We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“Nice place to stay!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of MacArthur House Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Grand Marais
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
MacArthur House Bed and Breakfast
Save
You added MacArthur House Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
Ranked #4 of 8 Grand Marais B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago
Level Contributor
59 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Nice place to stay!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

We chose to stay in the Alaska room for our one night stay in Grand Marias. The room was very quiet, clean, and comfortable. We liked that the room inclued a small fridge. Max and Sherri are very nice hosts who made us feel welcome. It is also within in walking distance to restaurants. Note: There is no air conditioning if you're planning a stay when it is very hot outside or suffer from allergies and prefer to sleep in the air condition.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CinderChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    17
    4
    2
    3
See reviews for
13
75
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Minnesota
Level Contributor
71 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

My wife and I had the pleasure of staying at MacArthur House over the 4th for 3 nights. Although it rained for most of 2 of the 3 days we couldn't have been happier with our accomadations. We stayed in the Harbour suite and would highly recommend it. Large room, very clean, nice two person jacuzzi that we used every day. Great view of the harbour and for us the fireworks on the 4th. Great, comfortable, soft sheets and towels. The location was only a very nice convenient walk from 'downtown'. It was our first time in Grand Marais and we really liked the town. Max and Sherri were very friendly, made great breakfasts and gave some great recommendatios for dinner. We could not have had a nicer stay than at MacArthur House.

Room Tip: We would definitely pick the Harbour suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jimyb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2012

We really enjoyed our stay last weekend at the MacArthur house. Max & Sheeri were delightful hosts and really made the planning easy for my us. We had a breathtaking view from our third floor room. Their recommendation for dinner was fantastic too. I look forward to visiting again!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Monkeimommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2012

My friend and I had decided to travel on a whim without much planning. I had seen this B&B on tripadvisor.com before leaving and jotted down their phone number. On the night we decided to land in Grand Marais we gave Max and Sherri a call. They accommodated our late arrival, made sure we ate dinner before everything had closed, and were very welcoming. The B&B is artistically and comfortably furnished. It was very clean, and I appreciated the organic soaps and handmade jewelry Sherri made. The food was fantastic, too! A great deal, and I would most definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: All of the rooms were wonderful! Ours was on the first floor - not noisy at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Meleigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lino Lakes, Minnesota, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2012

This was our fourth visit to MacArthur House. We were so excited that our family purchased us a two night stay! As always, the place was beautiful and our room was perfect. Max and Sherri are the best and we love how welcoming and considerate they are to our needs. Both of our breakfast were awesome! We can't wait to come back again and highly recommend this lovely bed and breakfast.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathryn K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2012

Had a chance to check out MacArthur House this past President's Day weekend and will definitely recommend it to all! The house is very neat, clean, spacious and quiet. The owners/hosts Max & Sherri could not have been more welcoming and kind. The best part was the delicious breakfasts that I enjoyed. It's a short walk (in any weather) to North House Folk School where I attended a class at the Fiber Retreat. Max & Sherri are active in Grand Marais and very helpful. The blueberry bread pudding we had for breakfast on Saturday was a genuine treat. Can't wait for next year...or maybe this summer?

Room Tip: All the rooms are wonderful, I would enjoy trying one of the rooms that face the lake next time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank M0per
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2011

This place is perfection. The inn keepers are extremely friendly, the food is delicious, and the other guests are a hoot! My fiancé and I just can't stop talking about how much fun we had during our Grand Marais visit, and I keep craving the peach french toast we were served on our second morning.

MacArthur house is just a few blocks from "downtown" Grand Marais making it ideal for strolling down to the lake front for dinner or drinks. We stayed in the "Lake Superior" room, which offered plenty of natural light and fabulous views of the lake. The rooms and common areas were spotless and carefully maintained. We will be back!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grand Marais
0.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Plus Superior Inn & Suites
0.5 mi away
Aspen Lodge
Aspen Lodge
#8 of 11 in Grand Marais
3.5 of 5 stars 128 reviews
0.4 mi away
East Bay Suites
East Bay Suites
#3 of 11 in Grand Marais
4.5 of 5 stars 243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Shoreline Inn
The Shoreline Inn
#10 of 11 in Grand Marais
3.0 of 5 stars 94 reviews
18.9 mi away
Lutsen Resort on Lake Superior
0.4 mi away
Cobblestone Cove Villas
Cobblestone Cove Villas
#11 of 31 in Grand Marais
4.5 of 5 stars 50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MacArthur House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MacArthur House Bed and Breakfast

Property: MacArthur House Bed and Breakfast
Address: 520 W Second St, Grand Marais, MN 55604-1270
Location: United States > Minnesota > Grand Marais
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Grand Marais
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing