We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of our favorites!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Grand Marais
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
MacArthur House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 9 Grand Marais B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 8, 2012

We have stayed here with Max and Sherri many times...always excellent! We have stayed in every room except one...all clean, comfy, and with the extras to pamper! Don't expect this...but one time my sis and I were the only guests and so we talked Max into a private violin concert while we ate breakfast! Like I said...don't expect it...Max is usually too busy making his wonderful breakfast! Dave and Sue, Rice Lake, Wi.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hildes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (122)
There are newer reviews for MacArthur House Bed and Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

76 - 82 of 122 reviews

Reviewed July 31, 2012

We stayed on the 3rd floor suite, clean comfortable private and quiet.
Would stay there again if in Grand Marais.
Breakfast was delicious.
The lack of air conditioning was not a problem as the temp outside will drop at night.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sh5609
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2012

We chose to stay in the Alaska room for our one night stay in Grand Marias. The room was very quiet, clean, and comfortable. We liked that the room inclued a small fridge. Max and Sherri are very nice hosts who made us feel welcome. It is also within in walking distance to restaurants. Note: There is no air conditioning if you're planning a stay when it is very hot outside or suffer from allergies and prefer to sleep in the air condition.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CinderChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2012

My wife and I had the pleasure of staying at MacArthur House over the 4th for 3 nights. Although it rained for most of 2 of the 3 days we couldn't have been happier with our accomadations. We stayed in the Harbour suite and would highly recommend it. Large room, very clean, nice two person jacuzzi that we used every day. Great view of the harbour and for us the fireworks on the 4th. Great, comfortable, soft sheets and towels. The location was only a very nice convenient walk from 'downtown'. It was our first time in Grand Marais and we really liked the town. Max and Sherri were very friendly, made great breakfasts and gave some great recommendatios for dinner. We could not have had a nicer stay than at MacArthur House.

Room Tip: We would definitely pick the Harbour suite.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jimyb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2012

We really enjoyed our stay last weekend at the MacArthur house. Max & Sheeri were delightful hosts and really made the planning easy for my us. We had a breathtaking view from our third floor room. Their recommendation for dinner was fantastic too. I look forward to visiting again!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Monkeimommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2012

My friend and I had decided to travel on a whim without much planning. I had seen this B&B on tripadvisor.com before leaving and jotted down their phone number. On the night we decided to land in Grand Marais we gave Max and Sherri a call. They accommodated our late arrival, made sure we ate dinner before everything had closed, and were very welcoming. The B&B is artistically and comfortably furnished. It was very clean, and I appreciated the organic soaps and handmade jewelry Sherri made. The food was fantastic, too! A great deal, and I would most definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: All of the rooms were wonderful! Ours was on the first floor - not noisy at all.
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Meleigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2012

This was our fourth visit to MacArthur House. We were so excited that our family purchased us a two night stay! As always, the place was beautiful and our room was perfect. Max and Sherri are the best and we love how welcoming and considerate they are to our needs. Both of our breakfast were awesome! We can't wait to come back again and highly recommend this lovely bed and breakfast.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathryn K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Grand Marais hotels
0.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Superior Inn & Suites
0.4 mi away
East Bay Suites
East Bay Suites
#3 of 10 in Grand Marais
279 reviews
0.5 mi away
Aspen Lodge
Aspen Lodge
#8 of 10 in Grand Marais
156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Shoreline Inn
The Shoreline Inn
#9 of 10 in Grand Marais
110 reviews
0.3 mi away
Harbor Inn Restaurant & Motel
Harbor Inn Restaurant & Motel
#7 of 10 in Grand Marais
112 reviews
4.0 mi away
Thomsonite Beach Inn & Suites
Thomsonite Beach Inn & Suites
#2 of 9 in Grand Marais
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MacArthur House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MacArthur House Bed and Breakfast

Address: 520 W Second St, Grand Marais, MN 55604-1270
Location: United States > Minnesota > Grand Marais
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Grand Marais
Price Range: $64 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing