We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A beautiful place to stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of MacArthur House Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Grand Marais
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
MacArthur House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #4 of 9 Grand Marais B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Parkersburg, West Virginia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A beautiful place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2014

After traveling the "circle route" and dealing with fog and rain, it was refreshing to come to Grand Maria's. We decided to stay and happened upon the MacArthur house. What a delight. The rooms are spacious and equipped with all we needed. The hosts, Max and Sherry are a delight, and the food was scrumptious. Couldn't have been happier.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Myla K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    17
    6
    2
    3
See reviews for
14
77
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
AZ
Level Contributor
22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2014

I am a semi-local as I work for one of the lodges on the trail. I come into town to get away on my days off and love bed and breakfasts. MacArthur house doesn't disappoint. Stayed in the Alaska room and loved it. Wonderful breakfast with the other people staying and lively conversation. I am coming back again next weekend and looking forward to checking out the Harbor suite.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank slb3334
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glendale, Arizona
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2014

We decided to stay here after reading good reviews and we were not disappointed. We enjoyed the first night but didn't have a reservation for more than one night. Luckily, the owner overheard of our dilemma and made some room rearrangements which allowed us to stay in the same room for another night. Enjoyed the breakfast (gluten free accommodated) and the charm of the house and surroundings.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AZMN2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thunder Bay, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2014

We had a wonderful stay. Max and Sherri are very hospitable. The rooms are beautiful and inviting. The breakfast was awesome. Looking forward to our next stay. We went with 2 other couples and enjoyed socializing in the common area.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mankato, Minnesota
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2014

The Mac Arthur House B&B was fabulous! The room was spacious and airy with a stunning view of Lake Superior. Max and Sherri are wonderful hosts and the breakfasts were sumptuous. I'll go back!eswdewsdsddsdsaew

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MankatoMargo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eden Prairie, Minnesota
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2014

This is a very nice B&B and a true value. The owners are very nice and personable. The breakfasts were delicious, including fresh fruit from their garden. We spent two nights there and enjoyed every moment that we were in the B&B, including the main rooms on first floor and our bedroom.

Room Tip: We were on the main floor and it was just fine. Friends had a second floor room and it was very nice...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank johnronh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MAPLEWOOD
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2014

We had stayed at the Bed and Breakfast. Room was beautiful and comfortable. Breakfast was wonderful. Everything was more than expected. Only problem was having to park on the street. Otherwise, everything was great.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruth L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grand Marais
0.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Plus Superior Inn & Suites
0.4 mi away
East Bay Suites
East Bay Suites
#3 of 10 in Grand Marais
4.5 of 5 bubbles 262 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Shoreline Inn
The Shoreline Inn
#9 of 10 in Grand Marais
3.0 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Aspen Lodge
Aspen Lodge
#8 of 10 in Grand Marais
3.0 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
18.9 mi away
Lutsen Resort on Lake Superior
0.3 mi away
Harbor Inn Restaurant & Motel
Harbor Inn Restaurant & Motel
#6 of 10 in Grand Marais
4.0 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MacArthur House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MacArthur House Bed and Breakfast

Property: MacArthur House Bed and Breakfast
Address: 520 W Second Street . P.O. Box 1270, Grand Marais, MN 55604
Location: United States > Minnesota > Grand Marais
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Grand Marais
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing