We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No Better Place to Stay”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Grand Marais
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
MacArthur House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 9 Grand Marais B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 28, 2013

This B&B is a new building designed from the ground up to be a B&B. (As opposed to a home converted to that use.) The building is brand new. The rooms are large and immaculately maintained. Some have lake views. The breakfast is expertly prepared and sticks with you. The couple who run it are there because they wanted to be there rather than the working world that they had been in. They clearly work hard to make it a wonderful experience. It's within walking distance of the harbor and such attractions as the "North House Folk School."

Room Tip: As for "lake side" if you want the lake view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cross1242
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (129)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

77 - 83 of 129 reviews

Reviewed March 17, 2013

We have stayed here several times and have enjoyed every stay. The house is large and welcoming and the rooms very nicely appointed. The hosts are very friendly and helpful. Breakfasts are very good and the dining area is spacious and very bright. Max and Sherri are great hosts and the location is excellent for exploring Grand Marais and the area. We thought thought the price was very reasonable and provided good value.
We would recommend MacArthur House to anyone traveling in the area and we will return again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2013

The MacArthur House is a wonderful B&B. It is located a quiet street near the heart of the city. The hosts Max and Sherri are excellent and make you feel very welcome. The breakfasts are perfect. I stayed in the Alaska which has a beautiful vaulted ceiling. I would recommend this B&B to anyone attending a coarse at the North House Folk School which is just down the hill.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Arno K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our three nights at the MacArthur House! Max was a wonderful host, and his breakfasts were delicious without overloading us before an active day. The Superior Room was large and clean, and the neighorhood was quiet but close to the heart of town. And they are "green" in how they run the business, even composting their kitchen waste.

Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Jeff I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2012

I think that the other 4 and 5 star reviewers pretty much captured the essence of this place. It is very clean, modern, and the common spaces are very nice. We thought that the breakfast was quite good and perhaps a pleasant change to the "graze and go" breakfast buffets. They cooked a pre-determined full breakfast - and then served it at 8:30 AM. The format meant that we shared breakfast with the other guests and led to some interesting conversation.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank djdmspit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2012

We have stayed in this B&B owned by Max and Sherri many times (it happens that it has always been in the fall of the year). Always a great experience, clean, quiet and great breakfast. Also they are both wonderful people.

Room Tip: Go to their website and check it out. They have now added two cabins so look at those.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Josephine018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2012

We have stayed here with Max and Sherri many times...always excellent! We have stayed in every room except one...all clean, comfy, and with the extras to pamper! Don't expect this...but one time my sis and I were the only guests and so we talked Max into a private violin concert while we ate breakfast! Like I said...don't expect it...Max is usually too busy making his wonderful breakfast! Dave and Sue, Rice Lake, Wi.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hildes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Grand Marais hotels
0.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Superior Inn
Best Western Plus Superior Inn
#2 of 10 in Grand Marais
998 reviews
0.4 mi away
East Bay Suites
East Bay Suites
#3 of 10 in Grand Marais
300 reviews
5.4 mi away
Thomsonite Beach Inn & Suites
Thomsonite Beach Inn & Suites
#3 of 9 in Grand Marais
102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.7 mi away
Poplar Creek Guesthouse B&B
Poplar Creek Guesthouse B&B
#4 of 9 in Grand Marais
57 reviews
0.8 mi away
Aspen Inn
Aspen Inn
#6 of 10 in Grand Marais
70 reviews
0.5 mi away
Aspen Lodge
Aspen Lodge
#8 of 10 in Grand Marais
160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MacArthur House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MacArthur House Bed and Breakfast

Address: 520 W Second St, Grand Marais, MN 55604-1270
Location: United States > Minnesota > Grand Marais
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Grand Marais
Price Range: $64 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing