We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful property, not so fancy room.”
Review of Naniboujou Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Grand Marais
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Naniboujou Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 27, 2010

This was a beautiful, peaceful lodge to stay at, but I would not describe it as "luxurious." The property, scenery and building are all beautiful. The reading and gathering areas are cozy and beautiful. It was relaxing to listen to the waves at night. The rooms were very small and basic. No TV, no telephones, no cell phone reception. Our bed was small and not very comfortable (we did not gave a select comfort bed). Only bar soap was provided, no shampoo or other toiletries.

We ate breakfast in the great dining hall. It is a beautiful room and the food and service were great.

I might stay here again for a peaceful getaway. If I do, I will be sure to pack more toiletries and a hairdryer.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stillwater_MNLarry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (151)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

131 - 137 of 151 reviews

Reviewed June 8, 2010

Naniboujou remains one of the most unique places on Lake Superior. For people who appreciate beauty and art this is a place to explore.The fascinating structure, interior painting and incredible fireplace set the tone for pleasure. Nestled on the shores of Lake Superior and across the road from Judge Magney State Park. It is a place to get out and participate in the beautiful north shore.It is truly a pleasure to dine in the remarkable dining room. The atmosphere is welcoming and the staff are genuine. The beds are really comfortable, they are select comfort where you decide how firm you want it. No phones or TV's are a pleasant change from our high tech world. Take your time and step into the pleasure that is Naniboujou.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PatriceMicaela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2010

We ended up at this lodge only because we needed to stay in or close to Grand Portage and the Grand Portage Lodge was booked. This is the next closest option along Hwy 61 without having to go all the way back to Grand Marais.

The Naniboujou Lodge is located between Grand Marais and Grand Portage directly across from the entry to Judge Magney State Park. The Lodge is on the east side of Hwy 61 only a couple hundred yards from Lake Superior.

The rooms are sparse and small. If you weigh more than 250-275 lbs you likely will not even fit in the cramped showers - no tubs - just coffin like showers. The doors to the rooms are paper thin so you will hear every footstep and conversation in the hallways. Given the size of the room the hallway is a mere four feet from your head as you try to sleep. Rooms contain a fairly uncomfortable bed with night stands, a single dresser, and a couple of small chairs (plus a ceiling and oscillating fan - which you will need even in spring).

The Lodge features a nice looking restaurant (see their website for the pictures); however, prices are quite high. I recommend a small blue store/restaurant a few miles north on the west side of Hwy 61 where the charming owner sells hand made sandwiches, pizza (very good), and baked goods.

The Lodge features a solarium with a great reading/gathering room next to the restaurant and its giant fireplace. This would be a nice place to relax and read on a cool evening.

What I don't understand, however, is the cost of this place. Had I paid half as much I would have been satisfied. Three figures should get you more than an uncomfortable bed in a small, cramped, stuffy room with a very awkward bathroom. Rooms were not particularly clean. There was hair in the bathroom and dead flies on and in the window frames. There is a large common area deck on the second level overlooking the lake - which is great - unless you are in one of the nearby rooms and have to overhear every conversation and other sound.

This is not a place for children or families. Its a quiet retreat type atmosphere for those who want to get away from annoyances and nuisances - like TV's, radios, cell phones, and yes . . . your screaming brat.

Would not recommend for the casual traveler. The Grand Portage Lodge is only 20 minutes up the road and is a substantially better quality and value. Grand Marais is just south and has a wide variety of hotel, lodge, and other accommodation options at prices competitive with N.L.

The stay was not a disaster and its not an inhospitable place. This place, however, will appeal to a certain demographic and a traveler seeking a certain type of experience - on the day I was there I was neither.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank DuffManOhYea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2009

A must see on your trip to the Grand Marais area. Known for its gorgeous dining room. The food is wonderful and the ambiance unmatched. Our room had its own wood burning fireplace----extremely cozy for the cool June night we spent at the lodge. No radio, TV, or other modern amenities. You feel like a guest would have felt in 1929, the year this lovely then-private club opened. Wonderful family run operation---right on Lake Superior.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PillHillers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2009

My husband and I stayed here last summer on a weekend motorcycle trip with another couple. I don't think we were their standard type of guests. :) But we were warmly welcomed and really enjoyed our stay. The lodge is gorgeous - they don't make them like this anymore, and only made one of them back when they did. The lake is steps away, and we hiked along some State trails just across the road that gave us a real taste of Northern Minnesota's beauty without requiring us to 'gear up.' I actually wore a pair of flip-flops and they worked out, although I'd recommend tennis shoes. There are no TVs here, but we spent our evenings in the Sunroom playing cards and games and saw other guests doing the same or reading. In a Twitter-rific world, this is a great place to reconnect with your family and friends the old-fashioned way - face to face and one-on-one.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ohcripes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2007

My family has been staying at Naniboujou for more than forty years now. It is a family tradition for all of us and for the last six years we have made it a destination in June for the women in our family. The kids are very excited to finally be "old" enough to come. Each year there is something comforting about the nature of the place. For all of this time it has been owned or run by people who are loving and intrinsicly kind. You couldn't ask for nicer folks than the Rameys. The lack of phones and tv's is such a bonus. It fosters time to spend with one another and talk, sew, or play board games. High tea is such a wonderful taste experience. The incredible hiking and trails available across the street make a morning walk a pleasure.
Grand Marais continues to be a lovely town for shopping or just loitering while taking in the magnificent view of Lake Superior. Recently we have begun booking time with local artists to do an afternoon's art activity. Learning and relaxing. Fun. If you are bored at Naniboujou it is because you are boring. Stay at a Holiday Inn with video games if that is what you are after.

Stayed: June 2007
4  Thank rotpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2007

I read about Naniboujou in a NY Times travel review. My family and I understand that it was different (small rooms, no TV, etc.), but were really looking forward to family time on Lake Superior. We had booked two adjoining rooms so that the kids could have their own room.

Maybe it was just bad luck on our part. In the 4/5 days that we spent at Naniboujou, the weather was unseasonably HOT. The average high for mid-July was 69, and we did not experience a day that failed to hit 85. We are from the Midwest, and can handle temperatures higher than that with humidity to boot . . . but Naniboujou does not have air conditioning. Our second floor room was above the kitchen, and there was no cross ventilation through our rooms. We cooked. We left the lights off in our rooms in the evening in an effort to keep the rooms as mild as possible. The staff did provide us with oscillating fans for the rooms, but that did not come close to making the rooms comfortable. First floor rooms that faced the lake might have been more comfortable, but I would not know.

Sunday brunch in the dining room was outstanding. The lodge is attractive, and has been kept up relatively well. The grounds were nice, and we enjoyed walking along the Lake Superior shoreline. Be forewarned: the mosquitos are thick, especially near dusk.

We thoroughly loved the Grand Marais area, despite the temperatures. I realize that northern Minnesota tends to have mild summers. We are vacationing in the area again this summer. This time we are staying near Lutsen in a cabin directly on the water, where we can control the ventilation if necessary. We will stop by Naniboujou for Sunday brunch.

  • Stayed: July 2005, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DK1_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Grand Marais hotels
13.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Superior Inn
Best Western Plus Superior Inn
#2 of 10 in Grand Marais
986 reviews
13.9 mi away
East Bay Suites
East Bay Suites
#3 of 10 in Grand Marais
283 reviews
13.8 mi away
Aspen Lodge
Aspen Lodge
#8 of 10 in Grand Marais
158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14 mi away
The Shoreline Inn
The Shoreline Inn
#9 of 10 in Grand Marais
115 reviews
37.4 mi away
Gunflint Lodge & Outfitters
Gunflint Lodge & Outfitters
#5 of 32 in Grand Marais
262 reviews
14.1 mi away
Harbor Inn Restaurant & Motel
Harbor Inn Restaurant & Motel
#7 of 10 in Grand Marais
115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Naniboujou Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Naniboujou Lodge

Address: 20 Naniboujou Trl, Grand Marais, MN 55604-2141
Location: United States > Minnesota > Grand Marais
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 32 Specialty Lodging in Grand Marais
Price Range: $50 - $100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Naniboujou is a place to come home to! Originally built as a private exclusive club in the 1920's - boasting such charter members as Babe Ruth, Ring Lardner, and Jack Dempsey. Naniboujou is on the National Register of Historic Places and is open seasonally - featuring an award winning restaurant as well as lodging. In keeping with the historic nature, Naniboujou continues to be media free and offers guests an opportunity to unplug, unwind, and completely relax - either in their room, the grand dining room, or on the shore of Lake Superior. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Naniboujou Hotel Grand Marais

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing