We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quiet Retreat!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Gunflint Lodge & Outfitters
Certificate of Excellence
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Quiet Retreat!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2012

My girlfriend and I booked two nights (Fri & Sat) in Mid July and had an excellent getaway! We stayed in cabin 22. One thing to keep in mind is that this cabin was labeled as a lakeshore cabin, however it is set back from the shore approximately 30 yards with a trail that runs from your door down to the water. With summer vegetation this distance tends to lose the lakeshore feel and view from inside your cabin. They do however have several deck-like platforms just feet from the shoreline with 2 loungers on each spread out for relaxing in. This was perfect for a couple who wants a quiet glass of wine while watching the sunset! We rented a fishing boat on Saturday and the staff was very friendly in getting us all set up. We didn't have much luck fishing, but it was still great to be out on the water on such a quiet lake. There are several activities for couples and families, but we wanted to get away as much as we could and didn't partake in any. There are grills to use, however one grill is shared by two cabins. Thankfully our neighbors never grilled or this could have caused some timing issues. They do have a restaurant in the lodge for those who don't want to cook! Overall the cabin was what we expected. No air conditioning, but we never felt uncomfortable at night. Some of the cabin could use some updating, but again, we were just glad to get away from the city life so it didn't matter much to us. Perhaps my rating will reflect more the peaceful nature of our trip and the personal time we were able to share rather than the quality of the lodging.

Room Tip: Cabin 22 has a sauna. I don't think any of them had A/C.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HalfPintHagen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    168
    46
    4
    6
    9
See reviews for
70
124
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jackson, Michigan
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2012

Just spent a week with entire family. We had 3 cabins #2, 10, and 11, for 18 of us. (me, wife, 4 kids and spouses and 8 grandchildren ages 18 to 5). Accommodations were even more luxurious than expected. The best part is how well run things were and the food was excellent even though we made most of our meals ourselves. (We all love to cook.) The new Canopy Tour is something not to be missed. I've been to the Lodge often on since 1953 and returned this year for my 75th B-day. Bruce and Sue just do a fantastic job. You know why when the owner (Bruce) is serving the ribs at the Sunday night barbecue, smoothing the driveways with Bobcat and frying fish at the lunch fish-fry. The Gunflint Lodge will always be a special place for me and my family

Room Tip: Cabin 11 was our favorite because of the lake view and ability to eat outdoors at the picnic table...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2012

I bought a package for my husband for his birthday/fathers' day gift and we arrived at Gundflint August 27. The skies were bright blue, it was warm, and beautiful. We enjoyed dinner on the terrace that night and returned to our classic cabin which was clean and etremely comfortable. We slept like logs and got up at 6 a.m., the next day in order to eat and be ready to meet our fishing guide, John S, at 8 a.m. We drove up to Saganaga Lake where he launched the boat, we got in and took off for a remote part of the lake where on the way we saw a gorgeous bald eagle high in a tree. We found our fishing spot and withint the first 15 minutes we all had substantial bites with three fish landed, two Lake Trout and one Whitefish. We caught more fish but they were little or the kind to put back for another time. We spent a number of hours bishing in some beautiful remote country and totally enjoyed ourselves. Upon returning to the Lodge, John took care of the fish and delivered them to the kitchen, where Hudson grilled them to perfection when we can in for dinner. The fish was done perfectly and we enjoyed three fillets, potatoes and split a bowl of their chili for a great meal. We sat on the terrace until sunset as it was our last night. Finally returned to our cabin where our Scottie, Lucy, was waiting for us, took her for a walk and tubled into bed. The staff was more than helpful and made sure we had everything we needed. We were so pleased and will be more than happy to come back again next year. We love the fact that there is NO TV, NO internet except for the lodge, and no blaring music to distract from the natural setting! Please don't change that! The history of the Lodge and of the area is just overwhelming - there is so much of it. Thank you again Bruce, Sue and the lodge staff. A special thanks to John S., for the fishing trip!!

Room Tip: This is a location for someone who likes remote, quiet, no TV, no internet (except at the lodge), lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank moey27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GunflintGuy, Owner at Gunflint Lodge & Outfitters, responded to this review, August 15, 2012
We thank our guests for their fine comments, but just to set the record right they stayed with us in July, not August. Otherwise their comments would appear to have been posted before their vacation at Gunflint.

Bruce Kerfoot, your host at Gunflint
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
77 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2012

We have spent many years vacationing at Gunflint Lodge and thoroughly enjoyed all of our experiences. The cabins are spacious and are beautifully decorated - I think we have stayed in almost every cabin at least once. Fully equipped kitchens - refrigerator, stove, microwave, dishes, pots/pans, etc. - everything you need to make a meal. The cabins have TV's - but no cable or satellite. Bring your own DVD's if you want to watch movies at night. The bathrooms are large and clean - some with jacuzzi tubs - and some with hot tubs. They all have beautiful stone fireplaces - so romantic.

The lodge has a small gift shop and two restaurants. The Red Paddle offers burgers and fried walleye sandwiches - and great french fries among other items. Jusine's (named after Justine Kerfoot who founded the lodge with her mother) offers more formal dinners. The food is absolutely fabulous. Although the food is more formal - you don't need to dress up - which is perfect for us.

Gunflint Lodge offers daily activities - and there is something for everyone - from horseback riding, to nature hikes, boat rides, canoeing and even a massage. One of my favorite activities is to sit on the dock and watch the sun set over the west end of the lake. It's very beautiful and peaceful.

Best of all is the service - the staff go out of their way to make you feel special. Gunflint is more than a place in the northwoods - it's our home away from home.

Room Tip: All of the lodge rooms are beautiful - you will not be disappointed in any of them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bab0706
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2012

Just returned from a 2 night stay - what a well run place and such nice people! Bonnie and Cheryl are totally an asset, knowledgeable about where to send us with our canoe. Bring a couple of DVD's or videos, or borrow from their supply if you need to be entertained inside, but there are so many choices outside that we didn't need them. Lots of free activity choices scheduled and a friendly person at the boathouse from morning till night to get you a canoe or kayak whenever you want to go out on the lake.

GREAT food at the Bistro (we didn't try Justines) have you ever thought of selling frozen quarts of the walleye chowder? It's SOOO good! Also the walleye/wild rice quesidellas were awesome! Nice big patio seating area too.

Quick travel tip for at least the next couple of weeks - Big delays right now on Hwy 61 - to avoid, take Hwy 3 just past TwoHarbors right past Bettys Pies, when you get to 4, turn right back to 61. Delays on the way were up to an additional hour. Part of 3 is a dirt road but well maintained, no problem.

Good idea to bring water shoes as the lake bottom gets a little rocky as it gets deeper in the fenced in swimming area. Free corn and birdseed for feeding the ducks and chipmunks. We didn't try the zip-line this time (an additional cost, but one of the few) but heard it was awesome.

Overall, just a great get-away - no cell service, TV, occasional internet. Will we return? ABSOLUTELY! Thanks for a wonderful time!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bes1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2012

Our family has been coming here for years. The staff is incredibly friendly and helpful for our crew - which ranges in age from 6 to 86. The kids spend hours at the lake feeding the ducks, taking out kayaks and trying their hands at fishing from the dock. The meals are delicious and the cabins just perfect for being together. We look forward to our time here every year.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scott F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GunflintGuy, Owner at Gunflint Lodge & Outfitters, responded to this review, June 5, 2012
It is so nice to welcome returning guests as they already know all the neat places that want to revisit and explore. They know the drill about the coffee, tea, hot chocolate and freshly baked cookies in the main lodge, and where to find the corn to feed the ducks at the waterfront. Most of them have already tasted our homemade walleye chowder and know it is so very tasty. They have fallen in love with our northwoods and come to enjoy another getaway for their quality of life.
Thank you, Bruce Kerfoot
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blaine, Minnesota
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2012

Did not find it to be worth the value at all. Just too expensive for what you get. Hot tub water was cold by the time we filled it up and they only give you a certain amount of hot water so could not even take a hot shower after that. Small living room area with uncomfortable seating (one loveseat and one chair) and could not see the TV from the bed - poor layout. You have no access to regular TV (movies only) or internet or phone service. Cheap bedding for the price you pay - linens were just average at best. They add quite a bit of tax and it was definitely overpriced for what you get. If you want TOTAL seclusion (hard to find nowadays), this may be your place. If not, I would not go.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 877AliciaSue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GunflintGuy, Owner at Gunflint Lodge & Outfitters, responded to this review, June 5, 2012
We are sorry to have disappointed this guest. They had a very attractive cabin with a nice fireplace, hot tub, king sized bed, steam shower and a full kitchen. The bedding had extra pillows and the mattress was nearly new and very good quality. Our guests usually find that a love seat and another chair is very adequate for two people. They did not comment about the free coffee, tea and hot chocolate in the lodge, along with the freshly baked cookies, nor all the free guided naturalist activities. Our internet site clearly points out that we up in the northwoods and we do not receive active TV and do not have cell service to our community. Guests find this a relief and enjoy getting away from those distractions, so they can enjoy the northwoods. Bruce Kerfoot, owner of Gunflint Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Grand Marais hotels
30.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Plus Superior Inn & Suites
30.2 mi away
The Shoreline Inn
The Shoreline Inn
#9 of 10 in Grand Marais
3.0 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
30.2 mi away
East Bay Suites
East Bay Suites
#3 of 10 in Grand Marais
4.5 of 5 bubbles 265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
30.2 mi away
Aspen Lodge
Aspen Lodge
#7 of 10 in Grand Marais
3.0 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
30.2 mi away
Cobblestone Cove Villas
Cobblestone Cove Villas
#12 of 31 in Grand Marais
4.5 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
29.5 mi away
Aspen Inn
Aspen Inn
#8 of 10 in Grand Marais
3.0 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gunflint Lodge & Outfitters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gunflint Lodge & Outfitters

Property: Gunflint Lodge & Outfitters
Address: 143 S. Gunflint Lake, Grand Marais, MN 55604
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Grand Marais
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 31 Specialty Lodging in Grand Marais
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Gunflint Lodge & Outfitters 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury family accommodations on the Canadian Border in northern Minnesota adjacent to the Boundary Waters Canoe Area Wilderness. Cabins accommodate 2-10 people. Activities include canoeing, hiking, guided naturalist activities, swimming, horse back riding, full meal service, and the new Towering Pines Canopy Tour. Special programs for "Becoming a Boundary Waters Family." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Gunflint Lodge & Outfitters reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gunflint Hotel Grand Marais

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing