunflint Lodge this April. This visit was our 5th visit. Stayed in romantic cabin which was nice but the furniture is getting a little worn and uncomfortable. I noticed in other reviews that the beds are being replaced gradually, but I think this would be a must. Not very comfortable. Food at the lodge is great the help is very efficient and friendly. Just think, the furnishings in the cabins need to be replaced. Perhaps even a coffee table or ottoman to put feet up would help.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank loveinns03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GunflintGuy, Owner at Gunflint Lodge & Outfitters, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2013

Thank you for your candid comments about your last vacation with us. I have asked Bonnie, the head of our housekeeping department, to go ahead and change out the bed and the furniture in the cabin you stayed in, so we bring it up to your expectations.
We hope you can join us for another future vacation.
Bruce Kerfoot, your host

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (262)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

166 - 172 of 262 reviews

Reviewed April 30, 2013

Last July we booked two nights for our late April wedding anniversary. Three days before arrival, a Spring snowfall of 16 inches, didn't dampen our spirits. In fact- quite the opposite. Our cozy romantic cabin, with hot tub and see through fireplace, added to the ambiance of the clean fresh snow. The deer were quite abundant, and we even were able to feed them out of our hands!

We felt very welcome. The staff members, from April at the front desk, to our waitresses Mandy and Taneshia(?) hope we spelled her name correctly, to our bartender, Rich, were professional, friendly and helpful. We ate all of our meals at The Lodge, and everything, without exception, was fabulous!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank speedo2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2013

My husband and I recently took advantage of a Crowd Cut promotion and booked three nights (early April) in a one bedroom, classic cabin at Gunflint Lodge. This was our second visit to Gunflint Lodge, and I am happy to say we had just as good a time on this trip as on our trip last year. This year, we stayed in cabin 22, which was recently renovated, except for the bathroom (which was clean and serviceable, just a bit dated). The website description is accurate: this cabin had a king size bed, knotty pine interior, wood floors, fireplace, kitchenette and sauna. We really enjoyed the free breakfasts and equipment rentals, which were part of our Crowd Cut package deal. Gunflint Lodge somehow manages to be classy yet casual at the same time. The cabins and lodge are well appointed but very comfortable. Staff was very helpful and welcoming and really helped us enjoy our vacation. We also really enjoyed that Gunflint Lodge is pet friendly (for an additional fee). We brought our two dogs along with us and they had as much fun as we did hiking! We went cross country skiing on several of their groomed trails and pretty much had the trails to ourselves. The food at both Justine's and the Red Paddle Bistro (both in main lodge) is really good (try the walleye chowder). There is also free coffee/tea/hot chocolate and cookies in the lodge all the time for guests. We enjoyed feeding the deer with the free corn and seeds provided at the lodge--the deer came right up to our cabin windows and it was really enjoyable to just relax in the cabin watching the deer. The classic cabins are set up as A-frames, with two cabins per A-frame. However, we did not hear our adjoining neighbors at all, so it felt like you had your own cabin the entire time. I was happy to have no cell reception and just totally unplug for a few days. I recommend this place if you are looking for a rustic, Northwoods getaway, away from it all.

Room Tip: The classic cabins are very romantic if you cannot splurge on the 'romantic cottages'.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MplsTraveler001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

On the advice of our adult children we headed north to the Canadian border for spring break. We shared a two bedroom (two queens in each room) plus loft (two twins) cabin that was more than adequate for two couples and three children. The cabin was well equipped and comfortable, not luxurious, but very nice and clean. Upgrading the queen beds would be something for the management to consider but all in all comfortable.
We had planned to prepared some of our own meals but be advised, the grocery stores in Grand Marais are closed on Sunday (our day of arrival), at least in the winter, and we could only purchase milk, bread, and juice at the Quick Stop, that is, NO grocery stores unless you want to go 60 miles back toward Duluth.
We selected a plan at Gunflint Lodge that included a great breakfast which set us up for enjoyable days of winter fun. Additionally there is coffee, teas, and cookies available in the Lodge throughout the day and evening. We took our evening meals in the Lodge and found the fare very good, a broad sandwich menu, with several tasty soups and salad offering. Our thanks to Rick, the chef, for providing macaroni and cheese at the request of a six year old grandson, and also to Mandy, our very capable waitress, who served four adults and three children cheerfully for several meals.
We were looking for snow and were not disappointed. There was probably an 18 inch base and we had new snow several mornings. The cross country trails were well groomed, as were the hiking trails. Tuesday was a best day ever, hiking to Lonely Lake, 28 degrees, snow, no wind, a gorgeous hike. We used our snow shoes several times, the children enjoyed the sledding hill, and Adam, our dog sled guide, helped us make new memories. We all enjoyed feeding and watching the resident deer.
Gunflint Lodge offers several programs and we particularly enjoyed the skijoring demonstration by John and his dog Rudy. John also led an a constellation tour on Wednesday night that we would recommend, though check with him regarding the location of the tour; the Lonely Lake trail was great, but the night hike on Gunflint Lake was physically challenging with knee high snow.
Bring your books, I Pod, and DVDs and get away from it all as The Gunflint Lodge is off the grid, with no TV reception (there are TV with DVD players in the cabins) and limited cell service via satellite in the Lodge. We played cards, built puzzles, and actually talked to one another. You can be reached through the Lodge's hardline phone in case of emergencies.
We would highly recommend Gunflint Lodge and Resort for a winter vacation and plan on checking it out as a summer venue as well.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank INmidwife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2013

We ended up at Gunflint Lodge by purchasing a Crowd Cut, but we're definitely going back this summer...special offer or not. The staff is awesome and very knowledgable about the area. Rent skis AND snowshoes so you can explore the amazing trails around the property as well as around the Gunflint Trail. We had deer say "hello" every morning, heard the wolves at night, and saw two moose. The cabins are cozy and outfitted with everything you'll need. Oh, and they're pet friendly so bring your fur-babies!!!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beckyjane_81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GunflintGuy, Owner at Gunflint Lodge & Outfitters, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2013

Thank you for being a guest with us and we are pleased that you enjoyed your first visit to Gunflint and the northwoods. Our little corner of the state is quite different from the rest of Minnesota. Up here we still have more animals than people and we are just the visitors.

Bruce Kerfoot, your host

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2013

The cabin was dated, but that is what a cabin is supposed to be like. It was quiet, warm in our cabin and we made some great meals in the kitchen. Although the kitchen may not have had more than a frying pan, knives, and basic plates, the staff was very accomidating by bringing any other kitchen gear we requested. Deer walked right up to the windows of our cabin, birds were everywhere, we saw moose and evidence of wolves. It was great.
The lodge included so much in the package, snowshoes, breakfast, wine one night, classes on soap making and naturalist activities.
I panicked the first night without phone service (no phone in the cabins), no cell service and their internet is shaky at best, but once I got over that, I realized how great it was to be un plugged for three days.

Wonderful time and we will be coming back!

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jmorlock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GunflintGuy, Owner at Gunflint Lodge & Outfitters, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2013

Thank you for being our guest and passing on your comments. We have restocked the cabin with more utensils in following your suggestion. You stayed in the one cabin that still remains from the beginning of the resort in 1925. We mentioned this to you when you made your booking so you knew what the cabin was like in advance, but it also has the comfortable feeling for 'home in the woods' with the pine panelling, fireplace, sauna, etc.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

We had a wonderful winter getaway at the Gunflint Lodge! They have a lot of “little” things that made a big difference for us. There are always warm beverages and cookies in the inviting lodge free and available for guests, they provide corn and bird seed to sprinkle around your cabin to get a closeup view of the local wildlife, they have a DVD collection for guests to borrow for a cozy evening in, there is a sledding hill with sleds for some more wintery fun, and the staff were all very friendly and went above and beyond their duties. We actually had trouble getting our car started on the morning of our check out because of the extreme cold. We let the front desk know and they called a maintenance worker. He spent several hours very determined to get our car started. He was finally successful and saved us the money we would have had to spend getting our car towed into town and serviced. During our stay we utilized the skiing, hiking, and snowshoeing trails. All were very nice with beautiful views. We highly recommend the Gunflint Lodge for the adventurous who like to enjoy all that the great outdoors in MN winters have to offer, or for those who like to cozy up by a fire and enjoy the winter wonderland from a comfortable cabin. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank D G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GunflintGuy, Owner at Gunflint Lodge & Outfitters, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2013

Thank you for being our guests, but you sure challenged our maintenance department in getting your car started. The staff knows our policy of solving all problems, no matter what it takes, and we got our mission accomplished for you. We hope you had a wonderful drive home with all the winter sights along the North Shore of Lake Superior.

Bruce Kerfoot, your host

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Grand Marais hotels
30.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Superior Inn
Best Western Plus Superior Inn
#2 of 10 in Grand Marais
986 reviews
30.2 mi away
Aspen Lodge
Aspen Lodge
#8 of 10 in Grand Marais
158 reviews
30.2 mi away
East Bay Suites
East Bay Suites
#3 of 10 in Grand Marais
283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
30.3 mi away
The Shoreline Inn
The Shoreline Inn
#9 of 10 in Grand Marais
115 reviews
30.1 mi away
Harbor Inn Restaurant & Motel
Harbor Inn Restaurant & Motel
#7 of 10 in Grand Marais
115 reviews
29.5 mi away
Aspen Inn
Aspen Inn
#6 of 10 in Grand Marais
70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gunflint Lodge & Outfitters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gunflint Lodge & Outfitters

Address: 143 S Gunflint Lk, Grand Marais, MN 55604-3009
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Grand Marais
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 32 Specialty Lodging in Grand Marais
Price Range: $168 - $1,210 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Gunflint Lodge & Outfitters 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All-inclusive luxury cabins in the Minnesota Northwoods on the historic Gunflint Trail bordering the Boundary Waters Canoe Area Wilderness. Lakeside cabins with fireplaces accommodate 2-14 people and many have in-room saunas or spa pools. Activities include canoeing, hiking, fishing guides, guided Naturalist activities, swimming, horse back riding, full meal service, and the Towering Pines Canopy Tour. Winter activities include cross country skiing, dog sledding, snowmobiling, snow shoeing and ice fishing. Lakeside patio dining, full-service bar, and massage therapist are available. Featured in "1,000 Places to See Before You Die-U.S. & Canada." Always Pet Friendly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Gunflint Lodge & Outfitters reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gunflint Hotel Grand Marais

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing