We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Large serene room and home” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of MacArthur House Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Grand Marais
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
MacArthur House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #4 of 9 Grand Marais B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Thunder Bay, Canada
Level Contributor
138 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Large serene room and home”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2011

Wonderful room and home - great hosts, family style group breakfast - get to meet everyone staying - walking distance to everything including downtown and Arts Centre. Really good feel to the place!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Reg J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    17
    6
    2
    3
See reviews for
14
77
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2011

We stayed one night at this B&B. The owner was very welcoming and gave us ideas on where to eat a great dinner. We had the whole 3rd floor of the house to ourselves. The bedroom and bathroom were very large and nicely decorated. The view from our window was great! We could see Lake Superior. There was a separate living room area with a TV and DVD player. There was also a small dining table and refrigerator near the living room that was all ours to use. The breakfast was delicious. The B&B also had a nice patio with a table and chairs where we lounged before breakfast. Wish we could have stayed another night!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jennifer1108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pensacola, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2011

Stayed there during the Fisherman's Picnic. Superior bed and breakfast. Located 4 blocks from downtown Grand Marais, it was within easy walking distance downtown with lots of good restaurants and bars. The room was spacious and clean, not to mention the view of Lake Superior. Breakfast was excellent every day and Max & Sherri were wonderful hosts. Thank you for a wonderful weekend!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank floridafirewalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota City, Minnesota
Level Contributor
104 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2011

We had a very nice stay at the MacArthur house recently. It wasn't exactly what we were expecting from a property on the North Shore but the inn keepers were very gracious and the property is very well maintained and run efficiently. Plusses: very clean, close to downtown, easygoing hosts, coffee ready at 6 am, easy checkin and checkout. Negatives: breakfast wasn't until 8:30 which is late for us as we enjoy getting out early and on this weekend we were taking a class at the Northhouse Folk school (great place) which started at 9 am on the weekend. Therefore, we were very rushed at breakfast and wished we had more time to spend with the other guests. We gathered that the hosts were vegetarian as not breakfast meats were served. Other than that, the food was very good and plentiful. The third room suite has no door and we couldn't figure out how to lock up our valuables and ended up keeping them in the car. The two bedrooms locked from the inside but not the outside and we thought this was very odd. The beds were not comfortable. We enjoyed our stay despite this. Definitely a well maintained property. We wouldn't stay there again if taking a class at the school as having the time to meet other guests and enjoy a leisurely breakfast is one of the reasons we stay at a B&B in the first place.

Room Tip: Nice B&B but not what you would expect on the North Shore of MN
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank joxxxxxjoxxxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2011

A fantastic place to stay. Max and Sherri are wonderful hosts , nothing is too much trouble. The rooms are incredible and we had one of the smaller ones. The breakfasts are to die for and the communal dining makes for an interesting time sharing stories from around the world. Use of the comfortable lounge and all the facilities make it a home from home.
We had an all to brief two night stay here and there is plenty to see and do. MacArthur House is conveniently placed only a few minutes walk from the town centre and even closer to great restaurants
Also check out Sherri's hand made jewelry
Graham and Linda, England

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GrahamC56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2011

We stayed here for four days, three nights in July 2011 and really enjoyed ourselves. This place is super clean, welcoming and beautiful. We stayed in the Birch room on the first floor and had a lovely garden right outside our windows. They have cable TV, which was a surprise! I took lots of photos of the Harbor Suite on the second floor because I'd like to stay there next time. Each morning, breakfast was different and delicious. The hosts did not join us, but served their guests. But when my husband and myself were the only two there on the last morning, Max and Sherri did chat with us and they were very nice. Also, the walk into Grand Marais downtown was a very easy 4 blocks. All in all, a fabulous place to say, nothing negative at all!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dean_and_Anna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2011

If you're looking for one of those quaint old houses where you can't turn around without knocking some knick-knack off a shelf, this is NOT your place! The home is newer and designed as a B&B. It's also spotless. There are suites, but we chose the budget option - a single room with attached bathroom - and were quite comfortable. The owners took plenty of time to give us good advice for places to eat and live music locations that night. They also had glasses and a corkscrew on hand when we wanted to enjoy a bottle of wine on the deck. Breakfast was wonderful as well - We'll definitely be back!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pcernst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grand Marais
0.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Plus Superior Inn & Suites
0.4 mi away
East Bay Suites
East Bay Suites
#3 of 10 in Grand Marais
4.5 of 5 bubbles 262 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Shoreline Inn
The Shoreline Inn
#9 of 10 in Grand Marais
3.0 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Aspen Lodge
Aspen Lodge
#8 of 10 in Grand Marais
3.0 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
18.9 mi away
Lutsen Resort on Lake Superior
0.3 mi away
Harbor Inn Restaurant & Motel
Harbor Inn Restaurant & Motel
#6 of 10 in Grand Marais
4.0 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MacArthur House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MacArthur House Bed and Breakfast

Property: MacArthur House Bed and Breakfast
Address: 520 W Second Street . P.O. Box 1270, Grand Marais, MN 55604
Location: United States > Minnesota > Grand Marais
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Grand Marais
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing