We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting stuff in the store, really expensive though!”

Lake Superior Trading Post
Ranked #2 of 12 Shopping in Grand Marais
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Our store is located on Lake Superior's rugged and beautiful north shore in Minnesota. The harbor of Grand Marais sits outside our door. We offer a variety of quality clothing and footwear as well as exclusive gifts, books, maps, camping gear, knives, toys, candy, candles, jewelry and much more. If you're in the area, make it a point to walk through our doors. We will greet you with a welcoming smile and offer any assistance you may need. Open year round, 7 days a week.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities
La Crosse, Wisconsin
Level 6 Contributor
309 reviews
94 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Interesting stuff in the store, really expensive though!”
Reviewed June 7, 2013

We enjoyed browsing through this store, there were plenty of things to check out. However, the prices were a bit too high for our taste! $60 for a hooded sweatshirt???? We ended up going down the street to a different store and got similar items for half the price.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank nursetraveler87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    24
    2
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, MN
Level 6 Contributor
172 reviews
69 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
“Interesting store well worth a visit”
Reviewed February 26, 2013

My wife and I stopped late Feburary on our brief winter vacation in the area. The store was a wide variety of camping, hiking and winter gear. Beyond that some local wares. We had a great time exploring the large store. Prices are not cheap but they do have high quality gear.

Well worth a stop

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank RonJac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edgeley, North Dakota, United States
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Views, Deals, and History”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Decor, clothing, authentic hide products, foods, and fun was had by our entire family. We picnic'd out front and had TON of fun. Definitely worth the stop!

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Twin Cities, MN
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fun place to go and visit”
Reviewed October 28, 2012

Fun to visit while exploring the area w/ a large variety of camping, hiking supplies, clothing, kitschy things and even jewelry, candles, books about the region and even some toys. The building is large, open and just plain fun to walk around. Kind of like a rustic Target in that it has a large variety of items for sale, but Target wishes it could have the atmosphere and personality of this place! Charming retail place.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Heather K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
55 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“An amazing place to shop!”
Reviewed June 21, 2012

This historic shop sells everything. It's an outfitter, and a gift shop, and a housewares shop, and a jewelry store, and a toy store. It sells clothes and shoes and books. It's an incredible place to browse for things you never knew you needed or wanted. The large wooden building is beautiful and full of charmingly creaking wood and a grand wooden staircase. A must see in Grand Marais. If I won a shopping spree and could choose any store in the world, it might well be this one!

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Semele08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lake Superior Trading Post also viewed

 

Been to Lake Superior Trading Post? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing