We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place ever!”
Review of Naniboujou Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Grand Marais
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Naniboujou Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
“Best place ever!”
Reviewed December 29, 2005

I stayed here last summer and enjoyed it to no end. It's on Lake Superior and just a few miles from Grand Marais. There's hiking and fishing nearby. It's a great way to get away from society for a weekend. The food is excellent. I would definitely recommend it for people who love the north woods.

  • Stayed June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    29
    13
    7
    4
See reviews for
28
59
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed October 2, 2005

We have stayed at Naniboujou 5 times now, and after this year we are moving on. Even though our rooms had been booked for over a year and a half, we were given rooms with no view, and above the kitchen exhaust fans. All the rooms are small, so that was not the problem. I asked when I needed to book in order to have a room not over the noisy fans, I was told many people booked well over a year in advance...hmmmmmmmm.

Dinner friday night offered an over marinated pork tenderloin, to the point of turning to mush, and the Balsamic Glazed Ribeye was thin, chewey and served with a mound of gluey mashed potatos, however The French Onion Soup was delicious, as was the Sunday brunch.

  • Stayed October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed July 4, 2004

I am now 81 yrs. old and am recalling an entier summer of 1935 or 1936 as guest of Fred Sjoberg-, manager of Naniboujou. Now I must make a visit to recapture my youth ,and show my wife "THE
DEVIL"S KETTLE" What a dream! Harold Hutchins 202 S Ramsey ST. Blue Earth MN

Helpful?
6 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed February 9, 2004

Its been 3 years since we've stayed at Naniboujou, but I still dream of returning. What a lovely location, with plenty to do. The lodge is beautiful! I remember sitting on the edge of the lake, late at night, and just listening to the water lapping at the sand. So very relaxing.

Helpful?
9 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed November 22, 2003

I attended an Elderhostel program with a friend, at the Naniboujou Lodge in Grand Marais,Mn. The setting right onLake Superior was spectacular for morning sunrise pictures, which I have. The Lodge is very colorful -Cree Indian deisgn ,and colors, not to mention comfortable. Teh food, prepared by theStaff, was excellent - especially the home=made breads.

We did not have sufficient time to discover the many wonderful driving trais - such as the Gunflint Trail, which starts in Gran marais, and takes you around some of the spectacular lakes Therefore, I would love to go back for a summer stay - or even Winter, and enjoy more of scenery.

Helpful?
7 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed January 27, 2003

In a couple of weeks my wife and I will take up residence at Naniboujou for the third year in a row - during the winter. We love the area, and were it not for children and grandchildren here, we would become citizens somewhere along the shore. If you want to leave your cares behind, book a room at Naniboujou. What a great experience it is.

Helpful?
8 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duluth, MN
Level 3 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2002

While having lived in the northeast all my life, I'd never stopped at Naniboujou until this past September. Heading up north to spend some time on Isle Royle, my party and I stopped for lunch at the famous Naniboujou Lodge. We were greeted with a suprise. Everything wonderful everyone has ever said about this place is true. The dining room in huge with a stone fireplace at one end and the walls painted in wonderfully bright colors. We were seated immediately and soon were enjoying a fabulous meal. After lunch we toured around the hotel, although not being able to enter a hotel room, the surrounding area is just fantastic and, I'm looking forward to a planned weekend with some friends there soon.

Helpful?
6 Thank DuluthLimelady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grand Marais
13.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Superior Inn & Suites
13.9 mi away
East Bay Suites
East Bay Suites
#3 of 10 in Grand Marais
270 reviews
13.8 mi away
Aspen Lodge
Aspen Lodge
#8 of 10 in Grand Marais
149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.0 mi away
The Shoreline Inn
The Shoreline Inn
#9 of 10 in Grand Marais
106 reviews
23.6 mi away
Cascade Lodge
Cascade Lodge
#1 of 4 in Lutsen
341 reviews
14.1 mi away
Harbor Inn Restaurant & Motel
Harbor Inn Restaurant & Motel
#6 of 10 in Grand Marais
101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Naniboujou Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Naniboujou Lodge

Property: Naniboujou Lodge
Address: 20 Naniboujou Trl, Grand Marais, MN 55604-2141
Location: United States > Minnesota > Grand Marais
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 32 Specialty Lodging in Grand Marais
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Naniboujou is a place to come home to! Originally built as a private exclusive club in the 1920's - boasting such charter members as Babe Ruth, Ring Lardner, and Jack Dempsey. Naniboujou is on the National Register of Historic Places and is open seasonally - featuring an award winning restaurant as well as lodging. In keeping with the historic nature, Naniboujou continues to be media free and offers guests an opportunity to unplug, unwind, and completely relax - either in their room, the grand dining room, or on the shore of Lake Superior. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Naniboujou Hotel Grand Marais

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing